01
May
09

the pirate ships of Anomaly #54


 

here are the 1st three versions that were considered to aggressive and not piraty enough. the upper left ship had to be rendered in a more buoyant fashion and that is where the grouper fish idea came from,,,boy I was glad that it was a catch and release on that idea!!!

here are the 1st three versions that were considered to aggressive and not piraty enough. the upper left ship had to be rendered in a more buoyant fashion and that is where the grouper fish idea came from,,,boy I was glad that it was a catch and release on that idea!!!

 

these where the final two ideas and the bottom right struck a positive cord.

these where the final two ideas and the bottom right struck a positive cord.

here is a close up of the sketch

here is a close up of the sketch

 

here is a view of Pierre's model of the Ktarian maurader

here is a view of Pierre's model of the Ktarian maurader

Anomaly #54 was the first outing that took the Enterprise deep into space to fight the Xindi  threat against earth. The following are sketches of a pirate vessel that has inhabited (illegally) one of the space anomaly creating spheres. This was to be a one time alien encounter so there were no guidelines to follow on what their ships would look like. Pirate to me is sharp, dark, wicked, fast, mean ,and crude, so I tried that mindset with these outings,,, In final though it looks like the shovel version made the grade, and as we have learned about Star Trek bad guys yard tools make the best reference….. remember Insurrection!!! HAAAA! have a great weekend every one and thanks for all the fun and awesome entries sent in for the Shatner project.   Next week, the Cardassian ship yards. my review of the new Star trek film and by popular request, the SS Conestoga, the Sarajevo and more from Insurrection with the shuttle, the Cousteau, and Data’s scout ship.  Coming  soon the ships of nemesis and the variations of the Enterprise E

 

 

 

Inspired by the Grouper fish, this is the chicken of the sea version

Inspired by the Grouper fish, this is the chicken of the sea version

28 Responses to “the pirate ships of Anomaly #54”


  1. May 1, 2009 at 6:01 am

    Ahh, the ship that ended up as the Osaarian pirate ship. Was USS Voyager an inspiration for that vessel, as has been claimed on numerous sites?

  2. May 1, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Cool to see the original desig choices. The one on the left of the first picture looks like a precursor to the Denobulan medical shuttle from “Cold Station 12″ with its vertical orientation. The one in the middle reminds me of the giant Xindi Aquatics cruiser and the one on the left screams Viper Mark VII. All in all great designs, thanks for the images!
    Oh, and if you find a side view (or more orthos) of the Osaarian/Ktarian ship, that would be uber-great! :-)

  3. 6 Jonathan Burke (TrekBBS' Praetor)
    May 1, 2009 at 6:49 am

    Ahh, I knew that final ship wasn’t inspired by Voyager! I remember a discussion on Trekbbs where someone insisted that the ship was just the retextured Voyager mesh, and I got a little annoyed and was like, ‘have you ever seen the Voyager? No.’

    And here are the drawings to prove it. It’s good to be right. :D

    I really like the grace of the middle ship in the first drawing. I can see why it wasn’t aggressive enough, but it’s still very beautiful, and conjures a sailing ship feel a bit. :)

  4. 8 Don B
    May 1, 2009 at 7:08 am

    Like ‘em all, but the model of the maurader attack vessel #54 is my favorite of the bunch.

  5. 10 Freak
    May 1, 2009 at 7:15 am

    I don’t remember that episode, good thing I rrewatching season 3. ;)

    On that first pic I am really loving that middle ship, look slick and speedy.

    Thanks for another great week, I lookforward to next weeks blogs.

  6. 11 evil_genius_180
    May 1, 2009 at 8:00 am

    I love this ship. I was all bummed that we only got to see it once, but that’s how the big machine works with a show where every week is a new discovery. Your final version is the best, IMO, but I also really love ship B in the first image. It may not have bee right for the show but that’s a sweet ride. :)

    • 12 johneaves
      May 1, 2009 at 12:58 pm

      ship b was fun and i pitched on a couple of other episodes but it never went anywhere!!! say-la-veeee

      • 13 evilgenius180
        May 1, 2009 at 6:34 pm

        Maybe I’ll give ‘er a go after a while. I really need to do more alien stuff anyway and that would make a great “generic” alien ship. :)

  7. May 1, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Sweet geezers – great stuff. I love seeing the rendered out stuff as a still – is very inspiring and instructional!

  8. May 1, 2009 at 10:15 am

    All really neat designs !! Don’t think I’ve seen the episode though !!

  9. 18 Matt Boardman
    May 1, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Hahaha! A shovel! Nice! I love the first three designs. They look mean! I like the final though because it makes me think of an old sailing ship that pirates were infamous for!

    Chicken of the Sea! Can’t hear that without thinking of the Jerry Seinfeld bit! Haha!

  10. May 1, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Very nice designs!
    Indeed I can’t take my eyes from the first picture. Although or just because of the monochrome look, it is so amazing!!!
    Vessel B of the first three versions reminds me of the Andorian ship…

  11. May 1, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    “Next week, the Cardassian ship yards. my review of the new Star trek film and by popular request, the SS Conestoga, the Sarajevo and more from Insurrection with the shuttle, the Cousteau, and Data’s scout ship. Coming soon the ships of nemesis and the variations of the Enterprise E”

    Wow! All of that sounds great! Can’t wait for more updates! :-) Have a good weekend and thanks for a cool week of blog entries!

  12. 22 Gep Malakai
    May 1, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    The Conestoga? Sweet! :-D

  13. 23 L.M. Oliver
    May 1, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Dig these! Is option C an hommage to the Orion spaceplane in 2001?

  14. 24 JNG
    May 1, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Some very cool sketches, and one instance where I think the best one did make it through to air. Thanks as always for sharing them.

  15. 25 Beta Capricus
    May 1, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Ktarian maurader? Were the Osaarians once ment ot be ktarians, or is there something I’m not getting here

  16. 26 Razor
    May 1, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    That top middle one would make a great future federation starship.

  17. 27 Richard Knapp
    May 2, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Hi John:
    I have been a big fan of yours since I first picked up the First Contact Sketchbook back in the mid 90s. Over the years I’ve made it a habit of picking up any book or magazine that has examples of your art. I joke with my wife about it, telling her that you’ve got the best job in the world – the man gets to draw and model spaceships for a living.

    Sorry about your daughter’s illness but it sounds like things are going well – I wish her, you, and your family all the best and a quick and full recovery!

    Finding this site has been a real treat and I look forward to your daily updates. Will you be posting any art from you Deep Space Nine days – I have always been a fan of your Dominion and Cardasian designs? It would be great to see more of your art from Enterprise as well, particularly the Xindi, Andorians, and Vulcan ships.

    Take care and thank you for sharing these images!

  18. May 4, 2009 at 5:04 am

    I can’t wait for all these other designs, or the new movie! I hopefully get to see it on the 9th! Wahoo!


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

