22
May
09

a few big guns from DS9 episode #516 “buisiness as usual”


this was one of those episodes that called for more than a Cardassian Suitcase, or a new dremal regenerator,, this one they needed some big new guns, for If I remeber correctly, a type of simulator firing range… What was needed for this one was a variety of major blaster designs, and a battle robot for target practice!!!!

OK then, so enjoy these pictures and everyone have great and blessed Memorial day!!!

old one's and new one's

old one's and new one's

woooo theywent with the big shoulder strap version!!! note the baby Fram oil filters on the side!!! HAAA!

woooo theywent with the big shoulder strap version!!! note the baby Fram oil filters on the side!!! HAAA!

this was the rough for the master blaster!!!

this was the rough for the master blaster!!!


15 Responses to “a few big guns from DS9 episode #516 “buisiness as usual””


  1. 1 Don
    May 22, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Hmmm. The pictures seem to have not arrived, John.

    • 2 Don
      May 22, 2009 at 9:44 am

      Hey, there they are! Very cool. Sorry to say I don’t remember the episode.

      To everyone (and especially you, John) have a great holiday weekend if you’re from the states.

  2. 3 MikeZ
    May 22, 2009 at 8:47 am

    Awesome!
    That last one looks so awesome it could probably hold its own against a ‘Hunter Killer’ from the old Terminator movies.πŸ˜€

  3. 4 Richard Knapp
    May 22, 2009 at 8:48 am

    The detail on the “battle robot” is amazing. All of these DS9 designs have been great. I’m really looking forward to seeing more of your Dominion designs – especially the other Jem’ Hadar battle and warships.

    Thanks again and I hope you and the family have a happy and safe Memorial Day weekend.

  4. May 22, 2009 at 9:00 am

    Great looking blasters from the good old and favorite of mine DS9!
    John, how do these designs come up to you, and the Breen ship was magnificent when it first appeared on TV.

  5. May 22, 2009 at 9:10 am

    That master blaster ROCKS!!!!!

  6. 7 DeanneM
    May 22, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Weapons! I’m not a hunter or a killer, but I do like firearms. I’m partial to the look of the one on the bottom left, but the bottom right looks *very* interesting. I wish I could read the names, but they’re too fuzzy when I open it bigger.

    I had a very nice lever action shotgun that I’ll always be partial too, but divorce can be a cruel thing. Now that was a fun weapon (I live in AZ, guns are normal).

    The battle robot is great in it’s details and weapon designs and I’m sure that’s a lot better practice and more fun than a regular target. πŸ™‚

    I know this is the future, but it would have been nice if there was something resembling a bow and arrow…don’t know how that would work, though. I’m just an archery fan. Firefly managed to give Inara a *very* cool bow setup in Serenity, but it was very hard to get a look at it, even stopping the frame.

  7. May 22, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Wow, I’ve really gotta watch my DS9 DVDs again. I’m drawing a blank trying to remember this episode and that doesn’t happen to me very often.

    I love the designs. Ever since I first sat “First Contact” in theaters, I’ve thought your cool Federation pulse phaser rifles were the best ST phaser rifles. I never really liked the Federation phaser rifles before those but they’re sweet. I love the heavy blaster design and the robot-looking thing. πŸ˜€

  8. 9 Matt Boardman
    May 22, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Haha! This was a great episode! I didn’t know that you were the genius behind the weapon designs! I always thought the were so creative and some of them looked just downright nasty!

    Evil – this was the episode where Quark’s cousin Gala brings him into the arms dealing business so they can take advantage of the holosuites to sell the weapons. I forget the name of the man that they both work for. Eventually, they get a client who is the governor of a planet that wants to wipe out an entire race of people on his planet. In the end, Quark’s conscience the best of him (probably from living among the hew-mons too long ;)) and he sets up a sting that gets sends his cousin and their employer on the run from this particular governor.

  9. 10 Scott
    May 22, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Never realized they had anti-grav systems. Boy, I bet our boys out on the field would love something like that to help out with their heavy loads.

    But you know, I noticed there is one thing the Federation should’ve had. A Gattling Gun! πŸ˜€

  10. May 22, 2009 at 11:58 am

    I’m never, ever going to get round to doing a page for my website (www.phasers.net) on the various alien weapons in “BaU,” but all the same this post has made my day. Thanks John!

  11. 12 Freak
    May 22, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    That was the episode with Iggy Pop? Or I am I thinking of another one?

    John these look great, I think that staped heavy blaster, looks much better than worlfs Baszooka from Insurertion.

  12. 13 FSL
    May 24, 2009 at 12:19 am

    Were these ever reused again in other episodes?

  13. May 25, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    I always wondered what that scary drone really looked like. Great to see the sketch and pick out all the little details.πŸ™‚

  14. 15 Rusty
    May 27, 2009 at 5:50 am

    I’ve got a resin copy of the Breen rifles that later became the TR116, great to see a drawing of it.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

