05
May
09

the crazy ships of Catwalk #38


 

the first versions

the first versions

 

a glimmer of a possibility of a big maybe that this might be considered but only if the moon was in line with pluto

a glimmer of a possibility of a big maybe that this might be considered but only if the moon was in line with pluto

the next two ideas

the next two ideas

 

and the last two ideas,,, the bottom right "catamaran" won the audition and got a single show contract and it's own bungalow

and the last two ideas,,, the bottom right "catamaran" won the audition and got a single show contract and it's own bungalow

wee wee, Pierre has done it again. Top view

wee wee, Pierre has done it again. Top view

 

oww-wee, et se ent twa!!!! MMMMM-WAAAA!

oww-wee, et se ent twa!!!! MMMMM-WAAAA! = where is the car wash

 en twasss eu de la amore est, jaque le blue mon cherei!!!, = would you like to go for a ride on my barge lil cutie-pie

en twasss eu de la amore est, jaque le blue mon cherei!!!, = would you like to go for a ride on my barge lil cutie-pie

where is the car wash!!

yoplet!!!!

yoplet!!!! or look at my big gun.

 

aw vweesai mwah! or front belly view

aw vweesai mwah! or front belly view

This was a fun little episode and the scheduling was a quiet so these versions got to have a little more time to be rendered out nicely. The sideways flying pick was milled over for a while but in the end the Catamaran made the finals and it was a beauty when Pierre finished his fab modeling!!! I missed this episode so I don’t recall if it had much screen time. OK off to the drawing table so have a great Tuesday fellow bloggers!

thanks Jorg!!!! screen shot 1

thanks Jorg!!!! screen shot 1

shot 2

shot 2

shot 3

shot 3

 

and shot 4

and shot 4

Thanks to the all mighty Jorg for sending over some screen grabs of this little ship next to the NX!


51 Responses to “the crazy ships of Catwalk #38”


  1. 1 Lee
    May 5, 2009 at 5:45 am

    The first two ships looks more like something from the Star Wars prequel trilogy – but I wouldn’t see any problem with them as Trek ships.

  2. 3 Simon Matthew Coles
    May 5, 2009 at 5:50 am

    Cool stuff, I especially like the rejected concepts. The producers always seemed to be dead against anything without a planar orientation, I remember Andy Probert tried to sell them on a vertical styled Romulan ship over 20 years ago but it didn’t go down so well. I’m amazed the Vulcan ships from Enterprise were approved.😛

  3. 4 Don
    May 5, 2009 at 5:53 am

    More great concepts. I really like the sideways hammerhead version. Unusual and cool.

  4. 6 Freak
    May 5, 2009 at 6:01 am

    Nice, I love the ship on the right on the first pic. make that large “shild” at the back of the ship into a solar sail and change the direction it flies in and it would make another great ship.

    I also I have not seen this episode, but it is on my list to see.😀

  5. May 5, 2009 at 6:21 am

    I love the 1st ship design very unique!!

    Is there any chance that you will do a ‘design review’ of the new enterprise? I think it’d be great to hear your take on it and what you might have done differently, if anything..that’d be KOOL!!;)

    Perry
    Animator
    http://vimeo.com/4379025

    • 9 johneaves
      May 5, 2009 at 6:52 am

      that sounds like fun I am finally seeing the movie tonight and can’t wait!!!

      • May 5, 2009 at 7:03 am

        SWEET!! Im dying with anticipation I canny take it any more! But I think we’d all love some kind of review by one of the experts in Trek design!
        To be honest I didn’t like the design much initially..but its been insidiously growing on me whilst the toy has been sitting on my desk and Im digging it now, probably more so when its seen in the context of the rest of the ‘reboot’

        Hope you enjoy the movie!!

