23
Jun
09

starships of the day


From the Perpetual files come three more vessels from the long extinct ST Online game created by Perpetual Entertainment.  Sadly, this project disbanded over a year ago, and the creative forces have scattered across the USA in pursuits of other work and projects. Ryan Dening and Todd Ramen were the two guys I worked for, and their roles were as the production coordinator and production designer. I really miss working with these guys as well as the whole team. They were doing some amazing work and everything was looking pretty darned incredible, but $$$ to produce a game is high and funding issues left this one smashed against the rocks.  Fun times and fun crew.  Here are some renderings they had me working on, and they were a lot of fun to draw up.

Enjoy.

a boomerang ship!

A Ferengi style boomerang ship!

loosly based on the Andorian vessel from Enterprise

loosely based on the Andorian vessel from Enterprise

always fun to do a vulcan!!!

always fun to do a Vulcan!!!


38 Responses to “starships of the day”


  1. June 23, 2009 at 7:23 am

    On the upside John, some of your designs have made it into the new game been developed by Cryptic, so it wasn’t all in vain!🙂

    Some great designs there, wish Ryan would release some of his own drawings he did to, really like the Vulcan ship, definatly looks more futuristic than those in Enterprise, but still retains the Vulcan lines🙂

  2. 3 Buckaroohawk
    June 23, 2009 at 7:24 am

    As much as I love CGI, it’s great to see actual, physical drawings now and then. The first set of drawings of the “Boomerang Ship” look like something the Marvel Comics hero Moon Knight would have flown. A very intriguing design. Do you mind if I work up a CGI version as an exercise?

    • 4 johneaves
      June 23, 2009 at 7:28 am

      go for it Mr.modeler and when your done send it over and we’ll do a post on your work>>> love seeing your cg stuff!!!

      • 5 Buckaroohawk
        June 23, 2009 at 10:54 am

        Many thanks! By the way, a few entries back (I honestly can’t remember which one exactly) you mentioned that you might do a feature about redesigned fan versions of the USS Enterprise. Still interested in doing that? I just finished one I’d love to show off.

        Also, how do we send images to you? I couldn’t find a general e-mail address here on the site.

  3. 6 Richard Knapp
    June 23, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Great designs – that Vulcan ship is particularly nice. I must be old school, but I prefer the physical drawings to the CGI versions. Really dating myself…

    Thanks as always John!

  4. 8 Beta Capricus
    June 23, 2009 at 7:39 am

    I love the Vulcan ship, I imagine it to be a predescesor even of the ENT ships. However, I don’t know much about star trek online and I wonder; what era were these ships supposed to be from? And what species is the boomerang from?

  5. 11 Melak
    June 23, 2009 at 7:40 am

    Very nice! The first one could be a Ferengi ship, I like it!

  6. 13 DeanneM
    June 23, 2009 at 7:42 am

    Likin’ these! The boomerang ship reminded me first of a stingray…very sleek and cool. I’d like to see the Vulcan ship modeled. It’s a very interesting take on their ringships.

    I call you fortunate for still being able to have a hand in the new Trek, as well as things like the Shatner project. We’ll be getting to see a lot more new stuff from you, me thinks!!

    I have a picture up now, so where are my pics? Hmm?

    • 14 johneaves
      June 23, 2009 at 7:46 am

      HAAAAA there was an earthquake,,, and my dog threw up, and your box of stuff fell in the crack after it got messy from the dog,,, I’ll have to get on some new stuff for you, HEEEEE,,, I mean AWWWWWWWH Bo-Shizzler!!!!!!!

      • 15 DeanneM
        June 23, 2009 at 7:51 am

        Ya nut!! I wasn’t referring to the box, but you’d better be guarding it with your life, my friend! Or it *will* be your life…bwah haa haa!! If a fire is racing toward your home, you’d best grab that box and then see if you can save your children!!

        I was referring to certain preview stuff… 🙂

  7. 16 Scott D
    June 23, 2009 at 8:05 am

    I too like that Vulcan design. It’s quite the departure from the Vulcan Designs from Enterprise.

