03
Apr
09

the 24 hour nightmare!!!


 

1

1

2

2

 

3

3

4

4

5

5

 

as they looked in the ready room

as they looked in the ready room

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jimmy Meese was the set decorator on Enterprise and was also the decorator on Voyager. He has quite a talent for finding all the right things that dress the set perfectly.  He is not only brilliant at what he does, he try’s to add the personality of the characters he is dressing for. In Archer’s ready room he wanted to mix a little art and sculpture with a bunch of little personal effects. With that Jimmy came over and asked if in my free time could I draw some versions of real ships called Enterprise with the NX-01 being the final drawing… I said sure and would love to make these pieces for him. so during lunch I went and got the colored paper to print on. and then got busy with all the other drawing assignments that were pilled up. Doug Drexler was finally into detailing his Enterprise after a long hard battle of getting the design thru the approval process. I sketched a rough angle and he made me a print that matched the direction and angle for me and I put it away and got back to Herman’s list of things to be drawn. well I got busy and forgot about this request and Jimmy came in a few weeks later and asked about his drawings!!!!! he said that he needed them no later than tomorrow morning,,, I said sure sure no problem,, He smiled and walked away, As soon as he was out of sight the panic hit,,,, My desk was right next to my Boss’s office door and I tried for about an hour to hide jimmy’s drawings under Herman’s so I could fake a quick shuffle so he wouldn’t see my moonlighting.  It was almost impossible because he all of a sudden started visiting my desk every time he walked by.  By about 2:00 I was really panicked and faked a quick emergency phone call and asked to be excused early to get home… Granted I grabbed my stuff and ran over to the backlot and hid in one of the fake buildings on New York street climbed to the top of one where I new there was a table chair and work light and drew away. I got most of the drawings done by about 9:00 and it was time to head back to the office to use the copier and finish off the details.   Rats Herman was still in the office and he was there until after 10:00, I kept working in the shadows with his door in site. FINALLY He left and The trouble of an evil Xerox Machine began. By about 4:00 in the morning the copier started to take the paper and lucky for me because I only had 5 sheets left and 5 drawings to print.   Once all was done I grabbed the black and white conte pencils and did some quick highlights and by 6:30 I was done just as Fritz came in to work. We were always the early ones and it was a tradition to take either end of the couch that was in the office and crash until 7:00 when everyone else came in to work. That 30 mins seemed like a quick blink. Anyways Jimmy was there at 7:00 sharp and when I pulled out the drawings he kinda had a frown/smile like he lost a bet with someone over these being done on time.  He was very happy and said; Oh yah I forgot to tell you that there is only room for 4 drawings in the frame so the 5th wasn’t needed after all. so here are all 5 high speed drawings that made the following day at work majorly rough! I loved every minute of it though!!!!

42 Responses to “the 24 hour nightmare!!!”


  1. April 3, 2009 at 1:17 am

    lol that has got to hurt when everything conspires against you. had it happen here many times. I have to say too those images were the first thing to draw my eye when they showed that office.

    I really like the detail on the early carrier. Was it the one you started on when highlighting?

  2. April 3, 2009 at 1:32 am

    Cool story! Especially hiding in the New York Streets set! :-) I’ve got a large printout of the four paintings in my living room, got it from my friends a few years ago. Ever since Enterprise was cancelled, I’ve had a black ribbon attached to one of the corners of the painting, I guess I should remove it as soon as the new movie is released ;-)
    Cool to see the drawing of the CV-6 too, I have never seen it anywhere before.

    • 4 johneaves
      April 3, 2009 at 5:30 am

      That back lot is a great place to hang out and just glad that the guards have hidden furniture in there so they can hide and take naps!!!

  3. 5 Andru
    April 3, 2009 at 2:04 am

    Beautiful, I can’t believe they have all been drawn in an evening! Thanks for the very entertaining story!

    • 6 johneaves
      April 3, 2009 at 5:41 am

      it’s funny how seeing the drawings again brought all that back,,, I had forgotten all this till I pulled them out of the drawer!

  4. April 3, 2009 at 2:41 am

    I love the fact that you had an art hideout on the NYC lot. I had your NX-01 sketch as my desktop back when I was pitching for Enterprise…

  5. 8 Freak
    April 3, 2009 at 2:57 am

    LOL man that a Great Story.
    I bet you where shattered by the end of it all.
    Shame that not all of them got to be shown on the show.

