08
Jun
09

the DS9 Crew Christmas card Season 4


FOLLOWING IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF ILLUSTRATOR EXTRAORDINAR, JIM MARTIN, comes this little Christmas card of the the art department. Jim Martin had started this tradition for the art department during his run as conceptual designer on the show and it only seemed fit to carry on the fun. Here is the crew packaged as Micro Machines. Herman Zimmerman had just days before made a hanus comment to me. he was standing behind me looking at what I was working on and out of nowhere he say’s,,,”Looks like your loosing your hair too” WHAT!!!!! So with those evil words that echoed across the lot and deep inside my head, Herman set his fate to always be the shortest guy on the Christmas card!!! HAAAA! fun times

 

DS9 Christmas card 12-95

DS9 Christmas card 12-95 top row, r2l: Anthony Fredrickson, myself, Jim Vanover, Ron Wilkinson, and Anthony Bro, bottom row: Doud Drexler, Randy Mcllvain, Herman Zimmerman, Fritz Zimmerman, Laura Richarz, and Mike and denise Okuda.


29 Responses to “the DS9 Crew Christmas card Season 4”


  1. 1 deg
    June 8, 2009 at 5:57 am

    HA!, too fun!🙂

  2. June 8, 2009 at 5:59 am

    Combining two great things, Micro Machines (I loved them!!) and the art department! I like how you drew the Okudas and it’s cool that I’m able to pick out who some of the others are that I never would have before you and Doug started your blogs.🙂

  3. 3 Freak
    June 8, 2009 at 6:52 am

    HAHA yeah the Okudas look great, I love what you did with Doug.

    But alas I don’t reconise anyone else. *hangs head in shame*
    Could you point everyone else out, thanks

  4. June 8, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Ha! That’s pretty damn cool. I loved Micro Machines back in the day, especially the Star Trek and Star Wars ones. And I like how you exacted your revenge on Herman Zimmerman. Hy hairline has been receding for a few years, but fortunately people who know me know better than to point it out. (that’s just rude) 😉

  5. 5 Jonathan Burke
    June 8, 2009 at 8:08 am

    Oh, that is all kinds of awesome.🙂

  6. 8 DeanneM
    June 8, 2009 at 8:59 am

    HA!! A fun project for you! Ya sure gave Doug the star treatment, wow! He must not have *ever* mentioned the hairline. Lots of fun looking weapons, too.😀

  7. 9 johneaves
    June 8, 2009 at 9:27 am

    if you can read the text on Doug’s extended finger it say’s “pull”

  8. June 8, 2009 at 10:05 am

    AHaha, perfect, and Beaky on his shoulder boot!

    LLP,
    deg

  9. June 8, 2009 at 10:09 am

    As to hair, I don’t know, the one pic I saw with ya full-dome (in front of the warp-plane was it…), you pull off that look swell, IMO. Some guys, not so much, but you, you gots no no worries with it, eh.

    LLP,
    deg

  10. June 8, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Oops, that should read: …and Beaky on his shoulder TO boot!

    Hey where’s my next ship detail? I’m ’bout done with ship 4 today, eh. And planets, planets are good.🙂

    deg

  11. June 8, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Thank you kind sir.🙂 Did you see #4, with its modeling phase done. That’s my fav to date, eh.🙂

    Paintin’ it as we speak…

    No, I’m just the model-monkey, eh. You’re the genius, you young fertile minded (as Doug called ya) concept genius you.😉

    I really added quite a bit to #4, hope ya like it. I wanted a gravimetric-based support system for the ring, so I conceived a gravimetric “emitter tower” running down in the center of the arms. Like I said, I hope you approve, eh.

    • 15 johneaves
      June 8, 2009 at 11:27 am

      i wrote #3 but I meant #4,, that ship is brilliantly done and so love all the intricacies and all the techno-degnobabble you created throughout. such an awesome piece and with every model you do the latest becomes my favorite!!! To bad ol Deanne can’t see these huh!! one day her clearance badge will be approved but to do so she needs to submit a current photo of herself.

      J

      • 16 DeanneM
        June 8, 2009 at 1:01 pm

        Maybe when I get a certain box (ahem). Oh, I know, I’m getting a passport photo taken…those are always good.

  12. June 8, 2009 at 11:49 am

    That’s to funny, Mike and Denise stand out a mile off🙂

    • 18 johneaves
      June 8, 2009 at 11:54 am

      who would have known that putting Mike in that Nasa space suit would come full circle with the NASA award he just received 14 years later!!!

  13. 19 Buckaroohawk
    June 8, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Mr. Eaves,

    This is totally off the topic of this entry, but a thought just struck me, and since you’ve been asking for suggestions of what we’d like to see here I just have to put in this request.

    Just about every Star Trek fan with any artistic ability has done their own version of the TOS Enterprise, tweaking and updating the design. Some remained very true to the original shapes with just a few new details (like deg, for instance) while others have come up with more radical re-workings (such as the Ryan Church version in the new movie). I would love to see your version of that great old ship.

    So, imagine that Star Trek is just going into production for the first time and you are charged with designing the USS Enterprise. What would she look like?

  14. 20 johneaves
    June 8, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    i do have one somewhere,,, I’ll dig it out for you!! we should have a day called my take on the tos enterprise,,,, Later I’ll put up an announcement and then when they all come in we’ll have a big posting!!! Thanks for the great idea!!! you win a steak dinner with all the trimmings!!

    • 21 Buckaroohawk
      June 8, 2009 at 6:02 pm

      I am definitely up for this! I’ve had an idea on a TOS redesign for a while, and this is a good excuse to start work on it in earnest.

      One question though, when the time comes for submitting images, how do we get them to you?

  15. 22 johneaves
    June 8, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    My take as in everyone’s take who has drawn or built a version of the TOS. More Clarification from the above

  16. June 8, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    AHahaha, techno-degnobabble, you crack me up my friend! Glad you likey, eh!

    Yea, TOS E day, a fine idea! But I’m totally bias, or course.🙂

    LLP,
    deg

  17. 27 Matt Boardman
    June 8, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    Ha! This looks like so much fun! It’s nice to know that for all the hard work you guys did to put these shows together, you had some fun during the process!

  18. 28 Beta Capricus
    June 9, 2009 at 4:10 am

    WTH?? Just; what…the…hell…
    Though Denise & Mike look cute

  19. June 11, 2009 at 4:36 am

    Seeing as though Laura is shown looking hot in your cards, I suspect she’s the same in real life…hubba hubba.🙂


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

