27
Mar
09

The 45th anniversary of limpet


Don Knotts is Henry Limpet

Don Knotts is Henry Limpet

Henry close up

Henry close up

The Mighty Thrum!!!

The Mighty Thrum!!!

OH MY,,, It's Lady Fish

OH MY,,, It's Lady Fish

Some great models

Some great models

 This is wear Ghostbusters got the idea from

This is where Ghostbusters got the idea from

and Mount Fish-more

and Mount Fish-more

Tomorrow,  Saturday March 28th marks the 45th Anniversary of the Theatrical release of Warner brothers “The Incredible Henry Limpet” As a little kid I used to wait for this one to show on late night TV. KPHO the local Arizona Television station would show this one every so often on Saturday nights and it was always a treat to see. Once I even set my tape recorder by the TV speaker so I could record the whole movie,, A cheap kids way of getting a movies soundtrack back in the day. Anyways this was a childhood favorite full of everything a young boy could want, Battle ships, a shot of the YB-49 flying wing, Submarines, some cool animation and Characters, and the very funny antics of Don Knotts,,,,and I still love it today!  Before the films release back in 1964 Warner Brothers had a brilliant idea to have a gala premier for the film in Weeki Wachee State Park in Florida. Back in the day the park was owned and operated by ABC and housed an underground theater that had a wall of glass windows looking into a very large aquarium. This was home of the mermaid show where young girls dressed as mermaids would perform a beautifully choreographed underwater show. For the films premier the cast, press, film critics, an many locals came together to watch the film projected on a screen hanging in the tank where the film would be projected and viewed from the underwater windows. I saw pictures of the poor divers trying hang the canvas underwater and no matter how hard they tried to make a flat, tightly stretched screen, it looked like a giant corrugated curtain moving in an under water breeze. Those poor devils probably all got fired the next day! So with that said here are a collection of some images from the film.  Enjoy


29 Responses to “The 45th anniversary of limpet”


  1. 1 Freak
    March 27, 2009 at 4:53 am

    I never heard of this film. I have to check it out.

  2. 2 johneaves
    March 27, 2009 at 4:58 am

    It’s very dated, and great fun to see. let me know what you think after you see it.

  3. 3 Freak
    March 27, 2009 at 5:00 am

    Will do.
    It also look like something my kids will enjoy too.

  4. 4 johneaves
    March 27, 2009 at 5:09 am

    It’s a lot of fun.. it’s part musical too I forgot to mention. Depending on how you view things. Creation or evolution,,, it pushes Evolution pretty heavy in the beginning… so when recommending a movie for kids I like to know these things, so thought I would pass it on to you also.

  5. March 27, 2009 at 5:09 am

    Seen this a few times as a kid. Unfortunately it was always in the cropped up 4X3. I think I watched everything and anything with Don Knotts in it as a kid.

  6. 6 Eric
    March 27, 2009 at 5:14 am

    I loved this movie. “Das Limpets” thrum sound effect was so cool. Hope it is released on blue-ray.

    • 7 johneaves
      March 27, 2009 at 9:14 am

      That would so cool to have on blue-ray. the standard DVD is very crisp. I grabbed all of these off the DVD and did a little enhancing in Photoshop.. Mnt. Rushmore was a pan and reveal so I had to grab two frames and merge em.

  7. 8 deg
    March 27, 2009 at 5:56 am

    OMG, The Incredible Mr. Limpet and The Ghost and Mr. Chicken are two of my all-time fav films! Knotts is a genius, IMO. Kinda underrated, although he was a big studio star at this time. He was extremely kind, but terribly insecure at the same time. I read a biography of him and Andy talked about his love for him, and the kind of bittersweet career he had, as Knotts never thought he was “good enough,” and struggled with those feelings of self-perceived inadequacy his whole life.

    Oh but the prat-fall with the elevator in Chicken, I ’bout burst with laughter every time I see it. I used to wait for these film too, and used to tape-record film as well! (I’ve always bee a “movie line” quoter impressionist type of guy). I’ll have to watch this one again, as it has been years+ since I saw it.

    Oh, what a smile you put on my face this morning John, thanks!🙂

    PLL,
    deg

    • 9 johneaves
      March 27, 2009 at 11:20 am

      I had heard that too that he was very fragile about how his performances would come across and that he never felt any self satisfaction about his great talents. Very sad to hear these things about such a caring gentelman that had the gift of making others laugh.

  8. 10 Lou
    March 27, 2009 at 5:57 am

    John,

    Thanks for settling this for me!. By coincidence It’s my birthday weekend at the sunday night movie group and I am tasked with picking the movie. I’ve been struggling with my choice, but now it has to be “Das Limpet!”

    I loved this movie as a kid as part of the holy trilogy “The Incredible Mr.Limpet- the Reluctant Astronaut- the Ghost and Mr. Chicken”

    BTW John, do you think you might be coming to wonderfest again this year? I really enjoyed meeting you a couple years ago when you brought the MR Enterprise prototype

    Lou

  9. 11 johneaves
    March 27, 2009 at 6:13 am

    good choice and yes I’ll be at the fest this year and looking forward to it!!! always fun to go thru that dealer room and of coarse see the model contest!!!