  6. April 3, 2009 at 3:35 am

    It’s comforting to hear the professionals get into those situations too, I had many a night like that during my studies. Never would have guessed the drawings were such a rush job, though, they don’t show it.

  7. April 3, 2009 at 4:08 am

    What a crazy story. I can only hope not all your work days (and nights) are like that.

    I didn’t know there was a fifth drawing. Too bad Archer had a too small room.

  8. April 3, 2009 at 4:16 am

    Hilarious story :D

    Hmm.. if you signed the artwork, and your signature ended up on screen.. does that mean there is a canon 22nd century John Eaves? :o

  9. April 3, 2009 at 5:11 am

    Cray Story! :D I have a question, what are the size of the final photos in the readyroom?

    Thanks

    • 18 johneaves
      April 3, 2009 at 5:25 am

      these were all 11×17 and sadly they don’t make the paper anymore. I went out and bought about 20 sheets before this happened and I was glad because the next week they asked for three back up sets incase something happened to the ones on set

      • April 3, 2009 at 6:31 am

        John, what kind of paper was used for the prints?

        Thanks

      • 20 john eaves
        April 4, 2009 at 2:16 pm

        I’ll dig a sheet out and let you know,,,Remind me though or I’ll forget.

      • 21 Stringfellow
        March 13, 2010 at 7:11 pm

        Hi and wow!

        I’ve been looking for info on this prop for a while now and just stumbled across this thread. It was a pleasure to read the story about the origin and to finally know the correct size of the drawings!

        I really want to re-create this prop full size and screen accurate for my living room wall. Could I trouble you with a couple more questions? Don’t know if you remember offhand and I certainly wouldn’t ask you to go to any effort but… would you happen to know…?

        - The finished size of the frame?
        - Were those top and bottom boarders frosted?
        - The width of the frosting top and bottom?
        - Was it just left clear glass in the middle where the drawings are mounted?
        - What were those round silver wall mount discs?
        - Were the mounts just spaced out evenly?
        - How far out from the wall was it spaced?
        - Since the original paper is no longer available, any reccomendations for a SA substitute? Matte, semi-gloss, gloss?

        Again, not expecting miracles of memory but any pointers would be appreciated. This would look very cool on my wall and would really be the focal point of my whole collection.

        Thankyou very much,
        String.

  10. April 3, 2009 at 5:58 am

    I always thought the drawings were a nice organic touch to the room. And a bit of a tie-in with TMP where a similar thing was done in the Rec Room. I love the fact that you forgot! I’m a designer, and I’ve had that phone call where the client asks if something is done and the adrenaline hits you and you say “almost” – and then get started! Great story, John. And great pieces, too.

  11. 24 DeanneM
    April 3, 2009 at 6:21 am

    I, too, noticed these first…the name Enterprise has a great history that has always held a special place for me, and when I saw the opening of ENT that first day I was a very happy girl! Excuse me while I get excited and share some thoughts on “Enterprise”.

    There have been 23 ships actually named HMS or USS Enterprise and commissioned with a very cool and varied history. I found that the current name, USS Enterprise, is the carrier, of course, and actually a building, too (BLDG 7115)! It is officially designated with the name and used by the navy as a ship for training purposes…go figure.

    Too bad the CV-6 didn’t make it, being THE highest decorated ship from WWII. She actually received her most recent commendation in 1995 (maybe there will be more?). She served a full 4 1/2 years during the war before taking a kamikaze hit that blew a hole in her flight deck in May of 1945. In the fall of 1945, she took part in Operation Magic Carpet and brought home some 10,000 soldiers from Europe. She even received the British Admiralty Pendant – the ONLY ship outside of the Royal Navy to receive this award in the over 400 years it has existed!! I just felt that she deserved her full recognition here, since she didn’t get air time on the show. I love seeing both Big-E’s here. :)

    John, correct me if I’m mistaken, but umm, the sailing ship looks exactly like a pic I have of the frigate USS Constitution right down the the paint job. Since she is still sailing and has actual pictures available, I could see why you would choose her. But for the record, she is one of 6 original US navy vessels commissioned by the Naval Act of 1974, none of which were named Enterprise. :) It’ll be our secret here on the blog.

