23
Mar
09

Monday Morning and doughnuts


where is the coffee that goes with this doughnut

where is the coffee that goes with this doughnut

Howdy all and hope you had a great weekend, walked into work with an enormously busy pile of things to get done so I’ll get these images up and get back on later. Today is a good day for a doughnut so I am showing another Starship from the Perpetual online game. This was classified as Starship E in an alphabetical numbering system and it was the first ship to really branch off on a new style of design. I was at the aviation scrap yard and they had all theses beautiful rings laying in a pile. They were from the inside of  jet engine and the look of them inspired this open saucer layout. It needs a bit more refining I think,,,not quite right as far as how all comes together. but it was one of my favorite concepts. This was one of the first things I painted in photoshop and it makes me a little ill to see how badly it looks…Yikes! Need my markers,,, Haaa!


32 Responses to “Monday Morning and doughnuts”


  1. 1 Eric
    March 23, 2009 at 5:50 am

    Good morning. And another spectacular design. You know that “saucer” almost has a “peace” sign shape to it.

  2. 4 FD
    March 23, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Looks like a derivative of this designed ended up finding its way into the Star Trek Online game being produced by Cryptic!

  3. 6 deg
    March 23, 2009 at 6:41 am

    Top o’ the mornin’ and coolness dude. Interesting concept eh.

    Thanks for sharin’ eh.🙂

    PLL,
    deg

  4. March 23, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Brilliant stuff! Would love to see some more views of this!

  5. March 23, 2009 at 8:39 am

    So I wonder if cadets assigned to this ship would get a lot of jokes about being assigned to the donut and make sure you have plenty of Coffee “double strong, double sweet”😉

    • 9 johneaves
      March 23, 2009 at 8:43 am

      you know it, and I have to say the Duncan Donut would be the ship for me,,,,as well as the S.S. Krispy Kreame

  6. 10 Andru
    March 23, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Heya John, I just had a look at the ships Star Trek Online have revealed so far… I think their low-resolution renderings don’t do justice to your designs, their version of the “peace/donut” ship is just not right. It’s over-simplified and amateurish. Oh well. My favorite design of those you’ve shown us so far must be the Phoenix, but the Archer is close behind. I hope these two will show up eventually on ST Online, they’re too good to be left away !

    • 11 johneaves
      March 23, 2009 at 12:22 pm

      I wish Ryan’s work was up,, he did some incredible design work with all of the perpetual designs. I especially liked the Archer as well

  7. 12 Jonathan Burke (TrekBBS' Praetor)
    March 23, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Nice. I’m sure someone could work off their doughnut belly running around the ring…

  8. March 23, 2009 at 10:09 am

    you know it, and I have to say the Duncan Donut would be the ship for me,,,,as well as the S.S. Krispy Kreame

    Oh those will get ya in trouble quick, eh. :9

    LLP,
    deg

  9. March 23, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Photoshop or markers, that cool “Eavesiosity” still comes through. I like the departure from the standard saucer while still keeping true the the shapes. great stuff.

    • 15 johneaves
      March 23, 2009 at 12:27 pm

      thanks and it is fun to try new arrangement of the required starship elements. I so love the what the folks on SciFi meshes do with their own takes on Starship design.. Awesome and such inspiring work!!! I am a huge fan of that site

  10. 16 Freak
    March 23, 2009 at 11:13 am

    You say that looks bad for your first Photoshop painting.
    But it still 100% better than what I can do in that program.

    I have to say that the desgin direction that you and Perpetual, went with this is very cool.

    Thanks for Sharing.

    • 17 johneaves
      March 23, 2009 at 12:31 pm

      Ryan was the design leader so he was a great guy to have set the new look. from there it was easy to get set in that design mind set that went with what everyone was creating!! I was always curious to how these folks get their crew together no One was on Scifi meshes and I would think that would be a great place to start putting a team together from.

      • 18 Freak
        March 23, 2009 at 12:57 pm

        I always wonder why people don’t go fishing for Talent at scifi Meshes.
        Most of the request that put out are Non paying Jobs, but there are few paying ones.
        But they tenned to be for fan films and the likes.

        Sure most of the people there do it as a hobby, So getting some of the great biulds to be done in a limted time would be hard. But then you get to do it all day instead of just a hour here or there.

      • March 23, 2009 at 1:26 pm

        I have to wonder if it isn’t because of the people hiring are not into that part of the job, so sorting through talent on a forum would be tedious work for them. Or is it different than contractual freelancing?

        From my experiences most of the people doing the interviews and talent hunts are book keepers or in no way related to the field except as hiring agents.

        What I found annoying recently is how many expect artists to be programmers and coders, expecting a flashy website etc for portfolio.
        Or am I too old school mentality that the art should show instead of the blippy bling flash java UI? Even if I’m horrible and haven’t touched my main site in ages.