    Really hope Suricata is right about these ships being in Cryptics STO. I would love to encounter individual racial starships within the Federation. It would give that feel of unified, but individual as well.

  8. June 23, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Very cool! I especially like the vulcan ship!

  9. June 23, 2009 at 8:49 am

    That Vulcan ship is hot. That should be a garage kit!

  10. June 23, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Its’ too bad that game went belly-up. I don’t typically like online gaming as well as offline gaming but I really love some of these great designs you’ve been posting. Of these three, I really love the Andorian and Vulcan ships. I especially love the way you carried the ring engine idea for the Vulcan ships into the 24th century. 🙂

  11. 21 johneaves
    June 23, 2009 at 9:25 am

    thanks Mr. Evil

    • June 24, 2009 at 12:07 am

      Every since I read that reply a little bit ago, all I can think of is that quote from Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery; “It’s Dr. Evil, I didn’t spend six years in Evil Medical School to be called ‘mister,’ thank you very much.”

  12. June 23, 2009 at 10:32 am

    I hope the finished game will have a few Eaves originals, but we’ve only seen the odd one here and there since it left Perpetual. I’d love to fly one of those Vulcan ships – very nifty!

  13. 24 Snafu
    June 23, 2009 at 10:38 am

    I think I liked Perpetual’s take on ST:Online better than Cryptic’s: it had sort of a Roddenberry’s first seasons of ST:TNG vibe, with very expansive ideas. Cryptic’s seems too war-driven and centered on Feds-Klingons-Romulans politics, which probably is fun but a bit tired, I’d say.

  14. 25 Freak
    June 23, 2009 at 10:52 am

    I like the Ferengi ship it reminds me of a Sting Ray.
    That Vulcan ship rocks though looks like it could give the Ent-E a run for it money in speed.
    It would be a great ship for a 24th Centery version of Formual 1 race car.😀

  15. 26 B.J.
    June 23, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Interesting Vulcan ship! It reminds me of the Vulcan long range shuttle in TMP.

  16. June 23, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Wow, that Vulcan ship is HOT! That’s one of the most interesting designs (to me anyway). Feels very dagger-like.

  17. June 23, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Gotta agree with Snafu that the new ST:Online doesn’t sound quite as intriguing and compelling as the original version, and I’m surprised to see they’re reusing the early Romulan Bird-of-Prey and Klingon Raptor. They’re both great cracking designs, but it seems a bit of a stretch to have them ported 250 years into the future…

    I hope they use some of these new designs you’ve shared with us, particularly that fabulous Vulcan ship. Thanks for posting these, John!

  18. 34 Melak
    June 23, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Hey John, I see someone already called shotgun on the Ferengi :p

    Would you mind if I did my own CGI interpretation of the design anyway?

  19. 36 James_M
    June 24, 2009 at 5:38 am

    Ahhh… More perpetual files goodness. Favorite is the vulcan ship. You make it so hard to concentrate on one thing. I’ll be finishing up the ramjet soon and I already blocked out the sona fighter, but now I want to play around with this vulcan ship.

  20. 37 Triton
    June 24, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Love the continuity of the designs from “Star Trek: Enterprise”. The ships are instantly recognizable to which races they belong. Said that these designs won’t be seen in the “Star Trek Online” game. Thank you so much for sharing! I would be delighted to see more of them. Can you please post images of USS Excalibur that your created for “Star Trek Online”? Do you also have access to artwork from Ryan Dening? I would love to see those.

  21. 38 Vahmp
    October 19, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    Hi John,

    I just want to say.

    Great work!

    Hi all…

    Eveyone comparing these ships to many a diferent ones.

    But there is one Sci-Fi series that none of you matched the first ship (the Boomarang) to.

    It’s the perfect design to tie the TOS series to the 2003 re-imaged.

    Battelstar Galactica!

    I’ll explain…

    Look carefully at the first design…
    Remember the TOS Cylon raiders?
    Look again at the design…
    Remember the NEW Cylon raider?

    Tell me this design can’t tie both series together as a middle ship to the old and new. Sorta like an evolutionary step. lol

    Anyways that’s it….

    John, keep up the great work.

    Laterz….
    Vahmp


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

