30
Jun
09

Deanne mcfarland’s birthday


Yesterday,  June 29th, 2009, was young Deanne McFarland’s Birthday, and I had an out of control day and didn’t get her award ready in time, so we will celebrate today instead of yesterday.  I am sure you all know her if you comment or read the blog, she is a witty one for sure,  quick with a fine comment to add with vast intelligence, knowledge, and humor…I had no idea she was a secret Sci Fi geek fan even after knowing her for most of our lives.  Deanne is one of my best friends, and I so wish her a great late Birthday.  In honor of this late great day, we all present you with your own Birthday Starship.  D requested an NX  class ship, and here is a little vessel that fits the bill.  It’s a deep space communications relay and posting ship that keeps the inter galactic com lines open and in decipherable formats….In addition to her Birthday, she is also an administrator here at the blog along with Matt Wright, and she helps out with my horrific spelling and grammatical errors.  Thanks D,  for your fine service and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

d's Starship

d's Starship

closer

closer

73 Responses to “Deanne mcfarland’s birthday”


  1. 1 Don
    June 30, 2009 at 8:59 am

    Happy Birthday Deanne. Nice lines on that McFarland. ;)

  2. 3 DeanneM
    June 30, 2009 at 9:07 am

    That is very cool!! Definitely one of yours! It is an honor, sir, and very fun to see.

    How the heck did you find the time? Between anniversary tributes, artist tributes, regular posts, work (ever present, pesky but necessary work) and family…thanks for doing this for me!! :)

    I figured I’d be lucky to get a FB post, but this is WAY cooler!! Now I guess I’ll fix the spelling and grammar on this post to earn my keep. ;)

  3. 5 Richard Knapp
    June 30, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Happy Birthday Deanne and congratulations on the award – that is one beautiful ship!

    And to our host, great design John. I am envious of your ability to combine new and unique elements with the traditional to come up with designs that are both original and familiar at the same time! After over 40 years of people drawing Federation starships that is quite a skill.

    Thanks and best regards

    • 6 DeanneM
      June 30, 2009 at 12:54 pm

      I’m with you on giving some designer love to the Eavestastic One…the little Energizer Bunny just keeps going, and going….

  4. June 30, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Happy Birthday Deanne.

    I’m really liking this ship. The blend of NX-era and FC-era design is really nice. And, as usual, that obvious Eaves style that we know and love is very much present.

  5. 9 deg
    June 30, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Happy Happy Joy Joy B’Day, dea!!! :)

    And you mentioned that in KY, John… how the heck did the mutual love of sci-fi never come up between you two, eh?

    LLP,
    deg

    • 10 DeanneM
      June 30, 2009 at 1:00 pm

      Mind if I answer?

      There was the unfortunate, but all too common in the non-internet age, losing of touch for some years. Before that, we enjoyed other things with a number of friends…Fiddler on the Roof, Scavenger Hunt, church camp, Zonie invasions of California…I didn’t know just how much of a geek the guy was!! It’s been a few years now since the revelation.

      That is all remedied now, and there are a bunch of new geekly friends here in bloggersville, yea!

      • June 30, 2009 at 1:35 pm

        Ahhhh, and yea! :)

        What’s a Zonie invasions of CA, eh?

        LLP,
        deg

      • 12 Matt Wright
        June 30, 2009 at 2:06 pm

        Arizonans going to So. Cal. is my guess…

      • 13 DeanneM
        June 30, 2009 at 2:20 pm

        Yup, it’s actually an almost official designation. The Zonie Report is an online news site for us desert dwellers, and when I lived in SoCal they had the annual complaints on the radio of the Zonies coming over and taking over the beaches and amusement parks. :D

  6. 14 Matt Wright
    June 30, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Yay! you got a cool ship Dea :)

    I’m a smidge envious I have to admit.

    • 15 DeanneM
      June 30, 2009 at 12:48 pm

      Oh Matt, you’re just spoiled! :) You’ve got a *very* fun design, and there are many who are quite envious of you, sir. ;) I bet you’ve got your award prominently displayed!

