18
Mar
09

Unused Klingon Battle Crusier Pt. 2


k-6k-2k-3k-4k-1k-5

25 Responses to “Unused Klingon Battle Crusier Pt. 2”


  1. March 18, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Nice sketches of the Klingon ship. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. 2 Pat Suwalski
    March 18, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Hey John,

    I’ve always wanted to ask you: how on earth do you shade all of this concept art? It it the fancy Pantone-matched Berol/Prismacolour brush-markers?

    And if that’s the case, how did you take care of the starfield? Black marker leaving white dots for stars? I’ve always been a fan of the design of concept art, in particular your frames with rounded corners.

  3. 3 johneaves
    March 18, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    what a fun topic!!!Not many questions ever come up about traditional media. First I world create the drawing in blue pencil, then lay a sheet of velum over that and do an ink pen pass, then make a clean black and white copy of the ink lines. Tri markers were refillable way back in the day and they would come with a bottle of ink that you would fill in a cup throw the marker in and it would draw the ink in thru the tip. We found that there were these makeup application pads that were a type of cotton based and what you would do is squirt the ink onto the pad and then do a big sweep across the drawing. when that inked dried you would treat it like a marker drawing and shade away and paint in the highlights with quache and colored pencil…. I so miss those days. Black space was done the same way and the stars were splattered on. The ship or what ever would be done as described then a cut and paste would happen then highlights and glare would be done with pencil and airbrush. The rounded frame that would be a part of the finished drawings was accomplished by running a marker around the edge of a circle templet. I fortunately kept all the original drawings from all the shows, and so glad I did because the fate would have been a loss forever with how I saw all the trek stuff treated after Paramount/CBS sent everything to Downey.

  4. 4 deg
    March 18, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Now we’re cookin’ with phasers eh!

    Thanks John, and thanks for the art-work work-flow account. Concept art always fascinates me, both in execution of design(s), and well as rendering techniques. I’m always blown-away by you guys that can actually draw a ship from one POV, let alone multiples from varying angles.

    Good Q Pat!

    Yeah, that’s definitely the K-Bird I’ve been waiting to find to build eh. Coolness. As in way.

    PLL,
    deg

  5. 5 deg
    March 18, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Interesting, are the pics meant to be embedded, those not able to download by right-clicking and saving as…

    Doug’s seems to have no problem doing so.

    LLP,
    deg

    • 6 johneaves
      March 19, 2009 at 4:11 am

      they arn’t meant to be embedded, I’ll check the settings for you,,, if there is trouble pulling them off let me know and I’ll send them to you another way.

  6. March 18, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Cool to see the images of this ship, THANKS!!!

  7. March 18, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    deg its the blog template and how it displays the images. Some of Doug’s posts are like this as well. I think placing a pagebreak between the images helps. I have a blog here too using the orange text template and have similar issues when I was using it.

  8. 10 Starship freak
    March 18, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Nice design! Are those supposed to be shuttlebays at the rear between the circular arrangement of the impulse-engines?

    • 11 johneaves
      March 19, 2009 at 4:15 am

      no, but they could be. I never went past this sketch to create a functional breakdown. Had to leave this one behind and move onto the next project.

  9. 12 Pat Suwalski
    March 18, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Interesting. With strange situations like this I just get the image files from under the Media tab in Firefox’s “Page Info” dialog.

  10. 13 Freak
    March 19, 2009 at 1:45 am

    Oww close up.
    Thanks for posting up, close ups.
    I still can’t believe they rejected this. Just to go with a used model.
    I would understand if there was no time to design a new ship, but they obviously did, as they got you to design this girl.

