24
Mar
09

the 40th Anniversary of ST, TOS


 

 

cachet art

cachet art

 

cachet, front view

cachet, front view

cachet, back view

cachet, back view

 

 

 

 

Many years ago Doug Drexler was putting together a group of CG artists from Foundation and Eden FX to create pieces of art for one of the Ships of the Line calendars, and he let me paint a piece (Traditional style) to go along with all the awesome computer artists endeavors. I had just got a computer and it was as foreign to me as a ballerina in a gun shop so old school was the comfortable choice!!! We were moving at the time and the Deadlines was unwavering.. Doug had convinced Margaret Clark (the ST editor from Simon and Shuster) that I could make a deadline so she allowed Doug to hire me on. Doug came to my desk, took a deep breath and struck a Clint Walker pose over me and shook a fist,,,  you better not be late laddy.  (Later I found out he gave me a fake due date way earlier that what was the real deadline,,, that evil little Monkey Scratcher!!!) I promised with trembling!!! I’ll tell you It doesn’t happen often but I have seen Doug’s devil’s eyes appear and you don’t want to have him go terminator on you….twood be very bad!  I gave him a double thigh blaster one time and had he been able to run after that mighty blow, I would not have be here today,,,, so back to the other story, HAAAA!!! due to the move I wound up painting the piece for the most part on the hood of my car, made my deadline, and overall wish I would of had more time to really flesh it out more. I was quite unhappy with it to say the least.  However  the 40th of Star Trek was coming up in 06 and having a little more computer knowledge I had hopes of fixing that old piece to be what I was wanting it to be. So first I did a big scan and pulled all the elements off and reworked and rearranged them to create a new composition and layout. From there I wanted to make the piece into a First day cover/Cachet so the format was changed drastically and then printed the art on #10 envelopes. from there they got stamped and cancelled over at Paramount pictures on the Anniversary date of the television Premier of Man Trap. For nostalgia I took all the envelopes over to the old Desilu stages on the NorthWest side of the lot where the old show was filmed. Here is a view of both the art, and how the cachet’s turned out.


6 Responses to “the 40th Anniversary of ST, TOS”


  1. 1 Freak
    March 24, 2009 at 5:28 am

    Thanks for sahring the stroy John.
    did the peace you painted end up in Ships of the Line?

    • 2 john eaves
      March 24, 2009 at 6:06 am

      It did!!!! HAAA! they let it in,,, Sorry I don’t have a copy of what it looked like prior to this version. I am afraid to see what it looked like in it’s original form!!!

  2. 3 deg
    March 24, 2009 at 5:43 am

    Beautiful piece of work there John. And great and funny account. Man they really de-sat-ed the heck out of your piece for the cachet. I would have loved to have gotten one of those, eh.

    Thanks dude!🙂

    PLL,
    deg

    • 4 john eaves
      March 24, 2009 at 6:04 am

      THANKS DEG…. Was on your page again earlier and am still totally flabbergasted by your incredible talent!!!!! The piece desaturated a little with printing on envelope paper but not like it looks in this bad scan of the cover. I put these on ebay every once in a while, and am taking a whole bunch to Wonderfest.

  3. 5 deg
    March 24, 2009 at 10:40 am

    NP dude. And awww shucks Johnny, stop. But thanks! Ya just don’t hear the word flabbergasted enough, IMO eh, and to hear it used in regard to one’s own work kinda tosses-me-for-a-loop, eh. In a good way.🙂

    Hopefully my skillz will carry me into the Industry (that’s the goal to serve anywho) and we can work together some day, eh.🙂

    What are you lettin’ those cachets go for at WF (and where is that held BTW)? Or let me know the next time you throw one up on eBay, as I’d be happy to bid eh.

    Thanks again dude!😉

    PLL,
    deg

  4. March 24, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Thanks John for a wonderful story about the 40th Star Trek Anniversary. The artwork is fantastic.


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

