07
Aug
09

John hughes passes away at 59


I heard this on the radio last night and am very sad to hear that the man responsible for so many wonderful movies that were such a big part of my 20’s has passed away of a heart attack at only 59 years old.   John Hughes was one talented individual, and his films, music, and influence helped define the 80’s and youth on every level from hair styles, pop and punk music, what was in, funny, popular, and desirable.  He made stars of so many young actors and actresses such as Molly Wringwald, Anthony Michael Hall, Alley Sheedy and so many others.  John loved working with another great Man, Mr. John Candy, and worked with him ’till his untimely passing in the early 90’s.  This is truly a sad day, and John will be so sadly missed.  Here are some posters from some of my favorite Hughs films. 

http://www.people.com/people/article/0,,20296605,00.html

 

1984/85

1984/85

1986/87

1986/87

1985/86

1985/86

 

1987/88

1987/88

1989/90

1989/90

1984

1984

 

1983

1983


15 Responses to “John hughes passes away at 59”


  1. 1 DeanneM
    August 7, 2009 at 10:59 am

    I knew he was great, but I didn’t realize just how many of these iconic ’80s films he was responsible for. Such a loss! But don’t forget Weird Science, eh?

    His movies (many are goto classics, like Home Alone) will be remembered for a very long time to come.

    Thank you, Mr. Hughes, for some thought provoking, funny and always entertaining stories.

  2. 3 deg
    August 7, 2009 at 11:02 am

    NO WAAAAAAAAAY! And sO young! Oh man…😦

    You will be missed, John Hughes, esp. ’round this part of the country, where you loved to make your films.

    Fair winds, John Hughes. And thanks.

    LLP,
    deg

    PS. Always love the Boris Vacation poster.

  3. August 7, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Very sad indeed. Much to soon….
    Ferris is one of my all time favourites. But almost all films by John Hughes were just great and I enjoyed them a lot.

    RIP

  4. 5 barriesuddery
    August 7, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    Ferris Bueller’s Day Off is one of my all time favourite movies.

    R.I.P. John Hughes, your talent was unique and will be sorely missed. Hollywood take note.

  5. 6 Syd Hughes
    August 7, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Rest in peace, my distant cousin. And I hope you don’t spend too much time in purgatory for Home Alone…

    A brilliant, funny, and very ALIVE man, and that energy, positivity, and humor shines through in everything he did. I think a whole lot of why my memories of the 80s are so positive is because of Ferris Bueller and the Breakfast Club.

  6. 7 ScottDS
    August 7, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    I’m 26 and my brother is 23. Our dad bought our first camcorder (a VHS-C from JVC) in 1989 or 1990. By that time, we were already familiar with Hughes thanks to Home Alone, Christmas Vacation, and Planes, Trains & Automobiles (albeit edited for TV).

    One of the very first home movies my dad shot was a scene re-enactment that my brother and I did: the “driving the wrong way” scene from Planes, Trains & Automobiles. I was Steve Martin and my brother (who was short enough to stand on the driver’s seat!) was John Candy and we did that scene from memory. My mom scoffed when she heard me say, “You broke the damn seat!” And you haven’t seen cute till you’ve seen my then 4-year old brother say, “How can you bweak a caw seat, it’s impossible!”

    Mr. Hughes, you will be missed. As someone who’s tried writing his own teen comedy, you’ve set the bar quite high for me.🙂 Rest in peace, sir. And tell Mr. Candy we miss him too.

  7. August 7, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    Sixteen Candles is just one of the funniest movies of all time. Hughes was a giant indeed.

    Alec

  8. 9 Jay
    August 7, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    Between the movies he wrote, produced, and directed, the man has a *very* enviable IMDb, and my family will be forever grateful for the gift that keeps on giving, year in and year out: National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. A modern classic, if ever there was one.

    • 10 DeanneM
      August 7, 2009 at 7:03 pm

      You the man, Jay! Christmas Vacation…it’s been too long. I won’t be waiting until Christmas to watch that one; it’s way passed due for me!!

      Just another of many gems from the fertile mind of the talented John Hughs. RIP

      • 12 Jay
        August 9, 2009 at 6:18 pm

        “I had a lotta help from Jack Daniels!”

        That movie is a nigh-endless source of great lines and a wonderful and only slightly exaggerated look at the indignities we suffer through for the sake of family and the people we love.

        “Fixed the newel post!”

      • 13 DeanneM
        August 9, 2009 at 6:24 pm

        It’s always good to see you when ya get the chance to stop in, Jay! It’s not often enough these days. 🙂

      • 14 Jay
        August 10, 2009 at 6:14 pm

        Thank you for the kind hospitality, ma’am. If I had a hat, I would tip it.🙂

  9. 15 Steve
    August 11, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Sad day. Most of these films were made before I was born and all were made before I could really apprecciate them. But aside from 16 candles and pretty in pink, I love these movies.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

