19
Mar
09

Starfleet vessels


trekkkk1armada-starfleet-vesselA few years back Perpetual Entertainment was putting together an awesome online computer game based on a Star Trek future slightly ahead of “Nemesis” Ryan Dening and Todd Remon were the design leaders on the project and I heard about this project thru the grapevine. I spent a good year bothering them relentlessly to let me come over and have fun with them in the Art Dept. they finally did because someone quit!!!HAAAA! I was in heaven but it was a long drive to work. They were based in Sanย Francisco, I guess it’s just as long of a drive to go to LA!!! This one was one of my favs, and when it came time to interview for the new Trek movie I did a retro version to use as an my application and resume


33 Responses to “Starfleet vessels”


  1. 1 Pacal
    March 19, 2009 at 7:16 am

    John I frequent Drex’s blog and this is my first post on yours … first impression “Oh Shit!” that is fantastic. Great the way its done Nemesis and pre era. Really looking forward to more, like the Drex site if you have pics of physical models your gonna make alot of people very happy.

    • 2 johneaves
      March 19, 2009 at 7:22 am

      I have been wanting to do this forever!! I am making my website and was going to put all of this stuff there but after seeing What Doug had done, I changed my mind and went for the blog, I have so many boxes of pictures at home that I don’t think I’ll ever run out of stuff to put up… Glad you came over to visit.

  2. 3 deg
    March 19, 2009 at 7:24 am

    Oh dude, you’re killin’ me! In a good way, mind you.๐Ÿ˜‰ Now I have to build that TOS version! I love TOS above all Trek as you may have guessed by now.

    Your stuff is just, I can’t even express it. Put it this way; if I could draw ships, this is what I would be drawing them like!

    Again, if you get the time, and have larger versions (the largest you have) please feel free to send them along.

    BTW, I am currently building a Ryan Dening design as we speak eh. It’s on my website under the “on the bench…” link if you are interested in seeing it.

    Thanks for sharin’ John!

    PLL,
    deg

    • 4 johneaves
      March 19, 2009 at 7:39 am

      I was just on your page and flipped backwards out of my chair!!!! I need to go back at lunch when I have more time!!! Awesome work!!!! What an awesome talent you have and the Enterprise with the F-104 are breathtaking!! i started a painting (the old fashioned kind) of that one. Is your stuff on Scifi meshes??? I used to be on there all the time but it has been a very long time since I have had the opportunity to visit!!!! Ok Mr.Genius thanks for sharing!!!

  3. 5 PatrickK
    March 19, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Very cool designs. *thumbsup*

  4. March 19, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Ohh this is something!
    lol deg, I have to chase you with a stick, I wanted to model that ship for some time. Now there is no reason to reinvent the wheel. ;p
    I really liked the early STO designs. All very creative and NEW. Could we get a larger view especially of those schematics in the corner.

    MKF-

  5. March 19, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Cool John! Yeah a blog is less work then designing a website!
    Can’t wait to see more. Thanks!

  6. 10 Freak
    March 19, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Arr man now that is nice. I like the post Nemesis ship.
    But I love how you changed it to a TOS version.
    I know a few people over on 3dscifi.com that will get a real kick out of it.
    They are really into the TOS over there.

  7. 11 PatrickK
    March 19, 2009 at 8:08 am

    Gotta add that this looks way better than any of Cryptic’s vessels for the new Star Trek: Online I’ve seen so far.

  8. 12 Eric
    March 19, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Oh,Hell Yah! Beautiful! Man keep it coming. Between this blog and the Drex Files, my day is complete. I have to build this one.

  9. March 19, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Oh wowsers, thanks sO much for that John!๐Ÿ™‚ It’s always nice to hear nice words about your work, but coming from an artist (and a Trek artist even better) of your exceptional caliber, that means even all the more to me eh. I look forward to plying my skillz to your awesome design concepts eh!

    You didn’t by any chance do schematics of the TOS version did you? If so, given the time, please feel free send them to me as well(as large as you gots ’em eh). If you didn’t go full-out with the TOS, I can just extrapolate the conversion based on the post-Nemesis version. Which is too cool as well, kinda makin’ me have a tug-o’-war on which version to do, but TOS is such a big draw for me.

    Thanks again dude! And Man I wish I had your mad sketch skillz, Mr. Genius yourself eh. Good thing you have ’em, and thanks for sharin’ em.๐Ÿ˜€

    PLL,
    deg

  10. 15 ST-One
    March 19, 2009 at 10:01 am

    9Now, this is a cool starship. The TOS-version looks fantastic.
    Now I can’t wait to see your concepts for the NX-01.๐Ÿ™‚

  11. March 19, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Nice starship, thanks for sharing it.

  12. March 19, 2009 at 10:32 am

    John,

    What can I say. Love that you are doing a blog. Aside from Matt Jeffries, you have been my favorite designer in the ST universe. Exceptional work and a wonderful design vision (Designer and Illustrator here as well so I really appreciate you “eye”).

    I am an avid “kitbasher” in the modeling world and have pulled from your style and design sensibilities for a lot of my starship designs. Thanks for the inspiration. Check out my stuff at http://www.feymanshipyards.com.

    Again, three cheers for your new blog…I know where I will be lurking 24/7…

    Peace, Michael

    • 18 johneaves
      March 19, 2009 at 11:57 am

      wow that’s some awesome work.. I need more time to look at everything more closely but right off the bat the USS Apolossa stands firm as a quick glance favorite!!! Thanks for the compliments and sending em right back at ya!!!

  13. March 19, 2009 at 10:34 am

    Oh duh, missed your Q John, yeah, I post on a coupla forums, including SFM eh.

