16
Apr
12

monsterpalooza April, 13th-15th, 2012


WOW!!!  What an incredible show this was!!! As much as I love Comicon and Wondercon, Monsterpalooza has become my new Favorite of the collector shows. The Palooza started Friday evening at 6:00 and went through the weekend. There were tons of incredible vendor booths, live make-up, airbrush, and mold making seminars, Movie and horror directors& stars, as well as a host of special make up FX artists.. Monsterpalooza has been an annual event but this year they are adding another show in October and again it will be in Burbank!!!! I’m booking this one as we speak. I took tons of pix from the show and they will speak volumes so enough chatter from me and lets go right into the show…

This is a painting of Grandpa from the "Munsters" painted by the incredible Daniel Horne. Dan had many pieces of his work at the show and I was blown away by his incredible talent and what a great subject manner to display his mastery of the media

This is a painting of Grandpa from the "Munsters" painted by the incredible Daniel Horne. Dan had many pieces of his work at the show and I was blown away by his incredible talent, and what a great subject matter to display his mastery of the media

Here is another one of Dan's masterpieces!!! I'm only going to post two of his paintings because I'm going to do a special blog post about him very soon.

Here is another one of Dan's masterpieces!!! I'm only going to post two of his paintings because I'm going to do a special blog post about him very soon.

There was also a horror museum and this was one of the pieces on display

There was also a horror museum and this was one of the pieces on display

more from the Museum

more from the Museum

If your a fan of John Carpenter's "The Thing" you'll know who this is..

Most of the work in the Museum was full scale and beyond, this piece stood at least 8 to 9 feet tall

Most of the work in the Museum was full scale and beyond, this piece stood at least 8 to 9 feet tall

this was a shot from a vendors booth who sold horror candles as well as a lot of other great stuff,,,, Check out "The Thing Candle" in the middle

I believe this was from "Cloverfield"

I believe this was from "Cloverfield"

famous busts

A full size horror display featuring the silent film version of "Phantom of the Opera"

A most impressive piece of work, A full size sculpture of Rick Baker applying "An American Werewolf in London" make up on David Naughton

by the same artist another life sized sculpture of Jack Pierce applying mummy make up to Boris Karloff. Rick Baker's hands were cast and used for Pierce's hands.

another view of this incredible sculpture

Frankie in full scale

some pieces from one of the many booths

more cool stuff

IT"S THOMAS WAITES!!!! This is the actor who played the character, Windows in John Carpenter's "The Thing" Thomas was very kind and let me snag a pic with him!!!

Frank Dietz and Trish Geiger of Bonevelent Monster Productions were at the show promoting their new film "Beast Wishes" which is a tribute film to Bob and Kathy Burns. The filmed premiered Thursday night at the Arclight theater in Hollywood and is the best tribute film I have ever seen.. Stay tuned for a special blog about these two and their film in the near future

Don't eat worms or spend to much time at the cemetary

Michael Jackson!!!!!! Incredible

always wear your retainers at night or else

I would die to have this kind of talent!!!

this was a beautiful yet disturbing piece depicting the life of a bunch of zombies

so many great creatures

this was a giant phone booth sized machine that when activated, opened up to a full animatronic character that would sing then try to blow you to pieces when you critiqued his lack of singing skills

”AHHHH

My buddy Nelson and his fav piece of the show

a one eyed beauty

this artist sculpts in both practical media as well as Z brush and teaches classes on how to master the program

This young gal had the best outfit n make up!!! She was just a convention goer and was incredibly scary!!

”This

This is Ed and Charlie Chiodo, combined with Steven, they are the Chiodo Brothers. These three incredibly talented artists have a studio in Burbank CA, and in 1988 they wrote and directed as well as made all the Klowns for the space epic "The Killer Klowns from Outer Space", and most recently they created all the puppets for Team America. Three great guys and always working on some very cool projects.

a young Zombie on her way to the showroom.

the Monsterpalooza clock!!!

glad these things were behind glass

here a four ghouls that no one would want to have a blind date with, Sorry I don't have the little black sensor bars to cover things, so quickly move on if your kids are in the room with you!!!

the next several pictures are from the booth where the ghoulie girls were at.. here is something Hannis from "The Ring"

more awesome masks

the focus is a little soft but had to post this incredible piece anyways

Ahhh how cute, A little vampire alien

wicked!!!

full werewolf costumes

these suits n masks are to cool for words

if your in the market for adopting a little demon, you had a lot of them to choose from

and this is the final pic from the show!!!! enjoy


28 Responses to “monsterpalooza April, 13th-15th, 2012”


  1. April 16, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    Outstanding! Man, wish I had been there. I would have loved to see the ZBrush booth!

