01
Apr
10

KAAAAAAAAAAAAAHN!!!!


Howdy all!  Sorry the blog has been dark and deserted for so long…I just started on the new “Pirates of the Caribbean” movie and doing a little bit on JJ’s new Trek, accompanied by my daughters’ rodeo schedule have had me overly busy!!!  Times are most exciting!!!  So with that said, here is some quick fodder for ya before the day starts.  Both of these new films have something in common, and that is Javier Bardem!!!  Javier is the way bad guy from “No Country for Old Men” ( a big fav in the Eaves house), and he is being cast as Blue Beard in Pirates and also as the legendary Kahn in JJ’s Trek sequel.  I met Javier in both art departments and am working on costumes for both of his new Characters.  We talked a lot about the Coen Brothers, and it was really fun to find out that he had never seen a Trek movie until he met JJ.  Javier is extremely excited about taking on the role of Kahn, and I can’t wait to see how he brings this character to life…tough shoes to fill with what what Ricardo has already done.  But if anyone is going to be able to pull it off, it’s going to be Javier.

OK all, have to run so have a good one and hope to get back on here more often.  Below are some pictures and the Old Men trailer to give you a good view of Javier’s work.

Javier

Cheers

29 Responses to “KAAAAAAAAAAAAAHN!!!!”


  1. 1 Ghost Of Ricardo
    April 1, 2010 at 7:15 am

    Ha Ha!
    Happy April 1st John!

  2. 2 Don
    April 1, 2010 at 7:20 am

    Wow. Is that official, John? If so, you’re the first to announce it that I’ve seen!

    While I loved Bardem in “NCFOM”, I have very, VERY mixed feelings about bringing that character into the new Trek universe. But regardless. I’m glad to hear that you’re once again part of the creative team. Good luck and have fun!

  3. 4 Rich
    April 1, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Hey Don,

    It’s April 1st. Of course it’s official as is everything on April 1st!

  4. 5 Wizzard
    April 1, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Hmm….. April 1st isn’t it?…..

  5. 6 Rekkert
    April 1, 2010 at 7:45 am

    Wait… today’s April 1st, isn’t it?

  6. April 1, 2010 at 8:29 am

    This is better than the canceled prom prank I heard about this morning. Of course, this would be sad if we all get the joke and you ain’t joking :D !

  7. 8 johneaves
    April 1, 2010 at 8:59 am

    April fools!!!! I don’t do April Fools!

  8. April 1, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Ah that’s awesome news, dude. And sO good to hear you are back on the job as well! :)

    peace | deg

  9. April 1, 2010 at 9:45 am

    He’d be great in the part but I was really hoping they wouldn’t fall back to Kahn. There’s too much new great stuff they could do. They could have brought in Kang, Koloth & Kor. They could have gone to the old episode Where no man has gone before. But have Pike be the guy he has to kill. How would killing the only real father figure Kirk has had effect him? Oh well I’ll see whatever they do make.

  10. April 1, 2010 at 9:49 am

    I’m with Deg, it’s good to hear you’re working again. I was already looking forward to the next Pirates movie, even more so now that I know you’re involved. :D

  11. 14 DeanneM
    April 1, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Like JJ would re-use a traditional Trek plot! HA!!!! I just had to see the name of the post on the main page to remember that it’s April 1st. :)

    Don’t be such a stranger, pal. Glad to hear you’re busy, unless that’s part of the prank! Well, at least I know you were at a rodeo last weekend. ^_^

    • April 1, 2010 at 9:32 pm

      Don’t be so sure about JJ not re-using an old plot. I wouldn’t put it past him. It’s not exactly like the first movie is that original. The “meeting at the academy” plot was first mentioned by Roddenberry back in the ’70s and let’s not forget that Harve Bennett left Trek forever because he didn’t get to do that plot for ST6. Plus, the whole time travel bit has been done many times on Trek, though this is the first time that nobody even mentioned trying to undo the damage caused by a time travel incursion. Without those elements, the rest of the plot pretty much screams “The Best of Both Worlds” because the Borg showed up in a huge ship to spank the Federation and they could only be beaten by the Enterprise (naturally. ;)) That’s basically the rest of the movie after the time travel bits and the “history of Kirk and Spock” bit.

      Plus, JJ himself has said that Kahn is a possibility, though I don’t know if he meant only the villain himself or the same plot as Space Seed/TWOK. He could still have the villain in a new(ish) plot.

  12. 16 cubicspace
    April 1, 2010 at 11:51 am

    stranger things have happened. guv’ner. ;)

  13. 17 Terry
    April 1, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    Dammit. Here was thinking Javier would be an awesome Kahn, Thanks for nuthin John…

    Terry

  14. 18 JNG
    April 1, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    If the genetic superman of the future looked like Javier Bardem, we would all have plenty to laugh about. :)

  15. 19 the bluesman
    April 1, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    As my old freind General Turgidson once said, “Mr President, I prefer to hold off judgement until all the facts are in”

    If Johns not pulling our legs cool. If he is then good one, dude.

  16. 20 Buckaroohawk
    April 1, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    I was really getting excited about the new Trek movie stuff in this post, but I was puzzled that The Powers That Be would let you leak a “Big News” tidbit like that. Then I remembered what day it is.

    You almost had me, there, Johnny. I very nearly fell for it, but my momma didn’t raise no dummies. Anyway, everybody knows they already hired Ricky Martin to play Khan.

  17. 21 johneaves
    April 1, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    Sorry another busy day!!!! Yes it’s April Fools!!!!!!! I don’t think I got anyone with this one!!! HAAAAA!!!!! I personally think Javier would be an awesome Kahn. I am truly on Pirates, but Trek is a long ways off!!! Happy 4-1

    • April 2, 2010 at 8:51 am

      Ooooo, ya gots me!

      Now I’m sad, as I thought he would be sO good. I did think it odd that JJ was going with TWOK again.

      Good one, bud. :)

      peace and giggles | deg

  18. 23 Freak
    April 2, 2010 at 7:00 am

    I knew it, JJ has said that he would NOT do a Khan film, everything has changed which mean story wise they can do what they want.

    Good to hear that Priates is keeping you busy mate.

  19. 24 the bluesman
    April 2, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Hopefully though John will be called to do some more work on the new JJ Trek film though.

  20. 25 Carlg
    April 2, 2010 at 9:17 am

    LOL! Happy April Fools, John! (or, Joyeux Poisson d’avril, as they say up here in the Shat’s hometown ;))

    All kidding aside, if they did do Khan (but I hope they don’t), that would be some really badass casting there.

    I can’t wait to see your “Pirates” stuff — it will be cool to see how you approach low-tech designs after all the sleek shiny futuism of Trek.

  21. 26 jared
    April 2, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    shows what a dope I am , i fell for that hook line and sinker.

  22. 27 Simon
    April 18, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    I knew it was an April Fool’s because a true TREK person would know it’s *Khan” (Khaaaaaaaaaan) and not “Kahn”…right?

    Right???
    ;-)

  23. 28 Matt Boardman
    April 21, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Ya know, even though I knew this was an April Fool’s joke, I still caught myself going “Oh really?” Doh! Ha! Good one John!! :D

  24. 29 Jeff Wright
    April 23, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    Javier would be perfect as khan.


Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers

