22
May
09

Jerry Goldsmith and the 30th Anniversary of Alien


Here is a quick page and link to get yourself a copy of the double disc-complete masterpiece score to Alien!!! I got this one several years ago and listen to it quite often,, Brilliant work here by Mr. Goldsmith,,,,, Jerry ‘s talents resound mightily with this horrifying composition!!!  

http://www.screenarchives.com/title_detail.cfm?ID=8251

 

a portrait of Jerry

a portrait of Jerry

 

 

 

 here is where to shopping!!!

here is where to shopping!!!


13 Responses to “Jerry Goldsmith and the 30th Anniversary of Alien”


  1. May 22, 2009 at 7:05 am

    That film so freaked me out when I first saw it, I’ve yet to convince my girlfriend to even watch it, she doesn’t handle horror movies very well at all, hell, she gets scared by columbo sometimes!

    Think I know what movie I’ll be watching later tonight now🙂

  2. May 22, 2009 at 7:23 am

    I got this recently after having the crappy single LP version forever, this one is an absolutely MUST!!!
    Did you get the Capricorn One OST thats one I sadly missed but would love to get!

    Perry
    Animator-http://www.vimeo.com/4648516
    wildone_106@yahoo.com

  3. May 22, 2009 at 7:26 am

    oh also I never saw Alien at the Theatre my mum wouldn’t let me, even when it came out on VHS! But I borrowed a copy from my friend and snuck downstairs at like 2am to watch it with the sound down LOL

    • 4 DeanneM
      May 22, 2009 at 9:01 am

      Perry, it would have been a good thing if my Mom had known I was seeing it and said no! When I was very little Willie Wonka gave me nightmares! 🙂

      I take it you liked it, even watching by yourself at 2 o’clock at night? In the dark? You didn’t scream even once and wake everyone up?

      • May 22, 2009 at 9:09 am

        I think watching it like that made it even more scary, with the thought of getting caught heh but of course I liked it then, and love it even more to this day for its artistry. I was reading Ridley may still do another film in the Alien universe and I have mixed feelings about it..but if anyone should do it then let it be him! He’s had quite a few ‘miss’s’ with his movies lately but I still think the genius is in there..just for the right project.

        Perry
        Animator-http://www.vimeo.com/4648516
        wildone_106@yahoo.com

  4. 6 Freak
    May 22, 2009 at 7:59 am

    ^ My dad actually allowed me to sit and watch this when I was 8. But at that age everything is more intents and just plain scarier. It was not untill my mid teens that I final manage to watch the whole film from start to finished. LOL

  5. 7 Simon Matthew Coles
    May 22, 2009 at 8:02 am

    What a masterpiece this movie is. This is the one and only Alien movie as far as I’m concerned – they can keep the others.

  6. 8 DeanneM
    May 22, 2009 at 9:04 am

    When I watch this, I’ll pay more attention to the score. I believe Jerry’s music was complicite in helping me lose my nerve the first time I saw it. His scores are ingenious and lend SO much to the emotions experienced during a film.

  7. May 22, 2009 at 9:13 am

    I’ve gotta get a copy of that soundtrack. In fact, I need to get that and some of Jerry’s other music. 🙂

  8. 11 Matt Boardman
    May 22, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Gads…has it really been that long? Alien and I were born in the same year and month!

    This score was so great! It really helped set the mood of the movie. I’ve always been a firm believer that the score of a movie is an actor in it of itself because the right score, as was the case in this movie, can really make a movie phenomenal!

  9. 12 Average Joe
    May 22, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Amazing soundtrack & movie.

    I wonder what the soundtrack would’ve been like if he had done “Aliens’ instead of James Horner. As an aside, I read that Goldsmith and Horner didn’t get along.

  10. 13 Lloyd Collins
    May 22, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    I bought the CDs last year. I had to have it! I have been a fan of Jerry’s music before Alien came out.

    When the movie came out, I was a teenager, and saw it Maxwell AFB, Montgomery,AL. I liked it so much,I went back and saw it second time.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