  10. March 27, 2009 at 6:19 am

    Oh yeah, The Reluctant Astronaut too! I forgot about that one, thanks Lou!🙂

    LLP,
    deg

  11. March 27, 2009 at 6:33 am

    I still, to this day, expect to see Mr. Limpet on Mt. Rushmore. When we went there as kids, my dad pointed out the fact the he really wasn’t there.

    Steve

    • 14 johneaves
      March 27, 2009 at 6:40 am

      I found out about a lot of things in my young life were fake or non existent and it was always heartbreaking and you were left with feeling somewhat betrayed!!! I had this happen especially when I found out that Will Robinson wasn’t really Lost in Space!!!

  12. 15 darendoc
    March 27, 2009 at 6:49 am

    Love Limpet…

    The transformation sequence in the movie is a bit creepy and scary for a little kid… (well, it was to me, but I’m a sensitive type…)

    But always loved this movie.

    There was an attempt to re-make this movie about 15 years ago… with Jim Carey, I think… I’m kinda glad it never saw the daylight.

    John, you inspired me to get my own blog back up again… and start putting stuff on it. As of now, there are only a couple posts… and what do you know… they’re trek related… but that won’t always be the case.

    Here is my shameless plug: http://blog.darendoc.com

    cheers!

    • 16 johneaves
      March 27, 2009 at 7:03 am

      The feelings are mutual and I just saw your blog!!!! How awesome to see all the stuff and I had that gun too and your right about the dangerous part!!! I went to comment but looks like I need to sign up before I can.. i’ll do so later my friend!!

    • 17 DeanneM
      March 27, 2009 at 11:31 pm

      Thanks for sharing the D.C. picks on your blog! I also would have left a comment, but try as I might, I couldn’t find where to get set up with a user name and password.

      I did enjoy the photos, but would love to see her in person. I didn’t get to spend much time at that location of the museum, but would have definitely made it a point to get to the gift shop when I was there a few years ago if I had known! Has she been there that long?

      I spent more time at the VA location (Udvar-Hazey) and checked out the original “space” bound Enterprise – the test shuttle…along with tons of great airplanes!

      deg, how did you get signed up to leave a comment?

  13. 18 DeanneM
    March 27, 2009 at 9:01 am

    Great film! Don Knotts was truly talented!! I just die laughing when he makes that signature surprised face. Andy Griffith is a fun and fantastic actor, but his show wouldn’t have been what it was without Don playing to his straight man gig.

    That was 1964? What a great year for movies and special people being born!😉 All three of those films hold a special place for the children of the 60’s. As you said, John, Mr. Limpet has everything one could want, but not just for boys. It was all those things plus some fantasy and romance…wonderful! (then again I always had Tonka trucks and horses…not one Barbie) It was the first use of live action and animation together in a film that I saw, and it blew my young mind away.

    Lou, you’ve made an excellent choice for your movie group! Where can I sign up? It sounds like my kind of group.🙂

    • 19 johneaves
      March 27, 2009 at 9:09 am

      I was waiting to hear what you had to say about this one and i so recall you told me about all those Tonka trucks about 25 years ago.. Why yes I know someone born in 64!!!

    • 21 johneaves
      March 27, 2009 at 9:17 am

      are you turning into Lori M. R. and commenting on my gut????? Why you!!!

      • 22 DeanneM
        March 27, 2009 at 9:22 am

        If you are speaking to me, this isn’t an IM!! And I would never!!!

      • 23 DeanneM
        March 28, 2009 at 10:07 pm

        Now, now! I gave it some thought and don’t want to be lumped in with any Lori’s…be it M.R. or R.M.! I will not turn into anyone; I am happily a unique (and sometimes considered weird) individual. 😀

    • 24 johneaves
      March 27, 2009 at 9:52 am

      Thanks for all the stories and glad to see old friends as well as all the news ones here,,, great fun to relive all those childhood memories of these old shows and toys. Daren’s blog features some Star trek toys from the 60’s/70’s and boy was that a flash back!!

  14. March 27, 2009 at 10:59 am

    I have seen this film lots of times on either tv or cable. It is one of my favorite Don Knotts films. Thanks for sharing this anniversary.

  15. March 28, 2009 at 8:24 am

    I also remember watching this as a kid. It held real magic for me. I loved his “THRUUUM”!

  16. 27 Tallguy
    March 31, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    John, I didn’t know you were from Phoenix! Whereabouts? You probably watched The Wooorrrrrlllld Beyonnnndddddd on Saturday mornings at 10:30 too. Your #1 spot for Godzilla movies.

  17. April 29, 2009 at 6:16 am

    I’ve recently set up a blog for a mate of mine called Richard Dolan, quite a few years ago he did some early concept for a remake of this film which Jim Carey was going to star in, you can see the pics here

    http://richypickle.blogspot.com/2009/04/fish.html

  18. 29 Stephen Hauer
    June 4, 2009 at 11:48 am

    I am 47 yrs old, born in 1962 and this movie was one of my favorites as growing up as a kid. I have three children ranging in ages 16,14&9. My kids think this movie is funny and entertaining! In fact my 9 yr old watches it over and over again!!

    Henry Limpet: What if I told you I used to be a human being?
    Ladyfish: I don’t care how terrible your past was, Limpet.

    Stephen
    aka Das Limpet


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