  2. April 16, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    That is so cool. Too bad there’s nothing really like that out here in Chicago. You with the baby head is probably the scariest thing.

    • 3 johneaves
      April 16, 2012 at 4:40 pm

      YEAH!!!! I wonder what kind of conventions they’ll have in Wyoming???? Book your flight and hit the October show!!!!

  3. April 16, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    I was in LA this weekend and wanted to go to this! I wanted to meet Joe Dante and Bob Burns! I am bummed I didn’t check it out. Was at Disneyland all weekend. I am def going back in Oct. Looks like so much fun.

  4. April 16, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    Darn, I was in LA when this was happening and was planning on going. I didnt have time though. I wanted to meet Joe Dante and Bob Burns! I will def go for October, looks amazing!

    • 6 johneaves
      April 16, 2012 at 4:38 pm

      So sorry you missed it!!! And yes both Bob and Joe was there,, I got a couple of Joe’s movie signed and it was fun to chat with him a bit!!!

  5. 7 darkpsion1
    April 16, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    Love the Cobra-haired Medusa and the Gourd Guy (Killer Compost?), but if the ears get any higher on the were-wolves, they are going to become were-rabbits.

  6. 8 deg3d
    April 16, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    Coolness, now why didn’t you call me, ya dummy?

  7. 9 deg3d
    April 16, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    Coolness, now why didn’t you call me, numbnuts?

  8. 11 Buckaroohawk
    April 16, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    I’d swear that those were photos of the real Baker, Naughton, Karloff, and Pierce. Amazingly realistic displays!

    By the way, you with the giant baby head mask just became my new monitor wallpaper. I can’t wait for my wife to see it the next time she starts up the computer. :D

  9. 13 DanC
    April 16, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Incredible! Thanks so much for posting, Mr. Eaves!

  10. April 17, 2012 at 5:17 am

    Not really a fan of horror film, except for the classic monster movies, or if they are Sci-fi. IE John Carpenter’s “The Thing” and Alien.

    Some very cool stuff there.

    You wearing the gaint baby mask reminds me of Blaster from Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome.

  11. April 17, 2012 at 7:43 am

    It is very difficult to choose a fave with so many cool things there. I thinkg my best favourite is the Boris Karloff statue!!! Really impressive!. I’ve been a fan of that movie for decades now and it’s really fun to see Boris Karloff ready to shot in slippers. LOL!!!
    Thanks for posting this stuff

    • 18 johneaves
      April 17, 2012 at 10:52 am

      the picture don’t do the sculpture justice!!!! Yeah the Mummy is a favorite of mine too.

      • April 17, 2012 at 4:08 pm

        So much niftiness everywhere but Wowsie-Wow-Wow-Wow, that Jack Pierce and Boris Karloff sculpture really knocked me out. Wow. Amazing amazing work. They looked like they were ready to come ot life (and I wish they would!)

        Thanks for sharing all the goodness, John! I’m sorry I wasn’t there, but I wouldn’t have a penny to my name if I had been!

  12. April 17, 2012 at 7:53 am

    Bah! So jealous, it looks like it was completely amazing. Those sculptures are some of the most incredible things I’ve seen in a while, they’re absolutely spectacular. Hopefully there’s something closer to Texas in the near future!

  13. April 17, 2012 at 10:32 am

    This is right up my alley. I am going to get a vendor table here and show my paintings and t-shirts. I was planning on finishing up my monster art projects and this is perfect motivation!

  14. 25 Paul
    April 19, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Love “The Ring” piece. I would put that in my wardrobe!

  15. April 21, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    I like the Al Lewis painting. In the mid-70s I got to meet Al when he showed up to talk to our acting class. The best moment came after his lecture, and he was hungry. So we went to the campus commissary and half a dozen of us listened for over an hour to his stories of working on the Munsters, Car 54, and Phil Silvers. A really down to earth guy with no show-biz pretentiousness and a wicked sense of humor.

  16. May 21, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    None of them scared me till I saw Michael Jackson. Then I almost threw up.

  17. 28 Paul
    May 22, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    Cn any one tell me the date monsterspalooza comin back to Chicago


Leave a Reply

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 223 other followers

