01
Apr
09

Is it really the 1st of April!!!!


2609629569_6f4679a5c7_o34

pic 1 + pic 2 + pic 3 = the galiant seabreeze  HAAAA! April fools!!!

pic 1 + pic 2 + pic 3 = the galiant seabreeze HAAAA! April fools!!!

Well I just got in and on, and it looks like my prank had a few hours of fun, HAAAA!!!! thanks for all the comments and I was laughing to myself last night when I was mixing and matching Luigi’s images together to make the very sleek and beautiful SS Sea Breeze,,, does anyone want the orthos to this one????Β  I don’t recall pulling another prank until this one,,, what is the other one that is floating around in the comments???


24 Responses to “Is it really the 1st of April!!!!”


  1. 1 the bluesman
    April 1, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    I had a feeling you were pulling our legs. But ya, know…the concept has potential.

  2. 2 Freak
    April 1, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Very funny though the Sea Breeze was a dead give away.

    When I first saw this I hated it. As I have been looking at it all day, I have come to like it and think it would make a great Federation civilian crew liner or private ship.

    • 3 johneaves
      April 1, 2009 at 2:00 pm

      I saw a bottle of Sea Breeze at the store the other night and that’s where all this began!!! What a sickening name for anything let a lone a StarShip!!! HAAAAAA!

  3. 4 DeanneM
    April 1, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    I’m SO glad you amused yourself and had a good time putting this together…just like I did with Jack Lemmon!!

    I really do like the design, like Freak said, but NOT for an Enterprise replacement!!! πŸ™‚

  4. 5 Dave C
    April 1, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Amazingly, I COULD see something like this as a JJverse U.S.S. Grissom and it wouldn’t look THAT bad.

    Just sayin’πŸ˜›

  5. April 1, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Let’s see those orthos man! Cool design, definately getting a civilian liner vibe, maybe the Astral Queen?

  6. 7 The Spirit of Truth
    April 1, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    The USS Sea Breeze looks cool…too bad it is an April Fool’s and not a cool liking background ship… By the way, is it available in a larger resolution??

    • 8 Masao
      April 1, 2009 at 7:45 pm

      Open the image in a new window, delete everything in the address after “jpg” (“?w=665&h=235”), and then reload the image. The reloaded image is 1656 x 587 pixels.

  7. 9 xfozzboute
    April 1, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    I actually kind of like it. Has a bit of a Vulcan look to it.

  8. 10 FSL
    April 1, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Love how you used the piano. There used to be a red one on permanant display in a local Yamaha dealer.

  9. April 1, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Oh my, I fell for a flying piano…πŸ˜‰ Great stuff!

  10. 12 evil_genius_180
    April 1, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    OK, now that you’ve had your fun, let’s see some orthos for this. It’s seriously got some potential and would make a cool 3D model. (I dabble in 3D)

  11. April 2, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Oh.. I fell for it didn’t I?

    But still.. it’s actually a pretty funky design for a Federation cruise ship.

  12. 14 My Name Is Scott
    April 2, 2009 at 12:38 am

    Wow… even if it is an April Fool’s joke, it’s a fantastic design. I followed a link from Trekmovie.com to here, and I’m bookmarking you for sure! I love this design… this aesthetic would be perfect for the next visual generation of Star Trek. You should use it in Star Trek XII!!

  13. 15 Lou
    April 2, 2009 at 3:09 am

    So Sorry John,
    I mistakenly attributed this to you

    http://trekmovie.com/2007/04/01/design-sketch-for-reimagined-enterprise-leaked/

    Mea Culpa

    Forgive?

    Lou

  14. 16 Jim
    April 2, 2009 at 4:26 am

    I’d like to see those orthos also.

  15. April 2, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Wait a sec John, did you Photoshop those image together, or just use them as reference to paint your own piece?

    If you used PS, you got some pretty decent retouching skills goin’ on, and I was lead retoucher for Playboy for close to ten years, so I should know.

    Good prank either way. Sea Breeze. I was like: Really? That’s what they got? Sea Breeze? That’s a friggin’ drink…

    LLP,
    deg

  16. April 2, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Well done, and a bit of bloom added to seal the deal. Nice.πŸ˜‰

    PLL,
    deg

  17. 20 Mr. Wilde
    April 2, 2009 at 8:36 am

    I totally love that style.

    THIS is actually how I’d like to see 23rd/24th century design (human design, mostly civilian, and maybe even a bit in Starfleet design). Clean, white, smooth, beautiful. Earth’s air vehicles, ships, space ships, cars (if they have any), even buildings, if they looked anything like that, it would be great.
    And that grand piano rocks! In the next 300 years, you might expect that even classic musical instruments evolve into something new.

    Who did these designs?

    Cheers,
    Rob

  18. 21 Thorsten Wieking
    April 2, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Okay, although the April prank seemed obvious to me, I should have recognized that those great shapes originated from no other than Luigi Colani himself. I even noticed the Colani truck, but didn’t bring 1 and 1 together.

    Great shipdesign, nonetheless.

    Cheers
    Thorsten

  19. 23 Matt Boardman
    April 4, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Oh, that’s too funny! Nice work John!

  20. 24 Simon
    February 27, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    I hope to the great bird of the galaxy that someone besides me has noticed how this bares a striking resemblance to the new Odyssey class cruiser (USS Enterprise, NCC-1701-F) in Star Trek Online… The sweeping, curved twin “necks” of the piano in particular are extremely similar.


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

