16
Jul
09

As You Remember It: The Lift-Off of APOLLO 11


In July of 1969, America sent the first humans to the moon. Astronauts Neil Armstrong, Edwin Aldrin, and Michael Collins were aboard the mission named Apollo 11.
The launch vehicle they rode, the Saturn 5 rocket, is still the most powerful machine ever built. It generated almost 8 million pounds of thrust and even after nearly 40 years, it is the only vehicle that has carried men beyond earth’s gravity.
Watch it now, as you would have seen it on July 16, 1969, at 9:26 AM EDT. T-minus 00:5:59 and counting.


10 Responses to “As You Remember It: The Lift-Off of APOLLO 11”


  1. 1 Scott D
    July 16, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    Even though this occured years before I was born, I felt anticipation, just like watching a Shuttle launch.

    Quite a historical journey those three were on.

  2. 2 deg
    July 17, 2009 at 12:28 am

    Sweet! The S5 never fails to flat-out awe me!šŸ™‚

    LLP,
    deg

  3. 3 Simon Matthew Coles
    July 17, 2009 at 2:01 am

    beautiful. What a moment in history. I do wonder why some choose to delude themselves that this was all faked… I guess its a twisted little religion.

  4. 4 barriesuddery
    July 17, 2009 at 3:18 am

    John, I read on Mike Okuda’s blog (yes he has one!) that you’ve create custom envelopes and stamps for aeronautical events. Any chance we could get to see some?

  5. 5 Simon Matthew Coles
    July 17, 2009 at 5:14 am

    Also loved this slow mo footage – the power of this machine is – and this word gets used too much these days, but it is genuinely awesome.

  6. July 17, 2009 at 7:27 am

    I do remember this all but only distantly. I recall my dad (ex-USAF) and mom being real proud and misty eyed. I didn’t get it then, it was just real cool what with rockets and all. I recall the movie Apollo 13, the lift off, it was then when I ‘got it’.

    I really wish we would go back (and beyond).

    • July 17, 2009 at 8:01 am

      I was to little to remember the launch itself, but I remember the time. Lots of talk and TV watching. I remember watching the first moon walk on TV in school. Now that I do remember! TV during school was unusual. Thanks for posting the youtube.

      Regards,

      Scott

  7. 8 DeanneM
    July 17, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Thanks for sharing the actual realtime video. Sure wish I could remember details about that time, but seeing this let’s me go back to that auspicious occasion!

    I watched the STS-127 launch a couple of days ago (funny that my daughter wasn’t interested – said it happens all the time!) and was struck again by how quickly they get from standing on the ground to orbit and the speed and power involved. Well, Saturn V had even more power and speed; simply amazing accomplishment – 40 years ago, geez!

  8. 9 mcmiller
    July 17, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    This really brings back a heckuva lot of memories. It’s just as stirring now as it was then. My mom used to wake me up in the wee hours of the morning so I could watch every launch/moon walk/rover ride/splashdown. I was fairly young, but I seemed to understand that this was a pretty big deal.

  9. 10 Matt Boardman
    July 17, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    I can never seem to express enough how much I am in love with the space program. There is just something about it that touches my soul at its deepest core. Even 40 years later, I find myself tearing up when I think of the magnitude of this mission and what it meant to us all as human beings.


Leave a Reply

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