    • 16 johneaves
      June 30, 2009 at 1:59 pm

      does yours need a retro visit to the space dock my friend???

      • 17 Matt Wright
        June 30, 2009 at 2:10 pm

        Only if you feel like Enterprise-era retroing mine up a bit, but I would say Jorg needs his Eavesdropper award first before you bother to mess with mine.

      • 18 johneaves
        June 30, 2009 at 2:14 pm

        you got it brother,,, sorry no one wants to be assigned to command the wrong ship!!!

      • 19 DeanneM
        June 30, 2009 at 2:17 pm

        You got mine just right…nacelles and all. ;)

        It will be fun to see what else comes out of that space dock for Jorg and Matt!

  7. June 30, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Ohhhh…pretty ship. I may have to use that as kitbashing inspiration. I like the different interpretation of the bussard collectors. Mmmmm…sweet.

  8. 23 Andy
    June 30, 2009 at 10:56 am

    Happy Birthday Deanne

  9. 25 Freak
    June 30, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Happy Brithday Deanne, hope you had a great one.
    What sweet Bday pressent. A ship desgin for by John.

    It a really sweet looking ship I love the blend of NX and FC. I would not have though the styles would work together.

  10. June 30, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Happy Birthday, Deanne! Don’t you just love these summer birthdays in Arizona! Hot! Hot! Hot! It is nice to have a great old friend like John to give you such a special present. Priceless!

    • 29 DeanneM
      June 30, 2009 at 12:51 pm

      It was surprisingly nice at the softball game I went to at 6:00 last night…just enough clouds and breeze to take the edge off. :)

  11. 30 Psion
    June 30, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Happy Birthday, Deanne! That’s a fine pair of nacelles you’ve got there.

  12. 32 Mark Delgado
    June 30, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Happy birthday, Deanne! Hope it was a good one.

  13. 34 Seumas
    June 30, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    Happy Birthday!
    Yadhtrib Yppah!

    To you Deanne!

    • 35 DeanneM
      June 30, 2009 at 1:03 pm

      So you must be a backwards talker? Uoy Knaht (that wasn’t easy).

      • 36 Seumas
        July 1, 2009 at 8:54 am

        !Sdrawkcab gniklat evol I ,sey Ha.

        !Nuf yrev si tI

        (Sometimes I write with my left hand in complete mirror writing – and it is actually more legible than my non-mirrored normal-hand handwriting!)

  14. 37 Buckaroohawk
    June 30, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Happy Birthday, Deanne!!! Hope you had a wonderful day! I won’t comment on the nacelles because a gentleman doesn’t do that sort of thing.

    I know of some photos, though, that some of you may be very interested in… ;-)

    Seriously, everyone’s birthday should be a special day, and I hope yours was, Deanne. Many happy returns!

  15. 39 Ben
    June 30, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    nice ship, work and happy birthday from me also

  16. 41 the bluesman
    June 30, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Happy Brithday Dea, and cool ship.

    Think we could get John to draw a USS Alice Cooper or USS Deborah Harry?

    ha

    Actually John some rouch orthos mifht be cool and we modelers could carve up some foam and palstic and make these wonderful ships.

    • 42 DeanneM
      June 30, 2009 at 6:08 pm

      You told me earlier that your typing’s awful, but I think your brain just gets ahead of your fingers. :) Orthos! John’ll start wondering what he’s gotten himself into! :D

  17. 44 Matt Boardman
    June 30, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Though I wished you one yesterday, one can never wish someone Happy Birthday too many times!

    Happy Birthday, Dea! :)

    • 45 Matt Boardman
      June 30, 2009 at 3:42 pm

      Oh, and Dea, beautiful ship! (Love the design, John!)

    • 46 DeanneM
      June 30, 2009 at 5:55 pm

      Mr. Matt, I believe you did so twice yesterday! :) You’re covered for a few years.

      • 47 DeanneM
        August 23, 2009 at 11:40 am

        I was pretty sure you’d seen this, Matt. So maybe you meant had John posted more views…or did you forget that you wished me happy bday 3 times! C’mon now, you’re younger than I am, so you can’t be having memory lapses like that! :)

      • 48 Matt Boardman
        August 24, 2009 at 10:17 am

        Ha! I was wondering if he had done more views for you so you can build it now that you’re going 3-Dea! :D

  18. June 30, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Happy Birthday Deanne! :-)

    Looks like I have a new project when I get home from work tomorrow ;-)

  19. June 30, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Happy belated b’day, Deanne! (it’s now Wednesday here, so it’s extra belated :P)

    Nifty ship, John!

  20. June 30, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Congrats on a fine ship, Dea! This and Dick Tracy goodies, I’m so jealous!

  21. June 30, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Happy Birthday, Deanne!

  22. 57 Mark A-C
    June 30, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Happy belated Birthday to an astute and charming lady.
    Mark

  23. 59 HM2(SW) Jeff Priela
    June 30, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    Hey Deanne,

    I really do not know you at all, but I wanted to wish you a happy birthday from the US Navy. Specifically Expiditionary Medical Force Kuwait…yeah the great desert….we’re set to go out in about a weeks time, boldy going hwere many sailors have gone before.

    Again happy Birthday from EMF Kuwait!

    Great ship by the way, were i a Borg, John Eaves would be the first person I’d assimilate…

    V/R
    HM2(SW) J. Priela
    Medical/Dental

    • 60 DeanneM
      June 30, 2009 at 11:02 pm

      I appreciate the sentiment very much, may I call you Jeff? Thanks to you and the entire EMF Kuwait for your service!!

      The Borg sure could use his artistic eye, eh? :D

  24. 61 Razor
    June 30, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Very nice…John you are one talented mofo.

  25. 62 DeanneM
    June 30, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Thanks for everyone letting me be the tickled pink center of attention for a day! :lol:

    I am tickled every time I look at the beautiful little ship, and then adding to it are the nice wishes posted here. Tomorrow hopefully John will have the opportunity to put up some more geekly goodness to revell in!

  26. June 30, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Many Happy Returns, Deanne! Cool ship!

  27. 64 Pandor
    July 1, 2009 at 2:12 am

    Hi,

    i really love your work and i love this blog to. Great to have you “HERE” at the www. Thank you very much for sharing your designs with us.

    *Ich liebe Deine Arbeiten und ich liebe diesen Blog hier. Es ist großartig genau das HIER im Netz zu haben. Vielen Dank für das Teilhabenlassen Deiner Designs!!

    Cheers

    Pandor

    • 65 Seumas
      July 1, 2009 at 8:58 am

      I understood most the German in that without the translation!

      Nice to see that Standard Grade German was not wasted…

  28. 66 Wolvster
    July 1, 2009 at 4:42 am

    Aww nuts, two days late AND two dollars short ! But, HAPPY B-DAY
    to you, and while we can’t give you a Birthday tickle in person GLAD that
    are enjoying your special ship from our host John ! :)

  29. 67 Terry
    July 1, 2009 at 9:23 am

    So much happens around here when you miss a few days. A very belated Happy Birthday, Deanne, I to am a June baby (the 19th) worst thing is we never got a day off of school.

    Terry

  30. 68 DeanneM
    July 1, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Thanks to all you stragglers, as well! :)

  31. 69 Syd Hughes
    July 1, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Belated happy birthday and serious envy on the ship!

  32. July 3, 2009 at 2:47 am

    Belated happy birthday, Deanne!

    And yes, I admit my first look was at the Abramsverse-style ship registry and I figured what it was supposed to mean.

  33. 71 FSL
    July 5, 2009 at 1:33 am

    Happy Birthday. Always a pleasure

  34. 72 DeanneM
    July 11, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Question. John had called to ask what I would like the ship named, but I didn’t get the message before this was posted. McFarland is my divorced name (since I’m not married, I think it’s silly to call it my married name!), but Malmgren is my maiden name. D is my initial…I don’t know. Malmgren is a mouthful and never gets pronounced right. Any opinions?

    I actually think D McFarland sounds fine, I was just thinking…. I don’t even know if anyone will see this post. :)


Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers

