20
Aug
09

“the valdore” day 3


Man oh man, it’s my last week here on Green Hornet and it’s busy.  Here are the rest of the Valdore illustrations.  These are crude and small, and I promise to do an update with bigger and better images hopefully next week.  In the mean time, here are some more of the plans and final design ideas that came together to finish off this big bird.  The second arched bi-wing is in place and took the spot of the Caterpillar nacelles, and overall it tied everything together nicely.  That extra wing added a good break up to the forward view and helped tie in with Andy’s TNG bird a bit more.  When I get to day 4 of the Valdore, I’ll include the rest of the CG models from Digital Domain and do a special write up on the master modeler behind the final ship’s outer workings!!  Enjoy todays teaser.

 

bi wing detail

bi wing detail

more schematics

more schematics

art

art

and CG

and CG

30 Responses to ““the valdore” day 3”


  1. August 20, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Cool! The Valdore has a very “athletic” view from the front!
    For some reason the Valdore’s head seems to look better than in the movie. I really grow to love this vessel!

  2. 2 DeanneM
    August 20, 2009 at 8:03 am

    After all of these fine posts from Nemesis, I broke out the movie last night. :) I would have liked to have gotten a better look at her on screen, but these ships just never seem to stop and pose for the camera very often!

    I never appreciated the Valdore as much as the other ships and shuttles of Nemesis, but thanks to you sharing here I have all the intimate details. I love getting the why’s and wherefor’s on the designs!!

    BTW, give me a buzz if you get a moment to breathe today.

  3. 3 deg
    August 20, 2009 at 8:27 am

    Tweet tweet, nice birdy… (holds up finger for birdy to land on). Tweet tweet, pretty birdy… nice birdy… tweet tweet tweet… :)

    LLP,
    deg

  4. August 20, 2009 at 8:27 am

    Great views of the Valdore John, thanks for taking time out to post them. That’s the first time any schematic diagrams of this ship have ever appeared to my knowledge – it’ll be wonderful to see the bigger and better versions next week. Like Max says, the front of the ship looks more angular and predatory than it appeared to look in the movie. The lights in the forward section seemed to make the shape of teeth and eyes in teh movie, will be interesting to see this on the CGI model. It’ll be interesting to know if that was the plan, to accentuate the bird-of-prey (the real animal rather than the spaceship :) ) look. Looking forward to part 4!

  5. 9 Don
    August 20, 2009 at 8:38 am

    That is literally a bird of prey. Shrike-like. I agree with Deanne – this baby didn’t get as much screen time/space as it needed to be fully appreciated.

    • 10 DeanneM
      August 20, 2009 at 9:13 am

      And the more I look at it the more I appreciate it’s sleek, speedy and powerful look that goes well with John’s “E”.

      Thanks for my new word for the day…had to look shrike up. :)

  6. August 20, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Man, I love it when you detail stuff. You never go halfway, which is just awesome. I really love the secondary wing you came up with, that’s a very innovative way to attach the nacelle and a great nod to Andy’s awesome Warbird design from TNG. I love all of your great drawings and that CGI shot is da bomb. Whoever made the textures for that beauty really needs a huge pat on the back. They did an awesome job of translating all of your details with those textures.

    Thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to share these. I’m looking forward to the follow-up, especially more shots of that model. I always knew I liked it from the first time I saw Nemesis, but it didn’t get anywhere near enough screen time for me to really appreciate it like I can now. :D

  7. 12 Josh Spooner
    August 20, 2009 at 9:50 am

    CG model didnt do your drawings justice!

  8. 13 Melak
    August 20, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Thanks for posting in such detail about the valdore John!

    It was really about time for the romulans to get a new ship, and I couldn’t be happier this got to be it. The Valdore looks through and through romulan, and appropriately sleek for the time.

    Great job!

  9. 14 Matt Boardman
    August 20, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Love that second wing! It really does tie the design in with Andy’s design and yet it is uniquely its own design. Awesome work! :)

    Hope things on Green Hornet are going well!

  10. 15 Richard Knapp
    August 20, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    The Valdore has always been one of my favorites – just a beautiful and very bird-of-prey like design. The addition of the lower wing really makes a nice design connection to Andy’s warbird.

    Thank you for posting all these great pictures!

  11. 16 johneaves
    August 20, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    WOW lot’s of comments on this little birdy today!!! Thanks for the kind words and so glad you all like seeing this stuff from old!! Sure were some fun days!!!

  12. 17 CarlG
    August 20, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    God, this looks fantastic!

    I love how the bottom wings curve up and almost connect with the top wing, then curve down again and become attached to the engines. It’s like the opposite of the TNG warbird, but it still gives the same vibe.

    I also really like the super-intricate “hull plate” details you add. Awesome style.

  13. August 20, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    That front view is very interesting. Like others it seems, I had no idea the second wing was shaped like that, I thought it had more or less the same arch shape as the main one. That element is a lot more elegant and cleverly designed than could be appreciated in all the motion blur of the movie.

    Great to see a new CG image too. It amazes me that there were more cool renders of this ship made at the time but they didn’t release them. They only ever let out one publicity shot of the ship. It was a great shot, but fans would’ve lapped up a few more.

  14. 19 JNG
    August 20, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    John, how did you feel about the fact that one of the Valdore-type ships in the movie was brown instead of green? Just curious.

    • 20 johneaves
      August 20, 2009 at 6:45 pm

      I didn’t notice!!!! I’m Color blind!! Red Green and brown all blur together at one point or another.

    • 21 Boris
      August 20, 2009 at 10:40 pm

      I’d say it was a good call, since the association between Romulans and the color green wasn’t present before the TNG era. The more diversity in Star Trek’s fairly uniform alien races, the better.

  15. August 20, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Always thought this was what a perfect design looks like…looks brilliant from all angles and looks slick and agressive! I bought this baby as a resign kit to go with my 1 metre long Enterprise E.
    Brilliant work John!

  16. 23 Scott D
    August 20, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    I really love the Valdore’s design. Wish we saw more Romulan designs such as this.

  17. 24 A Bastianelli
    August 20, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Man… I wish I had pictures like this when I started my model. I’ve always been a big fan of your work and the Valdore is one of my all time favorite designs. Wow…

  18. 25 Freak
    August 21, 2009 at 3:01 am

    This is suck a cool ship and I love that second wing.
    It suck a shame that we did not get to see more of here on Screen. I guess we can always hope that if they make another show/ Movie in the oringal V’ruse this baby will get more screen time.

  19. 26 Freak
    August 21, 2009 at 3:19 am

    Sorry I meant to say “Such a cool Ship”.

    This ship in no way Sucks. LOL

  20. 27 N3RD
    August 21, 2009 at 7:00 am

    The Valdore was a pretty cool ship, but once again, just a reuse of the world famous an never reached klingon bird of prey (which was ironicly once a roumlan design).

    I liked it, but i think there should be more differences in klingon an romulan ship design, klingons and romulans are the most famous star trek enemies anyway, they shouldn’ t look the same way.
    My favourite romulan designs are those of “Enterprise” anyway (the “reimagination” of the Tos-Bird of Prey and the drone, also a reuse, but a very strange and different design.

    • 28 johneaves
      August 21, 2009 at 9:24 am

      http://johneaves.wordpress.com/2009/03/24/romulans-from-enterprise/

      Here’s the post of that retrofit of the original series bird, unfortunately for the later shows and movies the window of shapes that would get approved was very small and there was not a lot of wiggle room or allowances to directly use old architecture as new, unless it was subtly hidden as an homage.

      • 29 N3RD
        August 22, 2009 at 7:29 am

        Wah! Thank you! Yes, thats a cool one!

        It’s always interesting to hear from a Designer how much free room he has to work.
        How does it came that there was no “allowence” for “old architecture”? Did the Bosses told you to do “something as cool as a Bird of Prey” or didn’t they approve very different shapes?
        And yeah, I LOVE your work, but dude, I think everyone does, so I tell you what I would have done different if I had all the time in the world, no Bosses above me and time to design the whole show;)

        (Have you ever thought about a romulan “hybrid” of the old and new design, like a ship that looks like the newer romulan designs [you know, I mean like Bird of Preys…], but with the wings upwards?)

  21. 30 Shinzon
    September 4, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Hi John,

    when we can see the CGI pics of the finished Valdore?


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 224 other followers

