01
Jul
09

Jay Roth’s CG Osiris shuttlecraft


It’s a great day…just heard from my old Apogee buddy, Jay Roth!!!  Jay and I were on Spaceballs together, share the same birthday and have a fine appreciation for good quality flatulence (ed. good grief!  dm)…is that an OK topic for blogs????  Anyway, Jay was an awesome modeler, and he built Ron Cobb’s Narcissus for Cameron’s “Aliens” before joining the Apogee crew 1n 1986.  Towards the end of the show, Jay had been pioneering, with some buddies, a CG modeling program that I shall not name because I am sure I’ll refer to the wrong one!!  But his program made it big, and Jay left the world of glue, lead, Acetone, Fiberglass, 2 lb foam, lacquer, radiation and everything else dirty and toxic in the model shop, and went on to begin a new career of CG VFX modeling.  We met again some years later on Osiris, and Jay beautifully modeled the Shuttle and the Engineering ship.  Here are two pics of his model.  Great to catch up for a moment or two, and Jay’s a dad of a 6 year old boy sounds like his son could use some of your prayers for his health too, so if you want to pass some of that Jay’s way, I am sure he would appreciate it.

Thanks.

 

little grey rough

little grey rough

 

and a beautiful color model

and a beautiful color model


11 Responses to “Jay Roth’s CG Osiris shuttlecraft”


  1. 1 deg
    July 1, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Ah very nice, eh. I gotta try some-a that CG-a-ma-thingy stuff some day, as these fumes are killin’ me, and I think I just cut off another finger-tip. Aw, jeez.😀

    And of course some healing prayers for Jay’s boy, eh.😉

    LLP,
    deg

    • 2 DeanneM
      July 1, 2009 at 5:15 pm

      You sure that fingertip issue wasn’t Li’l Killbear? I think it’s too late to worry about the fumes, deg! 😉

      • 3 deg
        July 1, 2009 at 8:55 pm

        Shhhhhhh, dea, be quiet, he’ll hear you…

        Oh jeez, too late, there he is!

        No, that’s just dea, lil’ kill-bear… she’s cool… no, really…

        OW. WTF.

        LLP,
        deg

  2. July 1, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    It’s odd, but as much as I like doing CGI, I’ve always prefered making models I can put in a display cabinet!

  3. July 1, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    I like models, but they don’t like me. I always end up with paint smudges all over and nacelles glued to my elbows… much better with CG.😀 Roll on affordable home 3d printers, I say!

    Hope Jay’s little boy gets better. Kids are resilient.🙂

  4. 6 DeanneM
    July 1, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    That is an awesome color job, Jay! Your young’un is on my prayer list, as are you.

    John, glad to hear that you’re having a better day today. 🙂

    Ha, John Pearse! I’m starting a model next week, and I’m already thinking I’ll have headlamps on my knuckles and roll bars on my elbows.

  5. 8 Jay Roth
    July 1, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    Hey, the actual model was built by David Ridner, an employee of mine at the time. I did the prelim textures, but the project shifted gears, and this work was abandoned. This was well over 10 years ago, and when I look at it today, I shudder a bit. Perhaps I will get around to it again when I have time.

    Thanks for the post John. And, just let me say for the record, your flatulence was always superior to mine🙂

  6. July 1, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    You guys worked on Spaceballs? That’s awesome. It may be a corny, kinda stupid parody movie, but I love it. And the models are cool, especially Spaceball 1, AKA Megamaid. 😀

    That shuttle is cool too. I really like the textures.

  7. July 3, 2009 at 2:41 am

    Great model, reminds me a bit of the Delta Flyer. I really like the weathering job!

  8. 11 Craig Paup
    July 12, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Is this the same Jay Roth who is now at Newtek, working hard to get Core out the door?
    Hey…that rhymes.


Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

