01
Jun
09

I have a Myspace page and forgot about it!!! plus list your requests.


I made this page ages ago and forgot about it, here’s the link if you want to come over and hook up. Lots of images there so feel free to come and browse!!!  Also There have been many requests for things and I can’t find them all so as Doug did here is a post to list all the requests and wish list things in one place,,,This way  my old mind can go to one place and then best fill the the posts with the things you want to see and read about.  Thanks all and Happy Monday!!!

http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=user.viewprofile&friendid=265568022


47 Responses to “I have a Myspace page and forgot about it!!! plus list your requests.”


  1. 1 the bluesman
    June 1, 2009 at 6:58 am

    John

    Well that’s cool. I just checked it out.

    Our music tastes are pretty common!

    I love Johnny Cash. Blondie and the Rat Pack!

    I don’t have any request for posting because eveythign on here is very cool and inspiring.

    (unless you want to put up the Bluesman psoter we gave ya, ha ha)

  2. June 1, 2009 at 7:04 am

    Checked out your myspace page and sent the link to my son, Shaun. He likes to network there…I really wish he had a blog to showcase some of his work instead, but whatever!

    • 4 johneaves
      June 1, 2009 at 11:06 am

      I forgot about it actually,, I set it up as a temporary website and it was a huge hassle for employers to get on, so quietly it has set..

  3. 5 Freak
    June 1, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Oww your asking for Trobule with that. LOL

    I love to see the changes you made the to the ENT-E from Frist Contact up to Nemesis, and the story behind, why those changes where made.

  4. 7 DeanneM
    June 1, 2009 at 7:24 am

    I hadn’t looked at your MySpace page for a while. Well, it looks like you’ve added some more art and you’re online now, so I’ll have to check back some more.🙂

    Scimitar. That’s all I’ve gotta say.

  5. 9 Matt Wright
    June 1, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Your MySpace page says you’re in So. Cal. though aren’t you in Pheonix these days?

  6. June 1, 2009 at 7:53 am

    Requests, hmm, let me see….🙂

    Firstly the non-Trek stuff

    Anything from classics like the Hunt for Red October, Innerspace, Robocop or Spaceballs (You were a model maker on these right?)
    Anything form Ironman 2 (That you are allowed to show)
    More projects for the community to help you with!

    And from the Trek stuff

    Norway class starship (I know Alex Jeagar made it originally, but if anyone has the contatcs it you!)
    Anything from the new movie, I’ll bet there was some pretty cool concepts dreamt up for it.
    Any unfinished concepts you did for races like the Romulans or Klingons that got dropped for whatever reasons.
    Perhaps a walk though of how you go about making a concept, including the rough doodles, the construction lines, what types of pens you use and the like, something to inspire us budding artists.
    Any general design guidelines you have on ships for Trek, like what colours for what races, design aesthetics for different races and the like, basically, how do you go about designing a ship so it looks for example Starfleet.
    Any photos you have of studio models from the show (Great referance material!)

    Other than those, anything you feel like posting, it’s always a pleasure to read new articles here and over at Dougs site🙂

    Tim ‘Suricata’ Davies

  7. 13 Jonathan Burke
    June 1, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Hey, I wanna be your friend! :p

  8. June 1, 2009 at 8:55 am

    It’s times like these I wish Facebook and MySpace would get their act together and become compatible!🙂

    If you’re able to add the Klingon D5, the mysterious Sarajevo from Enterprise, and any more images of the Romulan Valdore to the list I’d be very grateful.

    Cheers!

  9. June 1, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Oooh, requests!🙂 Some info about the DS9 opening credits redesign for Season 4 would be cool. There’s this one new ship that appears in the credits and we’ve never seen it up close, for example.

  10. 20 James_M
    June 1, 2009 at 9:06 am

    I think my wife would leave me if I join another social networking site. And I’ve only done Face Book! But, thanks for the link and ivitation to browse. I think I’ve seen more than I can even process here, but just in case…

  11. 22 bender23
    June 1, 2009 at 9:11 am

    John –

    Just checked out your MySpace site and I even joined to do it. You may become one of my first friends there. Looks pretty cool. Will have to dig further when I get more time.

