20
May
09

Twilight Zone: The Movie – The Complete Score


tz 1

YAAAAH-HOOOOO,,,,, IT"S FINALLY HERE!!!!

YAAAAH-HOOOOO,,,,, IT"S FINALLY HERE!!!! http://www.filmscoremonthly.com/cds/detail.cfm?cdID=422

 

It has been about 26 years now that I have been longing for this complete score as I am sure many of you have been also. Lukas Kendall and Mike Matessino, are the hero’s that accomplished this much awaited musical project,,, They have so passionately compiled all the music composed by the Great Jerry Goldsmith for this film and have put it all on one complete disc. Jerry created some incredible themes and scores for the TZ movie and I have not stopped playing this one since I got it yesterday!!! Enchanting, brilliant, Moving and Hauntingly Beautiful, this one is a masterpiece and a must have,,, Only 3000 CD’s cut for this release so don’t wait to long to snag this one. For a quick sample of the music there is a cue or two on the website and plenty more on You tube under Twilight Zone the movie soundtrack!!! OK fellow Goldsmith collectors be sure to give me ago when you get this one and we’ll have a musical review day!!! Happy collecting.


24 Responses to “Twilight Zone: The Movie – The Complete Score”


  1. 1 deg
    May 20, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    Way-coolness, thanks for the re-con and heads-up on that, John!🙂

    LLP,
    deg

  2. 2 Matt Boardman
    May 20, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Yikes! This made me think of the scene on the plane. I’ll be on a plane in about 12 hours and I’m for sure going to be watching the wings for any creatures!

    This score was a classic one by the master himself!

    • 3 DeanneM
      May 20, 2009 at 3:03 pm

      Heading to LA already? Have a good trip! 🙂

    • 5 johneaves
      May 21, 2009 at 2:17 pm

      how was your flight??? Did you see any little demons running around on your plane

      • 6 Matt Boardman
        May 21, 2009 at 5:43 pm

        I’m not going to lie, I totally checked for them! Thankfully, we were demon free!

        Long day of traveling. I didn’t go to bed last night as I had to leave the house at 2:30 am Eastern to take a 2 hour bus ride to Detroit, flew from Detroit to Minneapolis, and then from Minneapolis to Los Angeles. I got in this morning at 11 am Pacific. Thankfully I got to sleep a bit on the plane! I don’t remember taking off from Detroit because I think I fell asleep while we taxied down the runway.

  3. 7 DeanneM
    May 20, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    Only 3000? Are they doing more soon? I guess I’ll have to raid the piggy bank quickly!!🙂

  4. May 20, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    3000 is probably just a first run to see how it sells. I’m sure they’ll make more as needed.

  5. 9 Matt Wright
    May 20, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Off topic for a minute if you’ll pardon me:

    John, ya gotta start catagorizing your posts, I just had one helluva time finding the old Klingon battle crusier designs because not only are they not catagorized, but you didn’t even title the blog entries!

    I can help you if you’d like. I just went through Doug’s blog for him and did it, and man was that quite a task since he has stuff going to Decemeber, yours only goes back to March🙂

    Oh also the recent comments widget in the sidebar is really nice too, Doug has it turned on in his blog and it’s a boon for us freqent vistors to see what actually has been commented on, etc.

    • 10 johneaves
      May 21, 2009 at 4:32 am

      YOUR HIRED!!!!!I’ll take all the help I can get with this very user unfriendly blog port,,, in other words I’m an idiot and can’t figure it out!!!!! HAAAAA!

      • 11 Matt Wright
        May 21, 2009 at 4:43 am

        Great🙂 You can e-mail me at the e-mail in my profile and/or if you’re comfortable enough using WordPress you can actually import me over from Doug’s blog into your blog as a user using the e-mail address, since you both have WordPress.com hosted blogs.

      • 12 DeanneM
        May 21, 2009 at 11:58 am

        Matt, this is a great idea! I just used the categories on drex’s, but I’m glad he also added the search field, which I’ve found to be very helpful.

  6. 13 Syd Hughes
    May 20, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Jerry Goldsmith did have a brilliant facility for putting the audience in whatever mood the movie needed us to feel. RIP, also RIP Vic Morrow.

  7. 15 Freak
    May 20, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    I don’t surposse this will be available for download?

  8. 17 ScottDS
    May 21, 2009 at 7:09 am

    evil_genius –

    Actually, many limited edition soundtracks released by FSM, Intrada, etc. are 3000 copies due to various legal issues and fees that need to be paid. I believe it’s mandated by the licensor (the movie studio). And it’s a very small market. For every Goldsmith title that sells out (like Intrada’s Baby: Secret of the Lost Legend), there are plenty of titles that sell only a few hundred.

    On the other hand, FSM released an 8-disc set of the complete Superman scores (1978-87) a couple years ago and after the initial 3000 sold out, they did a second run of 3000 more (which is when I got my copy).🙂

  9. 19 DeanneM
    May 21, 2009 at 11:25 am

    I was just looking at the site and listening to a few of the samples. I’m not typical a fan of horns, but the #8 “Young Again/Take Me With You/A New Guest” sample took my breath away! Wow!!

    I’ve had my eye on a couple of his other albums, so I’ll probably end up getting those. The music from First Knight is right up there on the list.

    • 20 johneaves
      May 21, 2009 at 11:34 am

      woooo!!! love those,,, go back and listen to weekend visit

      • 21 DeanneM
        May 21, 2009 at 11:49 am

        I like the constant backdrop of the strings (nice bass) with the horns, awesome. No, no more! I just can’t get this right noowww! Ugh, the agony!! I just remind myself that I need to concentrate on my homework and the resulting new career.🙂

  10. 22 Average Joe
    May 21, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Thanks for this John! I have many many Jerry Goldsmith soundtracks (was just listening to “The Burbs”), but only have this soundtrack on LP. Just ordered it.

    You should see my soundtrack collection. Geez.

    I met Mister Goldsmith backstage at a concert he put on in Northern Arizona. He autographed my program and we spoke for awhile. What an exciting time!

    • 23 johneaves
      May 21, 2009 at 2:14 pm

      OOOOOOOHHHHHH this one is awesome,,, Did you get that extended Burbs that Varase put out last year??? man is there ever a lot of extra music on that disc,,,, Wow You met Jerry you’ll have to share more and what was the concert you saw!!! thanks for the note

      • 24 Average Joe
        May 22, 2009 at 11:15 am

        Oh man,

        I didn’t get the extended “Burbs.” I just went to the Varese site and it’s sold out. There’s a ton of extra stuff on it too (..sits down and yelps like a chihuahua).

        Jerry Goldsmith was really cool. He told several funny stories at the concert. He told how Spielberg HATED the quirky theme to “Gremlins.” Spielberg apparently didn’t think it would work for the film, but Jerry kept sticking to his guns. After the movie came out, Spielberg called him to tell him he had changed his mind. When Jerry called Amblin from that point on, the Gremlins theme would play on the phone whenever you were put on hold.

        “Rudy” is still one of my favorite Goldsmith scores along with “First Blood” and “Hoosiers.”

        Goldsmith is the MAN! I miss him.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

