18
Mar
09

Unused Klingon Battle Crusier Pt. 1


klingon-retroo22

21 Responses to “Unused Klingon Battle Crusier Pt. 1”


  1. 1 johneaves
    March 18, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    OK Everyone, thanks for all your help with getting a larger format and pictures up. Lost everything that was up previously with today’s post but looking good for a new start Tomorrow!!!

  2. 2 deg
    March 18, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    Coolness John! Glad to see ya got that worked out eh.

    Still if you have any larger or even more shots, please feel free to email them to me.

    deg@deg3d.biz

    Thanks much dude! :D

    PLL,
    deg

  3. March 18, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Nice sketch of the Klingon Battle cruiser. Thanks for sharing it.

  4. March 18, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    It is such a shame that this ship didn’t make it into Enterprise. Having seen the orthos of the cgi version it looks superb, and I understand it was rejected because of not having enough windows or something petty like that? I’ve always considered it to be canon and ignore the out of place (and time!) K’t’inga in ‘Unexpected’. Glad it made it into one of the calendars at least!

    Great design, thanks for sharing the sketches.

  5. 5 deg
    March 18, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Captain Serek, how were you able to create a lil’ avie, eh?

    Mark Gill, do you have those orthos shots of the ship, or a link to them? I hadn’t realized it had been built eh.

    Thanks guys. :)

    LLP,
    deg

    • March 18, 2009 at 10:58 pm

      It’s known as a D4 – John did you come up with the name? There’s some black and white orthos at the Starship Schematic Database here:
      http://www.shipschematics.net/startrek/images/klingon/battlecruiser_d4.jpg

      Memory Alpha has an account of the story behind it, though John will hopefully be able to clarify further? The cgi was apparently made by Rob Bonchune and Koji Kuramura from John’s sketches. The account is here along with a colour profile view:
      http://memory-alpha.org/en/wiki/Vorok%27s_battle_cruiser

      It also appeared in one of the Ships of the Line calendars, along with some D7s and Constitutions (though the D4 was cut off the version in Doug Drexler and Margaret Clark’s combined volume).

      John any more info on this cracking design would be fab! :)

      Mark

      • 7 johneaves
        March 19, 2009 at 4:08 am

        Thanks for those links!!! Awesome to see that view and schematic, and as far as the name goes I don’t know where it came from. because it was a rejected piece it could have been a name chosen by the editorial staff or by someone at Foundation Imaging.

  6. 8 ST-One
    March 19, 2009 at 1:37 am

    I’m still disappointed that this particular design didn’t make it into ‘Enterprise’.
    It would have looked ‘glorious’!

    • 9 johneaves
      March 19, 2009 at 4:05 am

      between Doug and I we have far more rejected pieces than approved,,, and you were always worried when all the ideas went to a meeting that they would choose the one you didn’t want to get approved.

  7. March 19, 2009 at 7:00 am

    Ah, thanks for that info and links Mark! So it did get made eh, and a fine mesh it is. Little wonder there considering who built it. I had thought it was an un-produced design, and I mostly like building stuff that has never been built before.

    But nevertheless, it’s still too way-cool and too much of a perfect fit with my TOS.5 concepts to not to build her. I always love the TOS D7 and liked TMP update as well, but John’s version is juuuuuuust right, as Goldilocks might say, so there will be another D4 built, ala deg.

    And John, if you want to (and would) give her, as her creator, her official designation, I will be proud to go with that. Seems only right in my eyes eh. :)

    LLP,
    deg

    • March 19, 2009 at 1:20 pm

      You’re welcome deg! I dug out the scans I did from the 2006 calendar and the back cover of the Ships of the Line book (they are the only two ‘action’ shots of the D4 I knew of, and I wanted to include them in the 22nd century ship guide pdf on my site).

      The calendar image was called ‘It would have been glorious!’ by Rob Bonchune (hope he doesn’t mind me using this image). I had to cut the two Constitutions off the left as I couldn’t fit the whole double-page on the scanner (interestingly in the book it’s the D4 on the right that gets cut off):
      http://img259.imageshack.us/img259/4898/gloriousd7sandd4adjuste.jpg

      …And here’s a scan of the D4 from the back dust cover – it’s pretty small and up in the top left of the image (again I hope Doug doesn’t mind me using and posting this!):
      http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/120/d4class.jpg

      Hope these links work okay, it’s been a while since I last used Imageshack.