    Regarding requests but before I begin – a big thank you. I hope you know what you are asking!

    I will start out lite:

    One of my absolute favorite Star Trek ships (and that is saying something because I like most of them a LOT) is the Nemesis Enterprise-E. Would you be able to provide high-rez orthos of it? I echo the sentiments above for more images and such of the Scimitar and the Valdore.

    Might you have any official, Ryan Church/studio-sanctioned, high-rez othos of the NuEnterprise from the recent movie you could share? That ship is growing on me the more I see it. (BTW, as an aside for anyone who might be reading this – if you have not already done so be sure to see this movie on Imax! Well worth the extra $$!!).

    Thanks, John. Very much appreciated!

  12. 24 James_M
    June 1, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Oh, and please more pics of the Valdore. And I thought you mentioned that you would post some more cg of the sona fighter. I think I’ve looked at your designs at least twice a day since you posted it. I think it is a really elegant design and if you don’t mind, I’d to have a cg go at it.

  13. 26 Richard Knapp
    June 1, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Request list, here you go:

    Dominion/Jem Hadar ship designs – anything you have on the battleship, battlercruiser, and other types, whether they made it to onscreen on not. There was some neat stuff on the DS9 DVD John Eaves sketchbooks and the DS9 Companion. The Dominion ships, in all their flavors, have such a beautiful and consistent design aesthetic.

    Xindi ships – lots of neat variety there
    Andorian ships

    Thanks as always John – much appreciated!!!

  14. 28 MikeZ
    June 1, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Ouch. You remember how Doug´s attempt went?😉 But anyway for even considering it.

    Stuff I´d be hoping for is from your early days on Trek (e.g., Doug once mentioned that the Ferengi shuttle was one of your contributions), your earlier concepts for the Enterprise-E (e.g., when the Bussard collectors were bigger or the Galaxy roots much stronger), the Amargosa Observatory (the main reason why I bought the Movie sketchbook).
    Other extremely interesting things would of course be the design that didn´t make it onto the screen but you still consider intriguing, designs from the Perpetual days of the online game and your non-Trek work (seaQuest, Alien³, Ghosts Of Mars, …).

    • 29 johneaves
      June 1, 2009 at 11:16 am

      i do and loved the list idea,, nice to know what folks want to see,,, I made a request or two on Doug’s list too!

  15. 30 Barrie Suddery
    June 1, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Saw your MySpace page and loved the pics of the F-117 stealth and the Blackbird; two of my all time favourite aeroplanes! Can’t believe the USAF decommissioned them!

    You’d think when hunting terrorists like bin Laden, you’d need a mobile photo taker like the Blackbird would be kept in service as satellite imagery can’t keep track of groups as mobile as al-qaida.

    Requests: Maquis ships please. It’s the rebel in me!

    All the best for the future.

    P.S. Forgive me if this is inappropriate, but I was wondering how Carlene is doing?

    • 31 johneaves
      June 1, 2009 at 11:19 am

      Carlene is in the hospital today getting a pet scan as we speak!! She’ll have results tomorrow so I was going to post those when we got em,,, thanks for asking and your one day early on the update.

  16. 32 Triton
    June 1, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Hello John,

    Thank you very much for your wonderful blog site.🙂 It’s very nice that you are sharing this fantastic art with fans! For requests, I would like to see more of the “Star Trek: Online” ships you designed. Particularly, USS “Excalibur” and USS “Archer” (That I understand was given the name Tahoe-class). Plus any other interesting starship designs from the “Star Trek: Online” project you can share.

    I would also be interested in starship designs that you created “Star Trek: First Contact”. Are there any drawings of “Endeavour”?

    In addition, I would like to see some bridge designs. Anything that you might have from “Solar Crisis”, “Terminator 2: Judgment Day”, and “RoboCop 2.” Plus, I hope that you will post things that we fans are not aware of and you think is really cool and want to share. I would also be interested in hearing any interesting anecdotes that you might be willing to share.

    Thanks again,

    Triton

  17. June 1, 2009 at 10:13 am

    I’d like to add my vote for Ships from First contact.

  18. 36 Seumas
    June 1, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    I would add my vote for a First Contact set!