        Perry
        Animator
        http://vimeo.com/4379025

      • 11 john eaves
        May 5, 2009 at 7:14 am

        I hated the Firefly when I first saw it but when I saw the show and watched it move I loved it,,, This will be the same with Ryan’s Enterprise,,, The “E” had a lot of bashing that seems to have fizzled away with time

      • 12 DeanneM
        May 5, 2009 at 9:51 am

        Sorry to interrupt, but Firefly is a class of ship. The name is Serenity, and as Inara put it “just Serenity” – no ‘the’ in front.

        Sorry, I’m a browncoat so I care about these things.

      • 13 johneaves
        May 5, 2009 at 9:58 am

        you should be a teacher Desert D, and by the way your a farmer!

  6. May 5, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Thanks for the cool shots again! It’s great to finally get a good view at all those starships from Enterprise.

    I really like your very first design, even though it’s ver Star Wars like. I’m glad it finally made it into an episode a year later in “Extinction” as Tret’s containment vessel. Here’s a shot of that ship:

    • 15 johneaves
      May 5, 2009 at 6:51 am

      Actually thats a different ship based on this design,,, I’ll get that one for you and I have Pierre’s models of that one too,,,, it is a weird little thing and it wasn’t a fav,,, it is different though!

  7. 17 Jonathan Burke (TrekBBS' Praetor)
    May 5, 2009 at 6:38 am

    Wow, once again all of the rejected stuff is super-awesome and not worthy of rejection.🙂

  8. 18 johneaves
    May 5, 2009 at 6:49 am

    at one time or another all the rejects would be pitched for other ships once the producers would forget about seeing them the first time. Haaa!

  9. 19 Richard Knapp
    May 5, 2009 at 7:30 am

    Wow! Those designs are beautiful. It has been a while since I’ve watched Enterprise and I had forgotten the number of diversity of ships that were created for the show. Some really fantastic work – please keep them coming!

    Yesterday’s Cardassian Ship Yard image reminded me how much I loved your designs from DS9. It would be great to see your designs for the Dominion ships – those have always been particular favorites of mine.

    Thanks again for sharing with us all – much appreciated!

    • 20 john eaves
      May 5, 2009 at 7:33 am

      thanks and your welcome!!! have to go digging the the ol shed but those are on the list to find and post!!!

  10. 21 Richard Knapp
    May 5, 2009 at 7:53 am

    That is great to hear – you are the best! Thanks again

  11. May 5, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Retelling my thoughts:
    The bad news: the first two versions didn’t make it.
    The good news: I’am now able to see them🙂 Thanks for showing them!!!

    The final ship is interesting and it has some remarkable details, but the other designs look more “independent” and unique.

  12. 24 Matt Boardman
    May 5, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Love the designs! The approved design looks like it could almost be a bladed hand weapon. It’s been a little while since I’ve seen this episode. I’ll have to check it out again. Seeing designs here on your blog and then seeing them in the episode makes the episode that much more fun!

  13. May 5, 2009 at 9:07 am

    That very top idea reminds me of the Hammerhead-class capitol ships from the Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic games (you didn’t sell your idea to Lucas Arts, did you? ;)) I love this little ship, especially those beauty shots of Pierre’s model. Too bad it didn’t get a lot of screen time and most of it was obscured by that storm.

  14. 29 DeanneM
    May 5, 2009 at 10:00 am

    I like the one that was chosen, because as always I like a ship that looks evil and like it can do damage all by itself without weapons!! I would have liked to see the first one, top right, because it looks a bit less like designs of other ships, but it’s good to see that a similar design did get used.

    At first I actually thought you were speaking French, but then I noticed..not quite so much! It still seems odd to me that you have trouble with basic Spanish, living in So Cal…

    Adios, Mi Amigo!

  15. May 5, 2009 at 10:02 am

    Hey Deanne, have you ever noticed all the Trek ships appearing in Firefly? I love that show too, by the way!🙂

    http://www.ex-astris-scientia.org/inconsistencies/curiosities2.htm (scoll down)

  16. 33 DeanneM
    May 5, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Oh wow, Jörg, that whole page is gonna be fun to go through when I have a day!! I didn’t notice these ships because I don’t recognize most of them even now, but that is super cool!!! I know mostly the federation stuff and major alien ships.

