18
Jun
09

Paul Lynde


This is for Lt. Washburn,

Here are some fun shot’s of a real classic comedian, Movie and Television star, and a real gentleman! Paul Lynde appeared in almost every show I grew up watching… He was in, The Munsters, F Troop, Bewitched, The Glass Bottom Boat, all those crazy beach blanket movies and on and on, He was always so much fun to see in that center square on “Hollywood Squares” and always had everyone on the show rolling with laughter.  Mr. Lynde was one of the best and dearly missed.  Here is the link to an awesome website dedicate to the one and only Paul Lynde.  Read on for more photos of the man and his many roles!

Mr. center square himself

Mr. "Center Square" himself

http://www.paullynde.info

Paul as Herman's regular Doctor on the series

Paul as Edward Howard Dudley, M.D. The blind-as-a-bat without his glasses family doctor on The Munsters

 

 

Paul with Ginger, Tina Louise

Paul with Ginger, Tina Louise

 

with Marlo Thomas from "That Girl"

with Marlo Thomas from "That Girl"

"F" Troop!!!

"F" Troop!!!

 

Singing with Jerry Lewis,,, who sang worst I wonder!!!

Singing with Jerry Lewis — I wonder who sang worse??

from the beloved Bewitched show

As Uncle Arthur from the beloved show Bewitched


30 Responses to “Paul Lynde”


  1. 1 Matt Wright
    June 18, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Ya gotta love Paul Lynde, he’s a hoot! Of course behind the scenes he was a tourtured dude😦

  2. 2 the bluesman
    June 18, 2009 at 9:51 am

    John

    Paul Lynde was great! One of the funniest sketches I;ve seen him do was when whe was a DMV inspector and Dean Martin was trying toget his liscense (with a sctch in hand, of course)

    We old over 40 guys appreciate the clssics don’t we?

  3. 4 deg
    June 18, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Yeah, Paul Lynde was a hoot, no-bout-a-doubt it, in everthing he did. There was a reason he was the CENTER square for so many many years on HS, eh. Just his laugh alone was a hoot.😀

    I like Bernard Fox, who played Dr. Bombay, too.

    Calling Dr. Bombay, calling Dr. Bombay. Emergency! Come right away!

    That show was such fun, all of it.

    Remember Sam’s raven-haired (bad-girl) cousin, Serena, I think that was her name (played by Montgomery in a black wig). That was for the guys out there who like bad-girls and brunettes over blonds. Best of best worlds, eh. Jeannie did it too, with Eden in a black wig as well, as her (bad-girl) sister. Can’t recall her name, I think it was Jeannie, as well, eh.

    LLP,
    deg

  4. June 18, 2009 at 10:23 am

    If you watch “American Dad”, the alien sounds just like paul lynde.

  5. June 18, 2009 at 10:51 am

    He was brilliant!

    I recently ran across the following site that is full of links to quotes from the Hollywood Squares. This one, specifically Paul Lynde’s quotes, had me gasping:

    http://www.classicsquares.com/lyndesquares.html

  6. June 18, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    That’s funny. I was just thinking about F-Troop the day and thinking if it was on DVD or not. He was great, it’s a shame there’s no one like him anymore.

  7. 16 DeanneM
    June 18, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    When I was a wee child, F Troop was the bomb! Of course, I didn’t put it that way at the time! Paul Lynde in a war bonnet and cracking stupid joke…I’ll remember forever!! Ya know, maybe Ken Berry was my first crush, if you could even call it that. I really like him. 🙂

    Chris, thanks for the link. I read through some of ’em and one of my favorites that I remembered was in there about whales being trained to retrieve objects a mile deep. Paul’s reply, “At first they tried unsuccessfully with Cocker Spaniels….” I didn’t remember most of the cruder ones, but that’s just who I am. 🙂

  8. 18 DeanneM
    June 18, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Oh, and I just realized that he was in the Glass Bottom Boat with the wonderful Doris Day.😉

  9. June 18, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    If you’re a Lynde aficionado, seek out [i]The Paul Lynde Halloween Special[/i]. “Camp” doesn’t begin to describe it. The [i]Halloween Special[/i] was broadcast only once on ABC back in 1976, but two years ago it was released on DVD:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Paul_Lynde_Halloween_Special

  10. June 18, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Oh yeah, that’s right JoeRalat. He does sound like him, LOL.🙂

    Scott, use the arrow characters for formatting on WordPress, instead of brackets, eh.

    Love to see the special, eh.

    LLP,
    deg

  11. 21 Jonathan Burke
    June 18, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Paul Lynde was awesome!!

    Ever see the Paul Lynde Halloween Special? It had KISS, and Florence Henderson!😀

    • 22 Jay
      June 21, 2009 at 10:16 pm

      We rented that from Netflix last Halloween and watched it, jaws agape. We had both forgotten that network television was ever that bad (and thus in hindsight so-bad-its-good). Poor Margaret Hamilton, at her age, having to sing along to seemingly endless choruses of “Disco Baby”. Oy gevalt!

      • 23 Jay
        June 21, 2009 at 10:17 pm

        And I should add, there’s apparently a Paul Lynde Christmas Special from the same period that isn’t on DVD, and we would loooooooove to watch that.🙂

  12. 24 James Shirley Jr
    June 18, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    What about Templeton the rat in Charlotte’s Web? That was another classic performance of his.

    JWSJr.

  13. 25 Lt. Washburn
    June 18, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Ha! Thanks man. You know, I recently saw Bye Bye Birdie for the first time recently. He was great in that.

  14. 26 DeanneM
    June 18, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Hey, am I totally losing it (I have been having mental issues all day!), or did Paul Lynde not have do a part on F Troop where he was an Indian like I mentioned above? I know he did the mountie thing, but I was so sure that I remembered him as an Indian.

    I just can’t find evidence to that effect. Oh man, I think I’m losing my mind!

  15. 27 the bluesman
    June 20, 2009 at 11:12 am

    John

    Seeing thse pics of ELizabeth Montogmoery and Tina Louise means you’ll have to do a blog post on them too, ya know!

    And throw in some Barbra Eden too!

    Ha ha.

  16. 29 kccad
    October 18, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    No DeanneM, you are not losing it, in fact, you have a great memory. Paul played Chief Nervous Elk in the 1979 movie “The Villain”.

    • 30 DeanneM
      October 19, 2009 at 8:06 pm

      Oh man, I forgot about that movie! I just put it into my Netflix cue!! 🙂

      An unusual role for Arnold in that movie, too. I’d mentioned it to my daughter a while back, so now I’ll make her watch it with me. 😀


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