  12. April 3, 2009 at 8:47 am

    Rats Herman was still in the office and he was there until after 10:00, I kept working in the shadows with his door in site.</I<

    Well, rats spelled backwards is star, eh. So a stellar job of it dude. :)

    LLP,
    deg

  13. 30 evil_genius_180
    April 3, 2009 at 8:55 am

    Man, you don’t know how many times I’ve paused the DVDs trying to get a look at those great drawings on the walls. Thanks for posting them, now I can look at them and the unused one all I want. It’s a shame the WWII aircraft carrier didn’t make it on the wall.

  14. 31 Jonathan Burke (TrekBBS' Praetor)
    April 3, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Wow John, what a crazy story!

    I have always loved these drawings though, and it’s a shame Bull Halsey’s flagship didn’t make it onto the wall. Was there any specific reason (other than space) that it was excluded?

    • 32 DeanneM
      April 3, 2009 at 1:59 pm

      IMO, it is probably because the CVN-65 drawing shows a nice angle of the shape of the flight deck, where as the CV-6 isn’t readily recognizable as a carrier from that angle with just a quick look.

      • 33 BorgMan
        April 4, 2009 at 1:27 am

        I agree with that one as well. While it’s a nice drawing, it’s notso recognisable as the other carrier so I think the choice of eliminating that one was the right call…

  15. April 3, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    I’ve always appreciated the set art and models you see as those unique touches that so many people don’t seem to notice yet make scene seem more like real life. Too bad about the CV-6 drawing it is very nice.

    Fun story too!

  16. 35 Thorsten Wieking
    April 3, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Funny story about doing work during the night. Especially the part with the NY street set. I always thought those buildings were just walls. So, if most of you came in around 7:00, yet stayed that long there and considering the time it takes to commute to work – how many minutes did you actually spent at home any given weekday ? ;)

    When I first saw them and I too thought immediately about the rec room in ST TMP. Great idea.

    Cheers
    Thorsten

    • 36 johneaves
      April 3, 2009 at 7:52 pm

      I live way out of LA!!! I am not from California and it’s to busy, and dirty for me so I live out in the high desert by Edwards Air force base. I would leave my house at 4:30 start work between 6 and 7, work till 4:00 and go home,, if traffic was bed it would be about a 2 hour drive.The weekdays were rough but being out of town with my family was all worth it.

  17. 37 Matt Boardman
    April 4, 2009 at 9:35 am

    I don’t know whether to be awed or scared of this story. LOL!! I just recently pulled two “up until 4:00 am and back up at 7:30 am for work” nights to finish off an animation project for one of my classes. It scares me to know that those days don’t end after school!

    These are really fantastic pieces, John! I loved the look that they gave to Archer’s ready room! Very classy! I drew inspiration from them when designing a Briefing Room when I first started 3D modeling. (LOL…promise not to laugh – this was one of my first attempts using 3D Studio Max about 4 years ago) http://www.startrekunity.com/images/LO%208.jpg

  18. 38 Paul
    April 4, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Funny story and interesting too. Can’t believe you had to hide on the roof to do the drawings.

  19. 39 ety3
    April 5, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    If I could request only one thing it would be that these pics were clickable to a larger version so we could save these as wallpapers. I’d love to have this stuff on the desktop.

    Thanks again.

  20. April 5, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Thanks Mr Eaves, I will remind you mid week about the paper.

    ety3 – You can get wallpaper versions at link below.
    http://www.startrek.com/startrek/view/store/downloads/desktops.html

  21. 41 SkiBo
    April 22, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Dear Mr. Eaves, thank you so much for this and ALL of the fascinating ‘behind-the-scenes’ stuff you have just recently posted here! Was wondering if you had any contact info for Mr.Mees, as I have managed to win one of his set dressings online, Dr.Phlox’s animal cages, one blue and one silver, which appeared in the pilot and reappeared through out the shows run. They appeared to be hand made and I would love to ask him if he recalls them at all though I wasn’t aware of his name till you told this story just now. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Either way, will be looking forward to more on this site!! Thanks again, well done.

  22. 42 Rusty
    May 17, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Hi John, good seeing you again today at Wonderfest, thanks again for signing my book with the 2 drawings you did on the spot for me. Penny never told me the story behind the display but awsome that you have shared it here with all of us. Did you ever recall what paper you used for the drawings or photocopies? Both Penny, Anthony and I all share the same birthday month/week in October trying to get a trip out to visit so maybe we can all go out for dinner sometime. Take care look forward to hearing from you. Rusty


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers

