23
Jun
09

Ed McMahon passes at 86


A true Hollywood legend passed away today at the age of 86.  Ed will always be known as the original and #1 sidekick, working on the Tonight Show with Johnny Carson from the 1960’s until 1992 when Johnny retired. Always a gentleman and quick with a comeback, Ed had the most contagious laugh that you couldn’t help but laugh with him once he got going.  He will be best known for his line: HEEEEERE’S Johnny!!!!   Copied by many announcers over the years but was so perfectly mimicked best by Jack Nicholson in “The Shining.”

We will miss you Ed.  Thanks for all the fun memories growing up in front of the tube!

A great shot of Mr. McMahon

A great shot of Mr. McMahon

Ed N Johnny
Ed N Johnny

 

Ed in a beer ad

Ed in a beer ad

 

here he is in the 50's

here he is in the 50's

 

Jack's "Heeeere's johnny" from the Shining!!

Jack's "Heeeere's Johnny" from the Shining!!


5 Responses to “Ed McMahon passes at 86”


  1. 1 DeanneM
    June 23, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    I saw the story this morning and just couldn’t believe it!! I used to watch him on the tonight show from under the crack in my bedroom door. I was maybe six years old, and my Mom would watch the Tonight Show unaware that I was laying there with my head pressed to the floor and one eye on the TV.🙂

    My second thought was for Pat McMahon and his loss today. Pat has of course been with us all of our lives on Phoenix television and radio (and still is!), first with Wallace and Ladmo. My sincere regrets and sympathy go out to Pat and all of Ed’s family.

    Can’t get much higher praise that Jack Nicholson immortalizing you in a major film…it’s gotta make Ed smile!!

  2. 2 Big Bill Cox
    June 23, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    I was saddened to hear of Ed’s passing today. I think back to when I was a kid and I used to sneak downstairs and watch the Tonight Show way past my bedtime. I always thought that Ed McMahon was a class act and regret that I never got the opportunity to meet him in person. Goodbye, Ed. We will miss you forever.

  3. June 23, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    It’s a shame. He always seemed like such a nice, big-hearted guy. I understand everyone who knew him personally liked him and that’s saying a lot. Does anybody know how he died? I didn’t get to watch much news today but I did catch that unfortunate headline earlier.

  4. 4 DeanneM
    June 23, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Here’s just a brief tribute and remembrance of Hollywood’s number one second fiddle…

  5. 5 Matt Boardman
    June 24, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Sad to see such a great man leave us. I know he often said that he was fortunate to have ridden on Carson’s star, but what a name and a legacy he built for himself.

    EG – not sure if they’ve said at this point or not, but I know his health wasn’t the greatest as of late and I’m guessing that it finally caught up with him.


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

