14
Apr
09

602 club


 

right of the bar views

right of the bar views

untitled-19

blue prints of the Phoenix, on the back wall

blue prints of the Phoenix, on the back wall

 

From Mike's mission patch collection

From Mike's mission patch collection

the beautiful frosted glass door, and a straight on shot of the 602

the beautiful frosted glass door, and a straight on shot of the 602

 

evan more of Mike's patches

evan more of Mike's patches

 

and a variety of bar views!!!

and a variety of bar views!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As promised here are the images from the beautiful 602 club from “First Flight” This set was Mike Okuda’s baby. He was so excited about doing this set that he actually had to wear adult diapers just in case the glee would get to be to much to handle,  I can get away with saying something like this because he is to far away to hit me or crush my spine with one of his unearthly upper body crushing bear hugs!!!!!!!!! HAAA!  As you all Know Mike is a huge fan of everything Nasa as well as Trek and in this set he got to satisfy both his passions with one artistic stroke!!! Jimmy Meese was to very excited about this one and he found some awesome fixtures and bar garb to dress everything perfectly. Alan kobiyashi and Anthony Fredrickson were doing all the graphics and menu’s, Jim Van Over was having a great time creating all the Animations, and Denise had here hand in a little bit of everything. Doug and I were busy with the ship, and it was always fun to get to do these things together from  our own preferred mediums. After all was said and done I believe this was an art Department favorite episodes!!! Enjoy the pictures.

21 Responses to “602 club”


  1. April 14, 2009 at 1:14 am

    Aaah John! Thanks! Those shots made my day! Finally a close look at all the patches, which means we can complete what we started here:

    http://www.ex-astris-scientia.org/database/nasa_references.htm

    and identify the last missing mystery ones. And then, articles about all those missions and vehicles can be created at MA :-)

    What is depicted on the second blueprint, is that the Phoenix cockpit? I can make out the name “Hunter” on the mission logo too. If you ever find close ups of those logos/patches, that would be uber-great, because they have never be seen before.

    I love those Star Trek universe patches, whoever had the idea to put them there is a genius.

  2. 2 Freak
    April 14, 2009 at 3:31 am

    These are great. I love the fact that the concept Art for the Phenix is one the wall.
    Did you have to “touch” them up for this episode?

  3. 3 Starship freak
    April 14, 2009 at 3:48 am

    My favourite is the SS Enterprise, a homage to the rec room scene in Star Trek the motion picture. Would be nice with a close up of the paintings of starships…

  4. April 14, 2009 at 4:40 am

    Man its cool to see the old Nasa patches.

  5. 5 DeanneM
    April 14, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Fun close-ups! I’ve been looking into some of the patches, which are really growing on me. I’m definitely going to start collecting historical ones, as well as “future” ones. :) These pics just made me sure; so much to look at!

    I really like the way the shape of the bar seems to mimic the 602 club logo. This is definitely a place I would hang, if I were allowed in! So many cool elbows to rub…just like this and Doug’s blogs!!

  6. 6 JNG
    April 14, 2009 at 6:04 am

    What an awesome set. Sometimes you want to go where everybody knows your name, and they’re always glad you came…and also they’re astronauts.

  7. 8 deg
    April 14, 2009 at 6:14 am

    So beyond cool! OK, I have to ask, as I don’t recall, what is the significance of 602?

    And I’m sure, as all sets get striked, this one did too. But what became of all the cool props/set-dressings, the plex-encased patch plaques, etc., and esp. the 602 neon? It was Mike baby, so does Mike now have a remnant of the 602 Club set up in his basement? :D

    Thanks for the shots John! :D

    PLL,
    deg

  8. 10 evil_genius_180
    April 14, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Oh man, I’ve been looking forward to these pics ever since you said you were going to post them and they’re better than I imagined. Mike Okuda really outdid himself (and I already thought he was awesome) with this one. I love the retro look he gave the room with the NASA patches and 21st and 22nd century touches. It’s almost like a WWII pilot, Apollo astronaut and a Starfleet officer could all walk in that door one after the other and the music wouldn’t even stop once. ;)

    This is by far one of my favorite episodes of Enterprise. I love the story and the art department went all-out with the visuals. Great job all around. Do you know if the NASA patches are real ones from Mike’s collection or did he have duplicates made? I know I’d have had duplicates made, to make sure none went “missing.”

    • 11 johneaves
      April 14, 2009 at 9:48 am

      I believe these were all his originals,,, Mike actually designs the real thing for Nasa Now!!! What a great honor and I am sure he is excited as can be!

      • 12 evil_genius_180
        April 14, 2009 at 7:37 pm

        That’s got to be a thrill. I bet he designs some great patches. He’s been one of my favorite graphic artists for a long time. :)

  9. 13 DeanneM
    April 14, 2009 at 9:41 am

    I had to come back here and hang out on my break! :) I can just hear the fun and interesting conversations the guys hanging out here would be having.

    Actually I just had to take more time to check out the patches and details…guess I’m slow in my old age! Everything is beautifully done; I really like that door!!

  10. April 14, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Thanks for the great shots John. You can tell this was a labor of love with all the details that were put into it.

  11. 18 Matt Boardman
    April 14, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    This set has some serious cool factor to it! Knowing the backstory to these things always makes the scenes that they are in that much more fun when you see them on screen. This really was a fantastic episode and was a giant piece of eye candy with the sets!

  12. April 15, 2009 at 2:06 am

    Love those “future” patches. Very cool.

  13. April 15, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Wonderful! Thanks a lot for posting these photos, especially the close views of the patches.

  14. 21 Michael Pasche
    April 19, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    John thanks for these AWESOME close-ups! This was indeed a great set from a really cool episode. Any idea where the frames came from? I would love to get them for my own patch collection.


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

