29
Apr
09

project announcement update


Wow Thanks everybody for sending over all your  links to some awesome work!!!  I always get these calls and usually the pool of  people I know are always busy so this might be a great way to do some groundbreaking for new talent. Once the approval start coming I’ll go thru everything again and work out how the project will go. there will be a lot of tech perimeters that will decide a lot of things and that will come from the group that is doing all the web page work.  So thanks again for the outpouring of applications and look forward to more projects to pass along.


17 Responses to “project announcement update”


  1. 1 deg
    April 29, 2009 at 5:57 am

    Sounds good John! And thanks!🙂

    LLP,
    deg

  2. 2 suricata
    April 29, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Sounds great John, I’ll admit this has been a wake up call for me, since I didn’t realise how little of my work is available online at the moment! I need to get my portfolio sorted out again, its quite dire when the only stuff I have online atm is WiP’s and old work from years ago, which sadly doesn’t really show what I’m capable of😦 So even if you end up not needing my help, It’s given me a sharp push on how I need to get my website back up again!

    It sounds exciting eitherway, more so to see some of the regular faces around here to actually get to work together on something🙂

  3. 3 ninersartanddesign
    April 29, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Hi John,
    I’m not really into 3D, but I’m a Photoshop expert and have done some digital painting before. Here’s a link to some of my planet samples. If something comes along and I can be of any help, I’d like to be considered. It’s an honor to work with brilliant artists like you.

    http://ninersartanddesign.wordpress.com/digital-painting/planets-samples/

    Thanks and keep up the good work!
    Kamen

  4. 4 deg
    April 29, 2009 at 6:33 am

    suricata,

    Indeed, presentation and polish says a lot about you as a potential hire, speaking to your your level of readiness and character. To many, it is as important as the actual quality of your work. As such, it behooves any artist to get his store in order, esp. when starting out, when it is your only way to get work via presenting yourself. Once you are established, and have industry cred and word of mouth ref, you can do it just for fun. But when starting out, good presence and presentation are essential. IMO, anywho.

    Look forward to seeing what you come up with, eh.🙂

    LLP,
    deg

    • 5 suricata
      April 29, 2009 at 7:03 am

      Yeah, I’m ex-navy and we had a saying “Bull**** baffles Brains”, I think more so in the graphics industry that this rings true, more so when the people employing you don’t always know good art when they see it but get attracted by the sparkly touches! As the good CGI people know, the devil is in the details🙂

      I did actually have a fairly decent website up and sent my portfolio to alot of buisnesses, sadly out of the 50 or so I sent out I only got 1 responce which was automated, so I kind of got disheartened and my website fell into decay. I generally do speed modeling, I’m no really up to speed with animation anymore. I’ll see what I can come up with.

      I’m glad this might not be the only project You may throw out here John, means I can get my portfolio sorted out and hel pnext time around if I’m not needed this time🙂

  5. 6 deg
    April 29, 2009 at 7:15 am

    Oooo, beauties ninersartanddesign!

    And I hear ya on the shiny bits, suricata. Look forward to seein’ your online presence back up again, eh.🙂

    And John, I beleive I will see you at Wonderfest dude. I’m drivin’ down just ta meet ya, bro! Well, and WF looks like a friggin’ blast too, eh! My bro’s comin’ with me, and maybe my wifey too, eh. I’ll see what she thinks. She may just wanna chill at home with the pups…

    LLU,
    deg

  6. 8 Fluxfire
    April 29, 2009 at 7:20 am

    If its not too late I am offered up my work on the previous announcement of the project. Thanks for looking😀

  7. 9 Matt Boardman
    April 29, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Thanks John! 🙂

    deg and Suricata – I totally agree! This kind of put into perspective that I really need to get an actual demo reel put together and improve the current presentation of my work!

  8. April 29, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Don: Hey! I think I’ll be there too! Hope to meet up with you and Mr. Eaves.

    Oh yeah Don ab-so-lute-ly, eh!🙂

    LLP,
    deg

  9. 11 Gep Malakai
    April 29, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    Hi John. Sounds exciting. It goes without saying that we wait with baited breath…

  10. 12 johneaves
    April 29, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    NO NEWS YET MY FRIENDS!!!!

  11. 13 Suricata
    April 29, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    I’ll admit my otherwise boring day at work was brightened by this project announcement, its been great checking out this blog every few hours for an update! Its a shame Doug will be stopping his blog soon, this blog and his have given me hours and hours of joy offering material I never dreamt would see the light of day, god bless the internet🙂

  12. April 29, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Not completely sure if my last message was received, but in either case, just thought I would register my interest again. You can see my work over on SFM and F3D🙂

  13. April 29, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Doug rescinded the closing of his blog, Suricata.

    LLP,
    deg

    • 16 Gep Malakai
      April 29, 2009 at 2:38 pm

      Doug will still be slowing it way down, however. Though that might not be a bad thing as there’s almost too much stuff there to keep up with!

      • 17 suricata
        April 29, 2009 at 9:50 pm

        I didn’t realise he’d rescinded the closing, thats great to hear, in all fairness, 2 updates a day was quite a treat, I think most would be happy with a blog a week, so Doug has really surpassed himself!

        Tim


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

