24
Mar
09

the new enterprise model


 

 

from the Quantum site

from the Quantum site

 

 

 

http://www.quantummechanix.com/Star_Trek.html

 

This is a great view of Ryan Church’s Enterprise…..

And here is the page for Quantum that has created the model from the ILM templet.  I was at the Archlight theater last night and this model was on display. It’s a huge model… about the same size as the Polar Lights 1/350th scale Motion Picture Enterprise. enjoy


28 Responses to “the new enterprise model”


  1. 1 DeanneM
    March 24, 2009 at 9:24 am

    I’m never sure how I’ll feel about changes…but this does justice to the classic degign, and IMO this ship is beautiful! Very much appreciated the weblink.

    The more I read the very well informed comments from all you on these blogs, the more I’m learning (and the more I realize I’ve been missing!).

  2. 2 Pacal
    March 24, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Hey John, you asked me for a reminder on the Nemisis Starfleet tug you developed for last weeks post, did you have any additional rear or underside sketches?

  3. 3 johneaves
    March 24, 2009 at 9:36 am

    I am going home tonight so thanks for the reminder,,, I’ll try to find em for you!!!

    J

  4. 4 ST-One
    March 24, 2009 at 9:54 am

    This new Enterprise now is my second favourite version of that ship (nothing can beat the TMP-refit🙂 ).

  5. 5 deg
    March 24, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Yep, coolness, wowsers a prac, eh.🙂

    PLL,
    deg

  6. 6 Freak
    March 24, 2009 at 11:44 am

    I am still in two minds with this ship. There are parts I like and Part I don’t.
    But I agree with ST-One TMP version is still the best.

  7. 7 FD
    March 24, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I like most of the ship…except the nacelles. The front of the nacelles around the bussard collectors are just way, way too big.

  8. 8 johneaves
    March 24, 2009 at 11:54 am

    I was just talking to Ryan and he said the same thing about the nacelles,, He say’s it something new that Scotty has engineered!!! HAAA!

  9. 9 johneaves
    March 24, 2009 at 11:57 am

    when that trailer came out several months ago and you saw all those close ups and that one forward shot with those rolling blade in the nacelles you have to admit it was awfully breathtaking to see a new Enterprise!!!

  10. March 24, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    I still can’t say that I’m a fan of the new Enterprise. But from this angle it looks better than on the photos I have seen so far.

  11. 11 DeanneM
    March 24, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    Curvy and breathtaking…she’s quite the lady, this Enterprise! See, I’m not the only one here.😉

  12. 12 Mr. Wilde
    March 24, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    You know, this is the strangest thing I’ve ever seen. I love each part on its own. The saucer, the warp nacelles, the secondary hull, everything looks beautiful. But the way these parts were put together makes this new Enterprise look… not so good.

    I kinda identified the secondary hull as the reason for this. It’s been pushed forward, so the deflector is now very close to the center of the saucer, and it’s much smaller (not in length, but in diameter). And as a result, the ship looks clunky.

    Angles that made the previous Enterprises (TOS and TMP and also your Enterprise-E) look elegant make this one look too clunky.

  13. 13 the bluesman
    March 24, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    I’m gonna be a Bill Lumbugh and go ahead and disagree with you guys there…yeah.

    This version of teh Enterprise isn’t doing alot for me.

    If I had to choose a fave, it would be Matt Jefferies original, followed by Andrew’s TMP version, then John’s E-E.

    (And I’m gonna need you to go ahead and come in on Saturday…yeah)

  14. 14 johneaves
    March 24, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    by far the best for me is the original and then the Motion picture version

  15. March 24, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    I am trying to keep an open mind until my butt is in the theater watching the movie for the first time. It looks different enough but I want to see it in action more before I give my final judgement.

  16. March 24, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    I have to say, John, I am really curious as to how you would have resolved the design challenge of the “new” Enterprise. Like others here I am a little torn with Ryan’s solution, liking some aspects and cool to others. And since you are my favorite designer next to Jeffries on this series, (no dis to all the other amazing artists like Sternbach and Probert), I have daydreamed what your NCC-1701 would have turned out like. Ah well…

    Michael

  17. March 24, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    by far the best for me is the original and then the Motion picture version

    Yep (I always seems to forget TMP E, and I love her in that form), then Doug’s NX-01 and then E-E for me.

    LLP.
    deg

  18. 18 FSL
    March 24, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    The engines are so… big… And the curvy pylons… This version of the Enterprise looks strange. Something about it looks very toy-ish. I love the original.

  19. 19 PatrickK
    March 25, 2009 at 12:56 am

    Best part about that ship is the primary section, because that’s the one design element least changed. Worst part are the curved pylons and the large nacelles.

  20. March 25, 2009 at 5:55 am

    My first impression upon seeing it was that it looked as if it had been based upon a schoolkid’s sketch; you know the kind, with the basic elements in place but situated wrongly.

    But, I suppose we are darn lucky to get it as close as we did, it could have been way different. If it was right according to our view, it would be very close to the original, and I know they wanted to make their own mark on it.

    So, I’ll get used to it, and to the average viewer it’s the E for sure, so it’s fine.

    But so far it’s on the lowest rung of my favorite ship list, near the bottom but above the NX-01, which I never warmed to as being a ship from 100 years before TOS.

  21. 21 Simon Matthew Coles
    March 26, 2009 at 5:00 am

    I really like Ryan’s interpretation, and I think John is the first former Trek design staffer to not rip it to shreds!😀

  22. 22 Dave D.
    March 26, 2009 at 11:56 am

    You know… the biggest problem I have is the strutts to the nacelles. They’re just all wrong. And it affects how I view the entire design.

  23. 23 DeanneM
    March 27, 2009 at 10:45 am

    I was just scrolling down to see some of the week’s pics, and it struck me again how much I like this. I know not everyone does, but it’s a thing of beauty! I just had to say it again.

  24. 24 Matt Boardman
    March 28, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    I like the design. The neck sitting so far back throws me off a little each time I look at it, but I’m excited to see her in action come May!

  25. April 2, 2009 at 9:24 am

    I totally dig Ryan’s work, but the new/old E isn’t getting my juices going. Maybe it’s the deflector pushed so far forward, maybe it’s the club-like look fo the new nacelles and the curved struts give it a wishbone look. I saw a rear sot of the new model and with the fore-shortening, the nacelles take on the appearance of a chicken drumstick!

    I don’t mean to be critical. I love Ryan’s work over the years, but these are just my initial impressions. I hope I will warm up to the new movie, because I love Star Trek and it’s been a long time since seeing the Gene’s Universe up on the big screen!

  26. May 18, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Wow, 34 inches… Now if we could just get Quantum Mechanix to tell us what the scale of this model is (e.g., 1:350, 1:700, etc.), maybe the tempest in a teapot over the actual length of the Ryan Church Enterprise could finally be quelled!🙂

  27. 27 Logan Byrne
    May 27, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    I want to know the answer too. Alot of the fandoms are going nuts on that question, what is the “official” size of the new Enterprise. And many fans are making RPG sites and are dying to know the scale for accuracy in the story-telling. If anyone knows, email me? Thanx.

  28. 28 HM2(SW) Jeff Priela
    May 28, 2009 at 6:36 am

    I think 300 meters is more than enough for that. Ever seen 300 meters of something up close? Our ship used to be parked in between USS G.H.W. Bush and the USS T. Roosevelt and that was an intimidating sight to see. Our dinky 156 meter ship was nothing compared to these behemoths…


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

