06
Aug
09

10th anniversary of “the Iron Giant’, and the ‘Sixth Sense”


Holy cow!!  It has been ten years since these two favorites came out and both on the same day!!!  August 6th, 1999 was one awesome day!  My wife and I had only been married a month and thank goodness for that because if these two movies would have come out before she said “I do”, she might have said “I don’t”  to the geek fanboy that emerged while watching these two awesome flicks!!!  Haaaaa!  We saw Iron Giant first, and it was one of the last good old hand drawn animated films to come out before the world dove in headfirst into all CG animated films.  Of coarse there is a lot of CG mixed in to be sure, but it only added to that great animated look.

It’s a wonderful story about a boy and his giant robot friend from space, set in the late 50’s early 60’s when nuclear war was a daily threat.  A robot falls from space and lands in the ocean and soon is saved by a young boy named Hogarth.  The two become fast friends, and together they hide and run from the secret service who feels the Giant is a weapon from Russia.  The film is funny, emotional, beautiful, and if you’re a softy, it will make your eyes well up in a big way.

Brad Bird wrote and directed this beautiful story, and it is a brilliant heartfelt masterpiece that is a gem!!  The film was scored by the late Michael Kamen, and his score is a beautiful, emotional piece that carries you through the story without the use of an overly recognizable theme!  Mr. Bird  went on to write and direct two other of my Favorites,  “The Incredibles” and “Ratatouille”.  Iron Giant is another one you’ll want to own, and there are a lot of extras on the DVD to see.  Happy Anniversary Brad & the Iron Giant!  

Next came a ghost story like no other.  M. Night Shyamalan’s ” the Sixth Sense” was a movie that I was not prepared to see; having young daughters in the house had taken me far away from scary dramas and put me in the world of Barney, so my mind was soft to what Mr. Shyamalan had in store. This one is a genuine, suspensful masterpiece and will always be remembered and looked at as a classic.  It is a story that pulls you in emotionally from the get go and shakes and rips you apart on every level of fear and  human emotion.  In case you have not seen this one, I will say nothing more but to go and buy it immediately because you’ll want to watch it over end over again.  Full of twists and great imagination, Mr. Shamalyn shines as a brilliant director and story teller and has made many other favorites such as “Unbreakable”, “The Village” and “Signs”.  James Newton Howard scores all of M. nights films, and his themes and compositions are so intricately woven into the stories that they are truly the tone of all the underlying emotions!  So with that, Happy 10th to you M. Night and keep em coming. 

Also for you Iron giant fans, visit Dave’s “ultimate Giant” site linked below!!!  He has really put together a great collection of just about everything about the Iron Giant.

http://ultimateirongiant.com/model/model.php

http://www.craigerscinemacorner.com/Reviews/iron_giant_the.htm

 

iron giant poster

iron giant poster

 

sixth sense poster

sixth sense poster

It's Brad Bird

It's Brad Bird

 

Hogarth and the Giant

Hogarth and the Giant

pencil concepts, ALL RIGHT!!!

pencil concepts, ALL RIGHT!!!

 

more pencil work

more pencil work

Dean, concept

Dean, concept

 Hogarth's mom

Hogarth's mom

 

CG scaling work

CG scaling work

from the film

from the film

buddies

buddies

 

good times

good times

just aquatinted

just aquatinted

more buddy moments

more buddy moments

 

and tear full heroics

and tear full heroics

M. Night Shyamalan

M. Night Shyamalan

 

mother and son

mother and son

stuttering Stanley

stuttering Stanley

 

one scary ghost

one scary ghost

a broken father

a broken father

a moment of realization

a moment of realization

 

Cole and his Soldiers

Cole and his Soldiers

Willis and his wife on the night of the!!!!!!

Willis and his wife on the night of the!!!!!!

 

brilliant performances by these two.

brilliant performances by these two.