    • 14 johneaves
      March 19, 2009 at 4:02 am

      we were sheltered from the exec decisions that took place on the other end,,,, and literally we were at the extreme opposite ends of the lot. what was funny is that Star Trek has always been such a huge part of Paramount and brought the studio a lot of $$$$$ but non of the departments had a golf cart!!! when the exec end wanted a drawing it took 15 mins by foot to get it there. The bikes always had flats are were stolen while little features and shows had fleets of carts….. Haaaa! always an adventure

  11. March 19, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Flat tires or stolen, too funny dude. I love hearing studio stories. It must be sO fun to work in magic land. Paid to play make-believe. Oh yeah. I gots ta get me in on that fun eh. :D

    LLP,
    deg

  12. March 19, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    BTW, kept meaning to mention it; diggin’ the name you came up with for your blog there Johnny-boy. Perfect, eh. ;)

    PLL,
    deg

  13. March 20, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    John, I love all the postings, and remmeber this particular Klingon predecessor to the D-7 version well. We all loved it over at Foundation and our friend Koji built it for free. Amazingly, even though it was a freebee for the episode, certain people in production still found a way to nit pick certain things and refused to ulitmitely use it until windows were added in certain places. We refused, on principle, as Koji had not slept for days building that on his own and they knew it….so instead of using it, becasue of, I think 5 windows that you would never see, we ended up using the K’tinga, which was UTTERLY out of place and out of continuity in the “Enterprise” era. Ahhh producers….Great D-4 John…..I love your concepts!!!

    • 18 johneaves
      March 20, 2009 at 1:24 pm

      thanks for the extra info!!! I credited you both somewhere in these blog comments but I know I spelled Koji wrong!!!! Haaa! so glad to see you here my friend!

    • March 20, 2009 at 11:38 pm

      Rob that’s a wonderful ship you, John and Koji produced, almost unbelievable that the producers would insist on using the out of place K’t’inga instead over such a small detail. I tried to post a couple of links to scans of the calendar images of it (if that’s okay with you) but my post keeps disappearing when I try to submit it – strange (hope I haven’t breached any blog rules or something!), any ideas why the posts vanish, John?

      Rob I wanted I wanted to contact you a while back to ask your permission to post a couple of images of your cracking Enterprise-era ships, which I’d found elsewhere on the web, on my ship guide site. Is there a way to get in contact with you re this? (Sorry to hijack your blog for this John!).

  14. March 20, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    I tried to post links to a couple of scans of the D4 calendar images the other day on the second D4 thread but the posts just vanished without ever appearing for some reason, strange (hope I didn’t breach any blog rules or anything).

    I scanned the 2006 calendar image by Rob Bonchune a while back (though I couldn’t fit the whole double page on the scanner so the Constitutions are cut off):

    And here’s how it appeared on the back dust jacket of Doug, and Margaret Clark’s combined SotL volume, it was quite small in the top left of a montage of alien vessels:

    These are the only pics I know of off this fabulous ship ‘in action’. Rob I hope you don’t mind me posting these, if you’re reading this just give the word if that’s a problem and I’ll take them down with my apologies.

  15. 22 Razor
    May 5, 2009 at 2:35 am

    Definetly my favorite unused design! To bad we never saw it on screen.

  16. November 6, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    FYI: I am building this baby now! You can see the WIP thread here if interested:

    http://www.foundation3d.com/forums/showthread.php?p=137446&posted=1#post137446

    LLP,
    deg

    • November 20, 2009 at 10:10 am

      Two of the main appealing design attributes that I love about this bird (that did not show up in Koji’s build) are the elongated more tear-drop-shaped profile to the head, as well as the elongated nacelles.

      Comparing it, I think perhaps they scaled it to be more in-line with the scale and proportions of the original D7. That’s all I can guess at anywho. Suffice to say, these excellent design aspects most assuredly show up in my build, eh. Koji’s awesome build aside, John’s art is the Bible on this baby, IMO, and thus what I follow. ;)

      LLP,
      deg

  17. January 12, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    FYI: my take on this bad-boy is done, and up on my website. ;)

    Under “featured work…” (with Jerry’s TMP K-music), and big ones under the “desktops…” link.

    peace | deg


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

