04
Oct
10

the military shuttle from Star trek, 2009


Here are some images from the final designs that would become the military shuttle during Kirks academy days. This one took a while to get to this point because we had a lot of budget issues to put into the design on how to modify this blueprint to double and triple for the other shuttles that would be represented in the final film… After a long design process this was the concept that moved forward, and it did get redressed  to accommodate the many different ships you see in the bay and in flight.  The initial design of the high nacelles came early on but we went through a lot of different ideas and changes before this idea came back to be modified into what you see in the sketches. The windows changed drastically from this version and this one aslo was to be where Scotty lived and worked on Delta Vega,, The two interiors are the same just redressed for the military version verses Scotty’s version,, Scotty’s interior features all of his transporter ideas and studies as well as a lot of Scottish/and original series personal artifacts. lots of fun where these drawings to work on and I was collaborating closely with (art Director) Curt Beech on these and we had a good time. He’s one funny and talented man with an endless supply of pranks and jokes. In the end he did suffer from the dreaded Limburger cheese attack, HAAA!!!! some real good times.

versions a and b, the lower left ship made the cut
military cockpit wall details
under belly details and landing gear
interior view, (military)
and Scotty’s interior. not a lot of people know that Scotty was supposedly a Rat Fink fan, if you look carefully you might see what I mean…
20 Responses to “the military shuttle from Star trek, 2009”


  1. 1 mike paquette
    October 4, 2010 at 11:47 am

    rat fink on the stool next to the transporter

    • 2 johneaves
      October 4, 2010 at 11:58 am

      wooooow and with a crack of lighting you have found it!!! My buddy Nelson had just given me a Rat fink work stool while I was drawing these pics, My garage looks a lot like Scotty’s so it just had to be added to the set

  2. 3 Ian Pryde
    October 4, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Yeah, because all Scots keep their bagpipes and Claymores in their shuttles next to their experimental transporter pads, i know i do, Lol! Racial stereotyping is an ugly affair, John… Very ugly… :)

  3. 4 johneaves
    October 4, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Well he needs those pipes close in case Spock dies!!! and he needs his Claymore at hand in case he needs a can opener!!!

    • 5 Ian Pryde
      October 5, 2010 at 1:31 am

      Well I never! I didn’t think of that…That’s why you’re the talented designer and I’m just a lowly librarian Lol!
      Fantastic designs btw, and I also like the realistic controls you designed, A lot more tactile than a touchscreen…

  4. 6 Richard Knapp
    October 4, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Hi John:
    What a great design. I really like the 3/4 view looking up from underneath. I’m amazed at your line work on these – the different pencils weights really give the exteriors shots a sense of solidity. Thanks for posting!

    On a different subject, did you get the email I send you a week or two back?

    I hope all is well,
    Richard

    • 7 johneaves
      October 4, 2010 at 7:13 pm

      thanks buddy and what did your email say!!! you wrote in the height of the work fury so I’m sure I lost it somewhere!!!

      • 8 Richard Knapp
        October 5, 2010 at 5:13 am

        Hey my friend – I was just checking back with you on your offer to send a picture or two. I hope things are well with you and yours.

        Take care,
        Richard

  5. October 4, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Those are excellent. I love the shuttles, they are well designed and very practical looking. Matt Jefferies’ original design was cool but I know he and Roddenberry both served in the military and they wanted to get away from that look, which worked OK but it seemed a bit less practical. I like the militaristic seating and other touches you gave your design, while still staying true to the form of the original shuttle. Too bad we never really got to see the landing gear on this shuttle in the movie, you designed some nice gear.

    • 10 johneaves
      October 4, 2010 at 7:09 pm

      Thanks evil-G, these were a lot of fun to do and I loved what Jefferies and Gene came up with for the original!!! Always a treat to pay homage to those two gentlemen’s visions

  6. 11 JoeRalat
    October 4, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Man, sweet designs! I love the interior views!

    Thanks

    • 12 johneaves
      October 4, 2010 at 6:24 pm

      Thanks Joe!!! What are you up to lately!!! are you still on Sci Fi Meshes???? I haven’t been on there in ages!!!

      • 13 JoeRalat
        October 5, 2010 at 4:16 pm

        Hey, I am doing some freelance work, websites and logos…it pays the bills. :D
        On the star trek side, I just got done on a update to my lcars site and I am working on the update to my star trek blueprints site. Me and my buddy Daryl collect blueprints from the show, we have a large collection, like the Enterprise-E Bridge, the engine room of the Ent’S D..etc People can see photos on the site…I think trek fans will like it.

        As for Scifi-Meshes, I go there from time to time and post some new stuff that I made in my thread. The site has been a little slow (On new stuff) after the last movie.

        Thanks again for posting the sketches, we all love it! :D

  7. 14 the bluesman
    October 4, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    John

    Love the rudder pedals and the yoke on the cockpit comp. People might scoff at that, but pilots need a control yoke or stick and rudder pedals, I dont care how far in the future it is. You cant see them, but I always imagined that Sulu had pedals under his console.

    I also liked the close up of the landing gear, it kinda remids me of Ron Cobbs big beefy landing gears on the darkstar side profile and the dropship from Aliens.

    Okay, cool hardware, lets see some more software! Ha.

  8. 15 Matt Boardman
    October 4, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    So love these designs! They really make a great futuristic transport a thing of beauty! Scotty’s lab = priceless!

  9. 16 Buckaroohawk
    October 4, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    I love exterior-to-interior views! I do them often myself, even though it drives me crazy. Trying to figure things like hull thickness, human scale within the environment, interior details that must conform to exterior references; it can be maddening but at the same time it’s a lot of fun. Drawings like these are always an inspiration for me. Thank you for posting them, John.

    Looking at the differences in Scotty’s shuttle vs. the military one; I’m assuming that he was fiddling around in there, building a transporter from scratch so he could beam himself off Delta Vega. Does this sound plausible to anyone else?

    One last thing: John, in your desciption above, you wrote, “…Scotty’s interior features all of his transporter ideas and studies as well as a lot of Irish/and original series personal artifacts.” I know you’ve been very busy otherwise you NEVER would have made the mistake of saying Scotty was Irish. ;-)

  10. October 5, 2010 at 4:04 am

    Very Nice work Cup-cake! ;)

    I love the miltary look for the interior of the shuttle and Scotty Lab/ home. Shame we really only got to see the transporters in that.

    I do love the light on the landing gear.

  11. October 6, 2010 at 7:58 am

    Rugged and retro. One of my favorite designs from the movie.

  12. July 2, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Kinda looks like the Argo.(Like I’m the only one who noticed.)

  13. 20 HomerT6
    September 18, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    How many meters long is it?


Leave a Reply

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

