18
Aug
09

The Reman Scorpion model for polar lights


 

Right after Star Trek Nemesis came out, I got in contact with the folks over at Polar Lights and did a pitch to make the master for their up coming model kit of the Scorpion.  The ship was going to be in 1/24th scale and at that time had not been determined whether or not it was to be a snap tight kit or an actual advanced model kit that needed glue, fillers, and paint.  First, the scale of the master was upped to 1/12th scale and rough blue prints, photos and measurements off of the actual piece were all used to build the model from.  A bit of engineering had to go into the way the parts would go together and come apart, and that was actually one of the more challenging parts of the construction.  Dave Metzner was the supervisor  from Polar that I was working for, and he was a great guy to work with.  When Polar Lights sold, he went on to be a big part of Cultman’s model world, and he has quite a passion for for Sci Fi and physical modeling!  My good buddy Dan Platt sculpted the figures for the ship, and he always outdoes himself!!!  Awesome likenesses and great postures really finished the model off!!!  When the final kit came out, something evil was used instead of these fine sculpts and I can’t tell you why…only because I never heard any explanation!!!!!!  Below are pictures of the final pieces all laid out at my desk at Paramount just before I mailed them.  Lots of fun and haven’t made a model since!!!  The grey pieces are the masters and the white are resin pulls from the molds.  Wow, that was a long time ago, and I’m feeling the need to do another one soon.

 

 

resin pieces

resin pieces

 

assembled

assembled

front

front

 

3/4 rear

3/4 rear

cockpit view

cockpit view

stinger

stinger

masters

masters

 

landing gear

landing gear

 

seats instruments and flat screens

seats, instruments and flat screens

forward dorsal fins

forward dorsal fins

canopy glass

canopy glass

 

feselage

fuselage

 

fuselage

fuselage

landing thrusters

landing thrusters

 

mock up

mock up

Picard by Dan Platt

Picard by Dan Platt

Data by dan Platt

Data by Dan Platt

 

more data

more Data

more Picard

more Picard

 

the actual set piece under construction

the actual set piece under construction


29 Responses to “The Reman Scorpion model for polar lights”


  1. 1 Paul Bauer
    August 18, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Loving the bucket seats!

  2. 4 ScottDS
    August 18, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I know this is off-topic but nice CD collection you have back there!🙂 I can recognize a Film Score Monthly release from a mile away.

  3. 6 Lou
    August 18, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Was it a likeness rights issue that kept those fine figures out of production?

    • 7 johneaves
      August 18, 2009 at 1:28 pm

      I don’t know what happened. When I bought the kit there were these two ugly things that had replaced Dan’s figures!!! Still a mystery,,,, Ohh and to top it off the box had a little cut out window featuring the Picard and Date characters!!! Sorry if the one that made those is reading this!! HAAA!

  4. 8 Lee
    August 18, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Er, Picard didn’t have a commbadge on in this scene?

  5. 10 DeanneM
    August 18, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Too bad about those very fine sculpted figures getting left out!

    I was thoroughly enjoying looking at all the pieces and mock up, but when I got to the last pic, that’s when my heart rate went up…I want to build a full size working version someday!! 😉 It’s the same feeling I get when I see a well outfitted off road Jeep (especially with mud on it) only much more so.

    • 11 johneaves
      August 18, 2009 at 1:31 pm

      all you need is some wood, glue, nails, staples, a set of pre curved boards for the wings, two Roccorro racing Seats, and an F-18 canopy put on Backwards

      • 12 DeanneM
        August 18, 2009 at 1:44 pm

        And that would make a working version? Then you should build one for your commute!! HAA! 🙂

        I gotta admit, it’s tempting to make a full model, if just to put in my parking space. 😉

      • 13 johneaves
        August 18, 2009 at 2:06 pm

        did you see the full size when it was in PHX a few months back???

      • 14 DeanneM
        August 18, 2009 at 2:20 pm

        Ya, we talked about that a couple times, silly! I wanted to fly it right out of the Science Center!! 🙂 Heidi took me for Christmas…what a great kid!

      • 15 johneaves
        August 18, 2009 at 2:32 pm

        you forget my last 6 months are a blur!

      • 16 DeanneM
        August 18, 2009 at 2:34 pm

        I didn’t forget. I’m just glad that it’s all over. Maybe after the fair your life will be less of a blur!!

  6. August 18, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    I saw that full scale version when it came to London a few years back, what a cool toy to have in the garage!😀

    Wow, those Picard and Data figures are the icing on the top. I can see how the strong likeness might’ve been a legal issue, but that’s a real pity. Looks like a great model to build in any case.

  7. 18 Rattrap
    August 18, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    Man, it’s a shame they weren’t able to use the figure sculpts. I’m sure Dave could tell us why, if he remembers. Polar always had good reasons behind their decisions, even if it didn’t seem so at the time.

    Dave is now working for Frank Winspur at Moebius models, where they’ve released a lot of popular Irwin Allen subjects, and recently got a license to produce a Mark II Viper in scale with the old Revell-Monogram kit.If it sells well, they’re hoping to do a fairly large line.

    Meanwhile, after having been bought out many years ago, Polar Lights is back in business under the aegis of Tom Lowe’s Round 2. They’re looking to release a 1/1000 scale 1979 motion picture Enterprise late this year or early next, and following up on it with the 2009 movie Enterprise in 1/2500 scale (in other words, the actual kits will be about the same size).

    It’s a good time to be a modeler.

    • 19 Matt Boardman
      August 18, 2009 at 10:16 pm

      Woo hoo! I recently went to Hobby Lobby to get my wife something for her birthday and discovered that they had a model section there. It was like being a kid all over again! I always wanted one of the air brush systems and they had that along with a full wall of model airplanes, ships, and cars. They also had the Polar Lights Original Enterprise, D-7, and the NX-01 models there.

      Can’t wait for the Enterprise refit and the 2009 movie model!!

      • 20 DeanneM
        August 18, 2009 at 10:33 pm

        I want to do the big Polar Lights NX, but I have to find the time to do the little kit I bought first! They havent’ had the NX in stock around here, but I would be able to order it.

        So what did you buy?

  8. 21 Matt Boardman
    August 18, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Joh, if you do decide to do another model, promise to take pictures of the process and share them with us! I’m so impressed with this model that you put together and have always wondered what the process is like! 🙂

  9. 23 Freak
    August 19, 2009 at 2:34 am

    Man That suck about the figure sculpts.
    But still it a great little model.

    Been a long time since I built one, maybe I should get back into it with my son?

  10. August 19, 2009 at 4:46 am

    I have to admit to being one of the fortunate ones to see this at the Star Trek Exhibition in Phoenix. What a treat, and wow it was bigger than I thought! This is a really cool design, very sleek and powerful, which I would consider a muscle car of shuttlecraft.🙂 Btw, stupid question John, was this one of your designs??

    • 25 DeanneM
      August 19, 2009 at 9:47 pm

      Jim, I hope you don’t mind my chiming in! This is certainly one of John’s.

      It is actually a fighter, not a shuttlecraft. The Scimitar database lists them as “Scorpion Attack Flyers.” There were a large number of them on board, but it wouldn’t have been much of a battle if they had launched them all at Enterprise!! Well, same with the thalaron weapon, if it deployed faster. 🙂

  11. 26 Dave Horvath
    August 19, 2009 at 5:31 am

    I didn’t care much for the movie but I always thought this was a very cool shuttle craft. The final model was a fun build. Too bad the figures are not this nice. Likely something lost in the downsizing.

  12. August 19, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    Mmmmm, I can smell the resin fumes now, eh.🙂

    Nice job(s) guys.

    LLP,
    deg

  13. August 20, 2009 at 4:43 am

    Shuttle, fighter, taxi, spacecraft to escape from within Romulan ships….it’s still a cool conveyance Deanne. When I first saw it at the exhibition, my jaw immediately dropped.🙂

  14. January 19, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    What’s the overall length of the mockup?


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