Malcolm's world is full of mysteries

Malcolm's world is full of mysteries

an eye opening experience

an eye opening experience

 

it's cold for a reason,,, MMMMMUW-HAAAAA-HAAA!

it's cold for a reason,,, MMMMMUW-HAAAAA-HAAA!


24 Responses to “10th anniversary of “the Iron Giant’, and the ‘Sixth Sense””


  1. 1 Richard Knapp
    August 6, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Iron Giant was a wonderful film – I took my three kids to it the day it came out and they all loved it. There are just so many nice momemnts in that movie – especially the “Superman” part. Thanks for posting all these pictures for us!

  2. 3 deg
    August 6, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Oh yeah, I have The Iron Giant movie-poster hanging in the living-room next to my Wizards movie-poster. Wow, was that really 10 years ago, already? Waht a great film, in every sense of the word.

    And too funny, my wife and I had only been married a month (and 3 days), too. Another John and deg co-wink-i-dink! You weren’t married on July 3rd, were you, dude? That would make it even weirder, eh…

    And yeah, The Sixth Sense. Boy, no-one ever saw that film coming, eh. I love M.’s films, eh. I loved The Sixth Sense, but I think The Village is my fav of his so far. I just love that film. Unbreakable was such am über-unique take on the super-hero, too.

    The score to The Sixth Sense is one of my all-time favs too, as is Unbreakable. Both 5-star soundtracks, IMO.

    Thanks for markin’ the day, John!

    LLP,
    deg

  3. 4 deg
    August 6, 2009 at 10:17 am

    BTW, where the heck did you get the LightWave 3D screen-cap, eh?

    LLP<
    deg

  4. 5 ety3
    August 6, 2009 at 10:55 am

    “The Iron Giant.” Possibly my favorite animated film of all time and yet Warner Bros. couldn’t market it to save their lives.

    The single greatest simultaneous triumph and blunder in the last few decades of cinema.

    • 6 DeanneM
      August 6, 2009 at 11:00 am

      I’d have to agree, since I didn’t hear much about it and it looks like something I would have wanted to see had it been properly marketed.

    • 7 johneaves
      August 6, 2009 at 11:27 am

      Yeah I so love this one and it’s up in the tops for sure,,, I’ld put Mulan next in line as a fav too

  5. 8 DeanneM
    August 6, 2009 at 10:58 am

    I am once again ashamed to say that I haven’t *ever* seen the Iron Giant. That wasn’t a time when I would have anyone to see a movie like that with.

    I did, however, see the Sixth Sense and was just blown away by all the little Shyamalan details. John, you summed it all up with “brilliant performances by these two.” I don’t throw the brilliant word around lightly. I was almost shocked by Osmet’s masterful abilities! I really can’t believe it’s been 10 years.

    deg, agreeing whole-heartedly about The Village. I was actually not planning to watch it because of the commercials – I get nervous about certain kinds of horror/terror movies. I had the strange job of counting how many people were in the theater and stayed to see what it was about. I watched it (or parts of it) five times that weekend!! I was just drawn back into the theater. 🙂 Also had great acting performances by Juaquin Phoenix and Bryce Dallas Howard (and others).

  6. 9 DeanneM
    August 6, 2009 at 11:13 am

    BTW John, I’ve looked over the screencaps a few times because you chose great ones of the Sixth Sense! I’m gonna see if my house guest this weekend would like to watch it with me. 🙂

  7. August 6, 2009 at 11:17 am

    dea, one can always go to the movies by one’s self. I used to do it all the time, and I would meet all kind of new peeps in the process, eh. Some folks feel self-conscious though going to the show alone, and I understand that, I guess.

    I always enjoyed it myself. I like alone time, at least before I married C. Still like it, but C’s a big movie-nuts too (and used to go to the show on her own as well), so we always go together now, eh.

    LLP,
    deg

    • 12 johneaves
      August 6, 2009 at 11:24 am

      Same here I went alone all the time because my taste in movies was vastly different from most of my friends. We were married on the 9th my secret brother! you were already honeymooning by then.

