20
Apr
09

the vulcan lander model


ahhh much easier to draw with a model by your side!

ahhh much easier to draw with a model by your side!

high view before paint

high view before paint

in flight configuration/landing configuration

in flight configuration/landing configuration

high forward view

high forward view

after paint, the black area in the center represents the piloting wondows and bridge area

after paint, the black area in the center represents the piloting wondows and bridge area

engine view, note the ladies press on fingernail used as engine detail!

engine view, note the ladies press on fingernail used as engine detail!

Here are some pictures of a model I made of the Vulcan Lander to help with my illustrations, The compound curves and flowing shapes were to complex for my tiny brain and lack of drawing abilities so I had to make a little guide model to help out with the tough views.

27 Responses to “the vulcan lander model”


  1. 1 Seumas
    April 20, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    This is again fantastic!

  2. April 20, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Wow, thanks for the cool shots of the model! I love Vulcan ship designs, this one set the stage for many more cool designs of yours and Doug’s on Enterprise.

  3. 3 deg
    April 20, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Awesome! Now, what’s that model made of then, John?

    LLP,

    deg

    • 4 johneaves
      April 20, 2009 at 2:08 pm

      I sculpted 1/3 of the model from surf board foam. molded that piece and cast three identical pieces and then aligned and fitted the pieces to make one symmetrical piece that wold create the form of the entire ship. I then started to add the paneling with various thickness’s of styrene. adding e.m.a. strip and c channel, and tiny model bashing parts from other model kits. I made one leg all from styrene and then used ladies press-on finger nails for all the engine and rcs thrust covers. molded everything again and assembled a version with legs up and down.

  4. 5 DeanneM
    April 20, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    I’ve been looking for my missing nails forever!!

    I always thought this one looked more like an alien creature or a ship that would come from a race that was less humanoid that Vulcans are. It’s a great look and feel, but I just had trouble equating it at first with Vulcans, but after seeing ENT Vulcan architecture and such, it fits.

    • 6 johneaves
      April 20, 2009 at 2:10 pm

      It took you a long time to find them missing I must say!!! when First Contact was in the works there was very little Vulcan architecture to use as reference so the door was wide open for ideas.

  5. 8 Dave C
    April 20, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    Im pretty sure I saw this (or a shuttle of VERY similar design) in the new Star Trek Movie earlier….

    Yes, I got to go to the UK premiere – Score! :P

  6. 9 Matt Boardman
    April 20, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    John, you are a talented, talented man! That model rocks! Do you still have it?

    I like this ship because the design is very unique and something that we hadn’t seen before, yet it when you saw it, it was Vulcan. Hard to explain, but it just made sense to me.

  7. 10 evil_genius_180
    April 20, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    This is my favorite Vulcan design. Plus, I love that color you used and that it set the color for the final movie model and later Vulcan ships. Did you ever do any orthos of this model?

  8. 11 Freak
    April 20, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    I always loved the landing gear on this ship.
    I love the fact that you used press on nails for the engines.

  9. 12 Boris
    April 20, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Did you work out an exact size figure or for it? (I know how big it is approximately, from your sketches.)

  10. 13 JNG
    April 21, 2009 at 2:25 am

    I dunno if it’s logical, but I know what I like.

  11. 14 Johnny D
    April 21, 2009 at 6:17 am

    John, I’ve always wondered, was this a shuttlecraft sent down from a larger orbiting ship or did this baby fly all the way from Vulcan?

  12. April 21, 2009 at 6:46 am

    I sculpted 1/3 of the model from surf board foam. molded that piece and cast three identical pieces and then aligned and fitted the pieces to make one symmetrical piece that wold create the form of the entire ship. I then started to add the paneling with various thickness’s of styrene. adding e.m.a. strip and c channel, and tiny model bashing parts from other model kits. I made one leg all from styrene and then used ladies press-on finger nails for all the engine and rcs thrust covers. molded everything again and assembled a version with legs up and down.

    Nice!, thanks dude. I’m surprised, with your obvious prac model buildin’ chops that you never ventured in 3D modelin’ eh.

    Thanks for the comprehensive reply my friend! :)

    LLP,
    deg

  13. 17 Boris
    April 21, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Johnny D: the lander is over forty meters long. ;) Releasing it from a larger ship would be _extremely_ unusual for Trek.

  14. April 21, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Was the overlz elaborate door that opens one of the lander’s legs into a ramp also designed by you?

    • 20 johneaves
      April 21, 2009 at 9:47 am

      the shaped of the foot lended itself well to the elaborate door/ramp sequence. somewhere I have those sketches,,, If I remember I’ll put them up for you!

  15. 21 Boris
    April 21, 2009 at 11:48 am

    You also built a 30-inch Enterprise-E; I’d be curious to learn more about it in a separate post.

  16. 22 the bluesman
    April 21, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    John

    I’ll have to dig out my pics of my model lander.

  17. 23 the bluesman
    April 21, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    Here’s a link to my modelig clubs gallery. The modelis the vulcan lander that was avaialble from the Star trek Communicator several years ago. I repainted it witha terra cotta paint and used an ink wash and pastels for weathering.

    http://commiesmodeling.com/joomla/index.php?option=com_gallery2&Itemid=46&g2_itemId=1090

  18. April 22, 2009 at 2:56 am

    I always wondered why the Vulcan lander had to be so complicated (in its basic shape as well as the many moving parts). Still a great design, and it definitely set a standard for the ships to appear later on Enterprise.

    • 25 Boris
      April 22, 2009 at 3:45 am

      Because it’s art and tradition? The Vulcans aren’t exactly logical about their zillion complex rituals either. I’m pretty sure that the katra restoration of ST III could’ve been done with just a couple of people in a medical facility.

  19. April 22, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    I loved the complexity and yet simplicity of the landing legs and the door/ramp. Just brilliant, even if as Bernd points out it must’ve had a lot of moving parts that would need attention.

    • 27 johneaves
      April 22, 2009 at 2:03 pm

      Thank goodness for CG, The door was either in or out(For the practice shooting)the opening sequence was animated of top of the set piece. On Vulcan though they use a lot of galaxy grease


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