      (Apologies if this is a double-post – it disappeared when I clicked submit first time).

  8. March 19, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    You’re welcome deg! I dug out the scans I did from the 2006 calendar and the back cover of the Ships of the Line book (they are the only two ‘action’ shots of the D4 I knew of, and I wanted to include them in the 22nd century ship guide pdf on my site).

    The calendar image was called ‘It would have been glorious!’ by Rob Bonchune (hope he doesn’t mind me using this image). I had to cut the two Constitutions off the left as I couldn’t fit the whole double-page on the scanner (interestingly in the book it’s the D4 on the right that gets cut off):
    http://img259.imageshack.us/img259/4898/gloriousd7sandd4adjuste.jpg

    …And here’s a scan of the D4 from the back dust cover – it’s pretty small and up in the top left of the image (again I hope Doug doesn’t mind me using and posting this!):
    http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/120/d4class.jpg

    (Hope these links work okay, it’s been a while since I last used Imageshack!)

  9. March 20, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    You’re welcome deg. I tried to post links to a couple of scans of the D4 calendar images the other day but the posts just vanished without ever appearing for some reason, strange (hope I didn’t breach any blog rules or anything).

    I scanned the 2006 calendar image by Rob Bonchune a while back (though I couldn’t fit the whole double page on the scanner so the Constitutions are cut off):
    http://img259.imageshack.us/img259/4898/gloriousd7sandd4adjuste.jpg

    And here’s how it appeared on the back dust jacket of Doug, and Margaret Clark’s combined SotL volume, it was quite small in the top left of a montage of alien vessels:
    http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/120/d4class.jpg

    These are the only pics I know of off this fabulous ship ‘in action’. I hope Rob doesn’t mind me posting these, Rob if you’re reading this just give the word if that’s a problem and I’ll take them down with my apologies.

  10. March 23, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Sorry for the multiple posts, each vanished after posting then all appeared at once this evening. Is there any way of deleting the extras John?

  11. May 8, 2009 at 1:59 am

    So you make the draws of this amazing ship ??? Wow !!! It’s like a dream talking wich the man that make it ! It’s one of my favourite ships of Star Trek.

    I like too, that when I was madding ships for a fanfilm (actually defunct), I made a klingon ship, based over these ship. I put links to see it. I never tough that I can talk which he creator of the D4 ….. I never. It’s the Klingon D6. I made it thinking in a bridge design between the D5 and D7 for a fanfilm based around 2230s , preTOS time, called Star Trek Origins that actually it’s dead Jim.

    Please, consider it like a homenage to your design! I make in honor of these ship that I really like!

    http://zardoz-technomage.es/blog/arte/3d/223/

    PD: I like to send to your mail, but I can’t find in your blog. Really, i put this because I really like your ship, not to make self-publicity.

  12. November 6, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    FYI: I am building this baby now! You can see the WIP thread here if interested:

    http://www.foundation3d.com/forums/showthread.php?p=137446&posted=1#post137446

    LLP,
    deg

  13. November 9, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    John, did your D4 design get used in the 2009 Star Trek movie in the Kobayashi Maru sequence? The reason I’m asking is that your D4 has apparently popped up in the new art book tied into the movie that is being published next week:

    http://www.wired.com/underwire/2009/11/star-trek-art-of-the-film/

  14. January 12, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    FYI: my take on this bad-boy is done, and up on my website. ;)

    Under “featured work…” (with Jerry’s TMP K-music), and big ones under the “desktops…” link.

    peace | deg

  15. August 19, 2011 at 11:26 am

    Mr. Eaves,

    First, I’m a big fan of your work, and I always love getting the opportunity to make one of your ships. I REALLY like this early Klingon battle cruiser. I personally like it more than the D7’s and Ktinga’s.

    Second, I am working on Star Trek Online as the lead ship artist, and I want to make this ship in our game. I’ve already made the model but I’m waiting to hear back about rights from Van Citters at CBS. I’ll send a screenie your way if it gets approved.

    regards,
    ADAM (CapnLogan) Williams


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