      • August 6, 2009 at 11:40 am

        Ah, 3 is our fav number, and 3 x 3 is 9, eh. Close enough, my secret bro! And we were moving into our house actually on the 9th. The honeymoon had to wait. Well, at least the honeymoon trip. We are still on our forever honeymoon, eh!🙂

        My friends tended to like the film I liked, they just weren’t as CRAZY about them as I was. So when I went alone, it was usually opening day as I could not wait, or for repeat viewings.

        I do recall the summer of ’98 though (just before I met C), I found myself alone quite a bit that summer and saw all that year’s films alone. I recall going to see Saving Private Ryan, sitting down with my big tub of summer movie popcorn, and then being WALLOPED by that film right off the bat, crying into my big tub of popcorn. It was no Armageddon kind of summer popcorn movie fun, that’s for sure. Still, I loved both films and the SPR soundtrack as well.

        LLP,
        deg

      • 14 johneaves
        August 6, 2009 at 11:43 am

        I did the same,,, opening day, first show, after school and before work!

      • August 6, 2009 at 11:52 am

        Yep, that’s how ya did it, eh.😉

        I remember being carded when my bud and I went to see <Alien after riding the bus for over an hour to get to the show. So snuck in, as no way we were ridin’ the bus home in sorrow for an hour+ having NOT seeing it!

    • 16 DeanneM
      August 6, 2009 at 10:13 pm

      Oh, I can go to the movies by myself…done it some, but I sure like being with someone more! Nothing like sharing it with someone else who likes it, too. 🙂

  8. 17 Dave C
    August 6, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    The Iron Giant is my favorite animated film of all time…I don’t see how anyone who has plonked down to watch it from beginning to end cannot cry at the climax of this film, its just, beautifully done yet so tragic at the same time, and no doubt skewed my 10 year old mind toward animation as a career :p

    Thanks for posting it!

  9. 18 Scott D
    August 6, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    The Iron Giant is a great animation, it’s nostalgic and new all in one. And with a wonderful story that ties it all together.

  10. 19 Matt Boardman
    August 6, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Iron Giant is one of those movies that I have been meaning to see for a long time now.

    I still remember the first time I saw the Sixth Sense. I had no idea what was coming and was completely blind sided. In fact, I think it was one of the few times in a movie that my heart geniunely ached for a character to the point of almost bringing me to tears. Pretty intense stuff! 🙂 Hard to believe that it was 10 years ago that that all happened!!

  11. 20 Snafu
    August 7, 2009 at 5:20 am

    What I love in The Iron Giant is that it doesn’t try to go easy and obvious: the ending is bittersweet and hopeful instead of cookie-cutter happy, and the music isn’t bombastic but subtlier than usual. It respects the audience, big and small.

  12. 21 Toastie
    August 7, 2009 at 6:39 am

    The Iron Giant was actually adapted by Tim McCanlies, based on Ted Hughes’ classic children’s book The Iron Man (title obviously changed to avoid confusion with a smaller red-and-gold iron person). And a very good adaptation it is too.

  13. 22 Terry
    August 7, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    I loved the Iron Giant, and there is a Star Trek connection; Chris MacDonald did the voice of the FBI Agent and was also Lt Castillo in “Yesterday’s Enterprise”.

    Terry

  14. August 8, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    I’m glad you mentioned James Newton Howard, I heard his score for Signs long before I watched the movie and just loved it. Probably made me enjoy the movie that much more when I finally did see it.

    I quite like The Village as well, but for some reason a lot of people get fixated on “the twist”. Whenever I mention it to friends they always complain that the twist is unsatisfying (not sure which one they mean, since there are two reveals I can think of), but that’s really missing the point. It’s an interesting film.

  15. 24 wallace tamiozzo
    February 1, 2010 at 1:34 am

    i watched the iron giant so many times and i just love it and i was wondering if there is gona be a iron giant 2, by the way it ends…..im here still waiting for it!!! lol!!


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

