25
Jun
09

Holy cow!!! Two more celebs pass away today


The lovely Farrah Fawcett, and the King of Pop Michael Jackson both passed away today.  Farrah Fawcett had been battling cancer for some time and today it got the best of her.  Starting out with cameos on shows such as “I dream of Jeannie” in the 60’s and the “Six Million Dollar Man” in the seventies, she would get her big break as one of the starring roles in Charlie’s Angels.  Aside from acting young, Farrah was also a model, and in about 1977 she created a poster that was extremely provocative at the time, which sold millions of copies.  My parents wouldn’t  allow me to buy this poster (even with my own money); my arguments fell upon deaf ears as I explained that I wanted it only for her  ever so cute smile!!!

Michael Jackson started his career as a juvenile singing sensation in his brothers’ group, The Jackson 5.  Michael, clearly recognized as the star of the show, went on to a solo career singing the title song to the sequel film to “Willard”, entitled “Ben”.  His biggest accomplishment came in 1983 with the hit album “Thriller”.  Michael’s life after was shrouded in bizarreness and scandal and right as there might have been a comeback with his sold out Summer shows this Summer, Michael passed away from  what appears to be a fatal heart attack.

Farewell to two more Hollywood legends who have joined Ed McMahon who passed earlier this week.

 

Farrah in the 70's with that awesome big hair-do!

Farrah in the 70's with that awesome big hair-do!

the forbidden poster!!!

the forbidden poster!!!

the incredible Thriller, Michael J.

the incredible Thriller, Michael J.

 

creator of the moon walk and synchronized pop dancing Michael is seen her making the "Thriller" Video

creator of the moon walk and synchronized pop dancing Michael is seen here making the "Thriller" Video


17 Responses to “Holy cow!!! Two more celebs pass away today”


  1. 1 deg
    June 25, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    The semi-rule of three celeb passings plays out again, eh.

    Sad.😦

  2. 2 Jay
    June 25, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    I was as horrified and creeped out as anybody at what Michael Jackson gradually came to be, almost Dorian Gray style, over the last 20 years or so, but when I was a kid, WOW, he was literally the biggest thing going and an undeniably remarkable talent. I told someone today that Thriller was for music like Star Wars was for movies. If you weren’t around at the time, you really can’t grasp how huge that guy was. He was practically coming out of the faucets back then. The guy he was back then, in ’82 and ’83, I miss that guy.

  3. June 25, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Dude its crazy! I knew that Farrah’s time was coming to an end, but Jackson…that was out of the blue sky!

  4. 4 rchurch
    June 25, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Hey John, here’s a segue but I remember the ships in Captain Eo
    being pretty cool. There’s the ‘sail ship’ and then the bad guy
    ship that sort of looks like a Bird of Prey-

    Have you ever seen any concept art for the ships? I’ve always
    wondered who designed those…

    • 5 johneaves
      June 26, 2009 at 6:15 am

      Greg Jein built them and I believe he also had his hand in on the designs, There both very reminiscent of his work from Buckaroo Banzai, I’ll ask him next time I see him!

  5. 6 DeanneM
    June 25, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    A few big losses this week, for sure. Hopefully we are done for a while with these three.

    Wise parents who protected their impressionable teenage boy from the mind blowing Farrah poster!!

  6. June 25, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    The lady who played Elosha in BSG also died today; Lorena Gale. She was one of those great character actors/actresses who would turn up on a show and you’d immediately recognise her from dozens of other roles. She was 51, I believe.

    Too many, too young.

  7. June 25, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    I grew up on Michael Jackson so it’s pretty heavy news. I really can’t believe he’s gone. He was my favorite music artist. He was amazing and there is nobody around in music today that comes close to that.

  8. June 25, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Wow, just Wow, I’m in total shock about MJ. My sister wasa huge fan and her room was adorned by his posters. I think I knew the words to every song because she played his music so much. It’s amazing how you can actually get upset by the death of someone you’ve never met. I still remember when he would release his music videos people would make sure they got home in time to see what he’d cooked up. A sad sad day😦

  9. 10 1701dfan
    June 25, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    A sad say.

    RIP Farah, such a lovely sight to the eye.

    But what a shock it was to wake up to the new of MJ. I love a lot of his music.
    Such a tragic end to a wonderfull performer.

    So long MJ. May you find in death that which eluded you in life, peace.

  10. 11 barriesuddery
    June 26, 2009 at 1:02 am

    Despite what became of his later life, it should not be forgotten that Michael Jackson OWNED the music industry in the 1980’s. He sold more albums and influenced more people than any other and was the first majorly successful black artist.

    His talent was such that he’s guaranteed a place in music history alongside the likes of John Lennon, Syd Barratt, Johnny Cash and Jimi Hendrix. His name and music will live on and we’ll still be listening to it decades from now, whereas the likes of Britany Spears, Miley Cyrus and the Jonas Brother and all other “corporate stars” will soon be forgotten along with the “talent show” winners.

    Talent will always trump fame.

  11. 12 Freak
    June 26, 2009 at 2:41 am

    Wow did not see this coming. I grew up listening to MJ.
    He’s early Solo carreer was mind blowing. some turely great work there, that will live for years to come. I was totaly blown away when I watched Moonwalker for the first time. I was expecting to see a film but I what I got was something so much better.

    John I have to correct you it was not MJ that created the Moonwalk. it was actually first recorded to be done by Bill Bailey a performance by tap dancer in 1943. It was also performed by a few other dancers, but it was MJ that made it famous when he did it on the 1983 television special Motown 25: Yesterday, Today, Forever.

    Marcel Marceau’s famous Walking Against the Wind routine was the original influence that Michael drew from

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moonwalk_(dance)

  12. June 26, 2009 at 4:50 am

    I grew up with both of them. I can remember the days as a young boy listening to Michael’s Thriller album on my mom’s old record player. I think she still has the album too. Farrah, while not being my fav on Charlie’s Angels, she was still a beautiful woman, inside and out. We’ll disregard her short marriage to Lee Majors (who saw that one coming) but if you noticed, Ryan O’Neil and her had been together for so long, unmarried but still loving each other. What saddened me the most was what Ryan had said the other day about how he would marry her once she left the hospital…it never came to be and i know he’s so broken up over it. She will be dearly missed as will Michael, despite the life he had before he passed. I never counted him out from the music world and truth be told, I missed his music. His music had that zeal about it that made you hum a tune or two from him out of the blue. Sadly, he is a prime example (next to Anna Nicole Smith) of what happens when you abuse prescription drugs…something that is too overlooked these days. I will miss both, but as the great Neil Young once said, “it’s better to burn out than to fade away”.

  13. 14 Simon Matthew Coles
    June 26, 2009 at 5:25 am

    Michael Jackson’s passing is cause for all music lovers to mourn. Let us hope that he will be remembered for the music and not the scandals that dogged him. Despite his personal problems, wrong doings and eccentricities, his musical talent and professionalism on stage are two things that nothing and nobody can take away from him. We will miss you, Michael.

    Farrah Fawcett’s fame and impact came before my time, but I like many others love the iconic poster and that almost physics-defying smile. A sad day in the world of entertainment.

  14. June 26, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Man, I was so shocked that Michael died. I’m not saying it’s any less tragic but Farrah had the kind of cancer you don’t get better from, so we saw that coming. But Michael just dropping dead of a heart attack was so sudden. The man was a legend, an icon. Like a lot of people here, I grew up listening to his music. Thriller is still the best album ever.

  15. June 26, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Always comes in three’s; Three American Icons.

    Had to watch Saturn 3 last night in memory of Miss Fawcett.

  16. 17 emperorkalan
    July 1, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    ‘Nother man down: RIP Karl Malden


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