    But I really, really love concept sketches. So I would quite like a “Rough Scribbles Day” (Or week, or month, or year…).

    Jumpin’ with glee:

    Seumas…

  19. 37 Scott
    June 1, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    I’m hoping for those background ships that we never really get a good shot of, if you got them. Also more concept art is good. I love your NX-01 concept.

    BTW John, this just came up in the STO forum. Any idea where the deflectors are on the Miranda and Centaur?😉

  20. 38 the bluesman
    June 1, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    John and y’all

    First let’s be praying for Carlene as that is more important.

    As I mentioned…I don’t care what gets posted…I love seeing you art, trek or not, the Martin Bower Stuff was too cool, the Jerry Goldmsith and Ronn Cobb stuff was great and Aprils profile was da bomb.

    And today…the Bob Peak Trek III poster…that is an awesome piece of Illustration and art.

    So thanks for even doing this!

  21. June 1, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    lol, well they’re on the list already now, but I’d been wondering about the FC ships and particularly the Endeavour. From what I remember the Sketchbook says that the rough drawing in there is pretty much as far as it went before the Defiant was chosen to be in the movie instead. Just wondered if there was any more story or sketches involved. Having the Defiant be the ship that the Enterprise rescued made perfect sense, but I wouldn’t have said no to a new hero ship design either.🙂

    • 42 johneaves
      June 2, 2009 at 4:51 am

      There are more sketches so I’ll dig them out,, Having the defiant was perfect because it created the story Bridge to get Worf on board!

      • June 2, 2009 at 7:15 am

        Coolies!!😀 And I agree about this way of getting Worf in the movie, made way more sense than in the later movies when he was “just passing through the system” or something!

  22. June 4, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Just one request. The Bandai NX-01 box came with some art showing other designs for Archer’s Enterprise. Could you show them here?

    Also, I understand from an old CINEFX article that the early sketches for the PROTECTOR looked too much like the Enterprise.

    Could you track down some of those designs for us please?

  23. 45 Mark Delgado
    June 4, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    Jeff Wright: I believe this is what you’re looking for:

    http://www.box.net/shared/gypra4v8lk

    Hey John, I have few questions/requests…

    1. Over at Drexfiles, there was an entry about the Enterprise-B for “Star Trek: Generations.” In it, Mike Okuda stated that they were going to build a new model for the Ent-B, but you had the idea to make modifications to the Excelsior model, which they did. Do you know what the original design was supposed to look like? Any concept art?

    2. At the eBay auction, a piece of concept art sold with two designs for the U.S.S. Lakota from DS9 that you drew. One looked like the Enterprise-D only with a third nacelle, and the other one looked like a Nebula class, but with no engineering hull and a flatter pod attached directly to the top of the saucer. The pic was really small…do you have a larger one? Do you even know what I’m talking about?🙂

    …patiently waiting for pics of the Sarajevo,

    Mark🙂

  24. 46 Rich Knapp
    June 19, 2009 at 4:21 am

    Hi John:
    I spent a few hours trying to snag a couple of images off of the DS9 DVDs. Finally had to use my daughter’s digital camera to get them! How bad is that?

    Check out these two beauties:

    If you have them, it would be great to see some images of these two bad boys. It would be neat to hear the story behind them as well.

    Thanks buddy!

  25. 47 Jamie Thomas
    August 31, 2009 at 1:45 am

    Hi John, I’m loving this blog, I have spent hours and hours pouring over the detail and beautiful images.
    I have a couple of requests.

    1. Do you have any pictures of the Maurauder Mo action figures from DS9 Season 5 episode “Ferengi Love Songs”. There is a nice concept artwork picture in the brilliantly detailed DS9 Companion, just wondering if you have any photos of the props?

    2. I love the books in Star Trek, and DS9 had some fantastic books, the main book I would love to see some pictures of is the Ferengi Rules of Acquisition prop, along with any of the internal pages. Another great book, and iconic to Season 7 is the text of the Khostamojan (excuse spelling if its not accurate). Again the DS9 Companion book has a picture of one of the pages. Anymore detail and pictures/photos you could provide would be excellent.

    Keep up the good work.
    Jamie


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