        It would be cool if they considered the forums as a means of recruitment,since there is a lot of talent residing on the various 3dForums and art sites out there. Yes, they will probably want a balance of speed and skill. There is plenty of that out there. (deg comes to mind) If it wasn’t for places like SFM, F3D, etc I would most likely have taken a lot longer to get to grips with 3dsmax. Maybe even given up 3d altogether. I kind of see them as like being in community collage and working in a room full of other artists, having those others to bounce ideas off of or to see working with their methods. It was my (to me) most explosive learning curve. Having this interaction allowed me to grow so much more as a artist than I ever had on my own in my closet of a studio. It is something I miss. Even a forum you lose some of it, hooking up with local forum members to “mesh” together was a experience too. Because each person has their way of starting things and doing things. It is entertainment on it’s own.

    • 20 johneaves
      March 23, 2009 at 1:40 pm

      You know!!! perhaps we could do something with this…. I have noticed that there are 6 to 8 illustrators,,, (movie Illustrators) that is, that get all the calls for movies first.. This was a mystery till a few months back as to how these guys were getting all the projects. Wound up that they all have chapters on design in a couple of design press books that almost every production designer has in his/her office. So with that what if we put together a picture book showcasing everyones talents in the same way!!!!

      • March 23, 2009 at 1:58 pm

        That would be cool, with the amount of on demand printers and small press sprouting up in the internet lately its doable on a small budget, ISBNs etc are still fairly expensive though.

  11. March 23, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Ah cool, different doughnut that I was expecting too. This image is a new one for me😀 I really like the aggressive central hull and the impulse in the saucer. I’ve noticed the multiple yellow bits are these alt impulse or just “other glowy bits”?
    This is the doughnut I saw:

    If you want a “marker” feel I suggest checking out PaintTool SAI its a Japanese app but has eng translations out. It works sorta like Painter but without the 2+ min load times and hardly any footprint. I love the markers in it and the interaction with the “paint”

    MKF-

    • 23 johneaves
      March 23, 2009 at 12:36 pm

      awesome!!! Thanks for the tip and I’ll check it out. That other donut was the second ship to exploit that open ring. It was classified as a scientific ship bristling with sensors. looks like the one you have is the early, early pass.

    • 24 johneaves
      March 23, 2009 at 12:40 pm

      also the the two sections of yellow represent a multi plained impulse system, a larger RCS in a way.

      • March 23, 2009 at 1:48 pm

        Think i read something similar on a forum once, so would the drives in the struts rotate on a axis to provide vertical rotational ability? then tractor like a tank with left and right thrust?
        Maybe this quick doodle could better explain.

        If you don’t mind I would love to give both of these designs a go in 3d. What was it in particular you found needed refining? Just how all the components come together?

        Oh as well, when you give SAI a go, save your files in PSD avoid the SAI format, this way your work wont be lost if you decide SAI sucks and isn’t worth the 50$ etc.

        MKF-

      • March 25, 2009 at 9:07 pm

        Hate to harass but would you have more views of this design or could you provide some more information to little design ideas etc? such as the cut out in the froward saucer etc. Would this RTS like Impulse system have a forward facing emitter? details of the underside? I have started a really rough-rough out phase (more of a polygon doodle) on various 3d forums.
        http://www.foundation3d.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5582
        http://www.scifi-meshes.com/forums/3d-wips/60582-star-trek-eaves-doughnut.html
        I would use what is seen in the latter STO models but i feel the interpretation there isn’t in line with how I perceive these designs. Not to mention how much was changed in the known views and how much of your original work is in those latter models.

        Thanks in advance, hell thanks for the blog and dealing with us shipfreaks.

        MKF-

  12. March 23, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    Nice looking ship, thanks for sharing it.

  13. 28 the bluesman
    March 24, 2009 at 9:34 am

    John,

    Cool concept. And I am an old school dinosaur too..I use Photoshop and other software for my design business, but I still find the best way to bang out ideas is to put a pencil and markers to paper.

  14. March 24, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    I’m usually no fan of gaps in ship designs. But this one really has got the look.

  15. April 4, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Let me guess. You saw ST 6 and figured, “Someone’s gonna keep putting torps through the saucer section like General Chang did on his last great tear at Khitomer. So, minimize the living-quarters damage potential before we even get to building the prototype!”

  16. 31 Big Will Cox
    April 9, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    I really like the open saucer concept. It’s a great way of thinking outside the box, so to speak.

  17. 32 Zoberraz
    October 13, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    I’ve be wracking my brain to figure out what rationale Starfleet would have to design an hollow ship like that. The only one I came up with was to in effect make the ship more prestigious posting.

    Why?

    Crew quarters lining the outermost regions of a Federation starship’s hull have a certain tendency to be allocated to officers. Most of the officer and executive quarters you’ll see in a show will have windows – whereas enlistees typically do not have the advantage of a view of space thanks to viewports.

    With the hollowed out sections, the vessel portrayed above increases the outer surfaces it can offer, therefore allowing for a lot more rooms to have a viewport with a view of the outside.

    That’s what I could come up with. Aside from that, it doesn’t look structurally very strong, but it does look very cool. I suppose that if Starfleet could get away with the slim necks of the Constitution-class, the ‘Donut starship’ ought to be fine.

    Will you be releasing schematics of this one as well, Mister Eaves? Like the Tahoe-class, it’s a beautiful ship but we’ve no way to know what the front of the engineering hull or the underside of the saucer section (should I really call it saucer?) looks like.


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