    And when you are done with your 104/E painting, please share it eh!, as I’d love to see it, as I’m sure all here would. But as you can probably guess Tomorrow Is Yesterday is one of my fav eps. if just for its compelling imagery of E in the sky. Always made E that much more real to me eh, and I have been day-dreaming imagining her in the sky ever since I first saw that eps.๐Ÿ˜€

    PLL,
    deg

    • 20 johneaves
      March 19, 2009 at 12:19 pm

      I have to tell you this story, we were trying to create new merchandise for Star Trek thru Paramount who as you know puts nothing out for Star trek!!! This was a few years ago and that F-104/Enterprise piece was one of the one’s I had pitched. I tracked down the actual jet from the stock footage used in the episode and got some great reference pictures to make all the markings accurate. Daren Dochterman made me a print of his TOS CG Enterprise in the angle I had put in the sketch also for reference. and I was all ready to start work. After all this had been acquired and the sketch had been approved I got a note from licensing stating that I could not do this piece because there was no one in merchandising who could get clearance to use the jet reference. I called her up and said you don’t need any because military images are in public domain and you don’t need permission… this opened up a ridiculous two weeks of arguing and requests were demanded from me stating public domain extensions were in fact true,,,I got a verbal from Edwards AFB that was dismissed because it wasn’t in writing,, This became an obsession, and not a good one from Paramount,,,,it went on and on and it got to the point where the word of this got out to the Main AF guy at the Pentagon who called me up with a completely distorted story about the use of this jet… After talking to him for a few minutes and he understood what was going on he said; why did I get involved this is all Public Domain!!!!!! Well this translated back to licensing who still denied the approval to proceed because they did not have a letter stating that this was public domain and that a verbal from the Pentagon still was not good enough,,,I lost interest at this point and decided that all people in charge of high places regarding Star Trek Merchandise are idiots!!! HAAA!

  14. 23 Freak
    March 19, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Man that really does show that, people in power really don’t know what they are talking about.
    Sound like it could have been a really cool bit of Merchandise.

  15. March 19, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    New movie? I’m not sure of the timeline, but what movie was that? STO happened after NEM, right? Was this the current new movie or the (aborted and somewhat unclear) “Academy” movie production?

  16. March 19, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    OMG, what a debacle! I would think it would be common knowledge that type of stuff is PD. I mean NASA even had a proclamation up on its site saying all material is PD (to the USA), as it’s paid for by the American public. I would think of all things a corp. marketing division dealing with rights issues day-in-an-day-out would have a handle on that. Well, if you ever finish it, or need any more E ref renders, just let me know eh, as like I said, I’d LOVE to see it!๐Ÿ™‚

    As to the 104: yeah I researched the friggin’ crap outta that bird eh, based on the stock footage used in the eps. and then I tracked down the actul bird itself. I’m kinda a perfectionist and I had to have that bird as close to dead to rights as I could know to get her eh.

    As far as your TOS Engineering ship specs shots, yeah, if its no prob for you to draw ’em up, IMO that would be even better than me goin’ it on my own eh, as she’s your bird, and I’d like to stick with your take on her eh, and well, you got dem type o’ golden design chops in shapes my friend!

    Thank John!๐Ÿ™‚

    And yeah, I post at F3D and the Luxology modo forum as well (as I use modo to build), but I always keep my site up-to-date, and my “on the bench…” link on my site is updated most end of every day with what I am working on. Gotta finish up Ryan Dening Sac Scout as I can’t wait to get to your big K-Bird eh (and your other stuff), as I gots me mass-visions in me head that wants to come outs!!!

    And thanks Madkoifish for flagging me over there. You stuff is lookin’ pretty tight these days dude. Nice work as always eh.๐Ÿ˜‰

    PLL,
    deg

  17. March 19, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I am an avid โ€œkitbasherโ€ in the modeling world and have pulled from your style and design sensibilities for a lot of my starship designs. Thanks for the inspiration. Check out my stuff at http://www.feymanshipyards.com.

    Wowsers Michael, that’s some cool pracs you got there, and so prolific! And I love the shots you create using them all too. Very nice work my fellow Trekker!๐Ÿ™‚

    LLP,
    deg

  18. 28 ST-One
    March 20, 2009 at 1:20 am

    There is another of your concept ships for this game I stumbled upon which is also very nice (perhaps even better).

    This: http://img3.imagebanana.com/view/ib6udqlm/concept18.jpg

    Unfortunately the schematics (which are cut off in that image) are nowhere to be found…๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  19. 29 Jonathan Burke (TrekBBS' Praetor)
    March 20, 2009 at 7:08 am

    Hi John!

    I frequent Drex’s blog and this is my first post here. I’m a big fan! I have had your TNG Movies sketchbook for quite a while and poured over that book for months and months and months when I first got it. I like to think that I learned a thing or two from you.

    I really like the TOS era version of this ship!

  20. 30 1701d-fan
    March 21, 2009 at 4:12 am

    Interesting, design. I looks like it has a single purpose.
    A good design lineage with the rest.

  21. March 24, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Interesting. I first saw the one with the modern nacelle and then the one with the retro nacelles. And I must say both of them look good on this ship design.

  22. 32 Kevin H. Martin
    March 27, 2009 at 4:32 am

    So when you presented this image to get onto the movie, were you working for Chambliss’ dept? I talked to him briefly a month or so back and he made it sound like his guys worked up ALL of the main design concepts pretty concretely and just gave keyframe images to ILM for execution.

    • 33 johneaves
      March 27, 2009 at 4:50 am

      When ever I interview for a job I try and make one piece that applied to the project for the PD to see. Obviously in this case I didn’t want to show anything for the past Star Trek shows I worked on so I made a portfolio that was Sci-fi based from other shows and then put this one ship in as something new. It really had a part of the new film accept to help me get hired onto the show’s art Department.


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

