29
May
09

Desert crossing, and the Torothan Cruisers


I found these odd little ship drawings yesterday and thought I would throw them up just for the heck of it today. They come from an Episode of Enterprise called desert Crossing #24, and as I recall I was asked to draw a cruiser and a fighter. Here are both vessels and also the little desert hideaway sketch of the alien encampment.

 

the camp

the camp

 

and the vessels

and the vessels

 

a CU of the mudpie architecture

a CU of the mudpie architecture

 

here are some little alien BG vessels

here are some little alien BG vessels
26 Responses to “Desert crossing, and the Torothan Cruisers”


  1. 1 Richard Knapp
    May 29, 2009 at 4:34 am

    Great work – I really like the design of the fighter. In another thread yesterday you mentioned being a fan of Stingray. That was one of my favorites too. I liked all of the Gerry Anderson shows – they all had great airplane designs. On Stingray I always like the WASP bomber that looked like a kitbash of a B-58 Hustler. My favorite, however, was the Angel interceptor from Captain Scarlet.

    You can get a lot of really cool reference books about the model makers for those showns from the following:

    http://fabgearusa.com/books.html

    The Future Was FAB: The Art of Mike book is very good, particulary in showng the design process behind a lot of the models. Now we just have to get you to author an Art of John Eaves book with all the great images you’ve been posting here ;) That would be sweet!

    • 2 Tim Earls
      May 29, 2009 at 5:00 am

      He’s right John. You really should put out your own book. You have plenty to fill of the pages. I’d buy one but only if it’s autographed by the Man!

      • 3 johneaves
        May 29, 2009 at 8:03 am

        I’m thinking about it but want to do it as a chapter and bring on you and some other artist buddy’s to also have chapters!

    • 4 Richard Knapp
      May 29, 2009 at 5:14 am

      Heck – I’d by two. The second for after I wear out the first one from looking at it too much.

    • 5 johneaves
      May 29, 2009 at 8:05 am

      WOW!!! thanks for the cool link!!! I am going to go visit at lunch today!!! thanks for the nice compliments too!

  2. 6 the bluesman
    May 29, 2009 at 5:05 am

    I’m gonna have to get some foam and carve up one of those long pointy ships.

  3. 8 DeanneM
    May 29, 2009 at 6:06 am

    Put me down for an autographed copy. :)

    I like these very alien designs, but I keep getting distracted by the fact that you put buildings in the middle of what seems to be a wash. You should know better! See those clouds coming? :D

    Are those various transport vehicles you did a CU on in the back of the hideaway? I don’t seem to be able to recall this episode at all. More and more I’m wanting to pick up ENT and watch it again.

    • 9 johneaves
      May 29, 2009 at 6:14 am

      You NUT!! does it look like it ever rains there??? HAAA! there in the ravine to keep out of the wind, kinda like I wish my house was because of those evil high desert high winds!

      • 10 DeanneM
        May 29, 2009 at 6:32 am

        You can move your “mobile” house to Black Canyon City, that would fix that! Maybe now would be a good time, since the Agua Fria is dry right now – plenty of room. :D

        I like the look of the buildings, and it seems that the valley is quite large, since some of those buildings must be 4 or 5 stories. I bet it’s nice to be able to spend the day creating a fictional scene and getting lost in the drawing process. Ah, to be creative!!

  4. May 29, 2009 at 6:08 am

    I like the smaller drawing in the second image. Looks kinda like a batmobile, but with a camo paint job. The other ship is good too, but I think because I’m used to seeing Trek ships with big engines somewhere on them it looks like something’s missing. Of course it might just not have any warp engines (can’t really remember the episode clearly), or they could be in the main fuselage, or even be the wings. It’s an alien ship after all.

    • 12 johneaves
      May 29, 2009 at 8:02 am

      These versions are Warp-less, so no big nacelles here! One of the few Star Trek races to not flaunt the high speeds.

  5. 13 DeanneM
    May 29, 2009 at 6:35 am

    The larger plane reminds me *very* much of an older (maybe 50′s) plane, but I can’t for the life of me remember it’s designation. Did you have a plane in mind when you drew it? It’s driving me crazy!

  6. 17 James_M
    May 29, 2009 at 6:37 am

    I like the footprints that go from structure to structure, nice detail. The background ships in the last pic look pretty interesting also. I’ve always loved the scenario of small pockets of civilizations srrounded by a vast stark environment.

  7. May 29, 2009 at 6:53 am

    HA, I just watching this eps.!

    Nice work, brother, as always. ;)

  8. 21 Freak
    May 29, 2009 at 8:18 am

    I watch this a few days ago myslef, Just started season 2 last night, wathcing minefeild tonight. :)

    I love that small ship, it looks very mean.
    Did you also design the ship that final appeared in the episode?
    It looked like one of the ships that was built for TNG, for the time criminal episode (can’t remeber the name of the episode, it the one where the guy from the 22nd centery stole the time ship.)

  9. May 29, 2009 at 8:24 am

    I love that fighter. That thing is crazy. :D

  10. 23 Freak
    May 29, 2009 at 8:58 am

    on the subject of the book, I got your first book which I love. I was disapointed that there was never one for Insurection and Nemisis.

    I would love to see another Art or model book by you.

  11. 24 the bluesman
    May 29, 2009 at 9:53 am

    John

    Looks like you’re getting some pre sales for the book. I’d buy one.

    If you could get Doug, Andrew, and Alex and othe guys to submit soem stuff I think you’d have a winner.

    Two fighters, huh? Well in that case I may have to do one and have two cast!

  12. May 29, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Fabulous work on these concepts !!

  13. 26 Matt Boardman
    May 29, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    Love the SR-71 influence in the vessel on the left! I had a chance to touch a real SR-71 at an Air Zoo in Kalamazoo a few years back and was amazed at how light the material on it felt. You really captured that essence in the drawing!

    Love the sketches! Sign me up for the next Eaves collection book!


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

