24
Jun
09

Robert McCall


Coming later this week,  the art of my childhood idol, Robert McCall.  Stay tuned for more fun than a magnifying glass and an ant hill!!!

 

one of Bob's book covers!!! Awesome!

one of Bob's book covers!!! Awesome!


14 Responses to “Robert McCall”


  1. 1 Richard Knapp
    June 24, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Robert McCall – definitely one of the best. I remember saving my allowance for months back in 1974 so I could buy a copy of “Our World in Space”, the book that he and Isaac Asimov authored about the future of the space program. A great book with fantastic art – still one of my favorites.

  2. 2 Tim Earls
    June 24, 2009 at 6:51 am

    Hey Johnny! I have that book too! Brilliant work. You should do a review of Chesley Bonestell too.

  3. June 24, 2009 at 7:20 am

    My son, Shaun, got a chance to meet Robert McCall at The Challenger Space Center back in the year 2001. Shaun showed him an animation he had created from one of McCall’s paintings. Mr. McCall was kind enough to autograph and sketch in Shaun’s book for him. Signing it in the year 2001 was just a bonus since it was reminiscent of Robert McCall’s poster from 2001: A Space Odyssey.

    I live two blocks away from the main Glendale Public Library where Robert McCall painted a beautiful mural on the wall. The Challenger Space Center has a huge 360 degree mural painted in their main rotunda that is quite spectacular.

  4. 4 Don
    June 24, 2009 at 7:21 am

    I have my own copy of this sitting right here on my shelf in my studio, John. A “must read” for any aspiring space artist.

  5. June 24, 2009 at 8:17 am

    I would say it’s more fun than a garden slug and a salt shaker… but that’s just me.

  6. 6 Matt Wright
    June 24, 2009 at 9:29 am

    I remember seeing this book in my public library as a wee lad🙂

  7. 7 Jared Wynn
    June 24, 2009 at 11:05 am

    i have both of his books, great stuff!

  8. 10 Triton
    June 24, 2009 at 11:11 am

    I wish that there had also been a USS McCall in “Star Trek: The Next Generation”, Robert McCall is to the 1960s, 70s, and 80s, what Chesley Bonestall was to the 1950s and earlier. I look forward to seeing the art of this giant of space art and space exploration evangelism.

  9. June 24, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    When I was a kid I had a book about EPCOT that had fold-outs of the 3 paintings he did for the Horizons queue area, and I used to pore over them for hours. His paintings of future scenes are what I imagine Earth in Star Trek’s century is “really” like.

  10. 12 DeanneM
    June 24, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    I’m looking forward to the full spread here. I haven’t seen a lot of his stuff, so bring it on! Actually, I’ve seen some that I didn’t even know was his, so it will be fun to see what you’ve got.

  11. March 3, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Renowned artist, Robert McCall, died Friday at Scottsdale Healthcare Osborn. He was 90 years old. Such a talent. I was glad my son and I got a chance to meet him 10 years ago. He will be missed.

  12. 14 Kevin H Martin
    March 3, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    I used to have his ART OF book, but last year luckily happened into a used copy of that really big volume (the one with Ben Bova text) that has most if not all of his TREK and BLACK HOLE art.

    His VGER over Earth was really something (and proves that they knew what the overall vger looked like back then), and it makes me wish somebody would find Syd Mead’s ‘vger over luna’ artwork … even Mead hasn’t seen that since the 70s!


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