    From now on, just consider yourself thanked for every great contribution you make…my fingers are cramping from thanking you every day! 😀

    • May 5, 2009 at 10:32 am

      Blushes. Thanks for the kind words! I guess, once you start going through episodes looking for minute background detail, you start noticing stuff like that in other TV shows too, like Mike Okuda’s Milky Way map in the Doctor Who spin-off “The Sarah Jane Adventures”. Again, that’s the cool thing about Star Trek episodes. You have watched them 20 times and the 21st time, you still find something new and interesting🙂

      • 35 johneaves
        May 5, 2009 at 10:39 am

        there are so many things thrown its just about everything that it’s not even funny

      • 36 Mark A-C
        May 5, 2009 at 7:10 pm

        @ Deanne and Jorg,
        I too am a MASSIVE Firefly fan, and it is always fun to spot reused Star trek designs pop up in Firefly episodes.
        My favourite spacecraft cameo is to see Serenity flying through Caprica air-space in the Battlestar Galactica Mini Series!! Shiny!!

        That is a subtle nod to a show too short-lived.
        Mark

      • 37 DeanneM
        May 5, 2009 at 7:58 pm

        Mal – “How’d my Gorram ship end up in the middle of Caprica air space?!?! What IS Caprica air space?!”

        The primary buffer panel flips past the window. Mal – “What was that?”

  17. 38 Jonathan Burke (TrekBBS' Praetor)
    May 5, 2009 at 11:18 am

    You know, the final mesh reminds me a little of the Vaadwaur ship from VGR’s ‘Dragon’s Teeth’ with some pieces taken out. Coincidence?

  18. May 5, 2009 at 11:54 am

    The first ship made me think of Spock’s “Jellyfish” from the new movie when I first saw it!

    John, I just saw an article that listed you as one of the designers on the new movie… is this true? If so, what did you contribute? I’ve not seen anything on here from the new movie…

  19. May 5, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Well, that’s good to know! But if they’d really been smart, they would have given the Enterprise redesign to you. This was sort of like having Michaelangelo on a team to adorn a new cathedral and limiting him to some small paintings around the side windows! Ah well, new blood and all that stuff… I’m surprised that anyone that worked on previous Trek’s weren’t blacklisted from the new film.

    • 46 johneaves
      May 5, 2009 at 1:35 pm

      The rule was just that!!! no one from the old show was allowed,, i still don’t know how I got on but boy was I happy!! It was great to see Ryan get the two Fed ships, both were almost in their finished stages when I started. I had already done 2 Enterprise variations and I didn’t mind passing the torch along, It was a blast to work on the shuttles, the cycles, ship yards, props, the Kobiyashi Maru, and lots of little things as well!!!

  20. 47 Scott
    May 5, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Well, I’m glad you got to do the Enterprise E. I love that design!

    BTW, anyone told you that Hammerhead ship (at the top) looks like the Republic Vessels they used in Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic? And that Catamaran design sorta reminds me of the Kilrathi fighters in Wing Commander.

    You sure have tons of interesting designs.

  21. 48 Mark A-C
    May 5, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Well done to the “catamaran’s” agent for getting it a single episode contract.
    I hear they are in negotiations for a pilot for catamaran to have it’s own show.

  22. 49 Simon Matthew Coles
    May 5, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Very glad to hear you got to contribute to the new Trek, John. And I’m also glad to see you are one of the few former Trek design staffers who hasn’t adopted a dog-in-the-manger attitude about the project. You sir are a true gentleman.🙂

  23. May 6, 2009 at 5:03 am

    I wonder, O Kind Sir, when might we begin to see your artwork and designs from this mysterious new movie that everyone seems to be talking about?

  24. 51 Shik
    May 6, 2009 at 9:08 am

    The Takret military ship always reminded me of the Spiculum interceptor design from the old FASA Renegade Legion games.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

