31
Aug
09

the art of Geppetto


Well, it is another mish mash day, but I am calling it the art of Geppetto instead!!  When DS9 season 7 came to an end, this was my first job working at Disney on Drew Carey’s adaptation of “Geppetto”.  My boss was Charles Wood, and he was one challenging man to work for.  He offered a lot of criticism that really had me push uncharted boundaries in trying to put his thoughts on to paper.  It was a great experience and even more so because I met Nathan Schroeder, who is still my favorite of all the illustrators I have been honored to work with!!  Nathan’s command of pencil is truly unique and mind boggling at how he can perceive the most believable designs of architecture flawlessly and always in perfect perspective.  I learned a lot looking over this man’s shoulder and now he has transfered over into the realm of digital, which is even more striking than his carbon skills.  There will have to be an art of Nathan day, and I am making a note right now!!  Anyway, these drawing represent a variety of things, the first is a machine that makes perfect children for parents that want a particular style of appearance and behavior in a child!  Sounds a little like somebody who reigned from about 1936 to 1945, HMMMMMM!!! The next is of a puppet trunk that opens into a mini stage, next is some architecture for the lab and library, a scene that turned into an outdoor set by the end of the design stage.. and finally one of the wooden toys from Geppetto’s shelves, a sparrow that would open it’s wings.  OK, this is way far from the tech stuff that I always drew, and it was a great job to move over to another form of art.

 

machine and specs

machine and specs

 

the machine in it's final stage of design

the machine in it's final stage of design

the trunk, wah-lah, performing stage

the trunk, wah-lah, performing stage

 

the lab and the child maker machine goes in the circular section of the room

the lab and the child maker machine goes in the circular section of the room

the wooden sparrow

the wooden sparrow


15 Responses to “the art of Geppetto”


  1. August 31, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Man, no matter what you’re working on, you always come up with some of the coolest designs I’ve ever seen. That child making machine is just awesome. The chest is really elaborate and cool and the library looks sweet also. I even like the little sparrow thingy.🙂

    I don’t know what I was doing when this was on TV (probably working) but I missed Geppetto. I don’t remember if I even heard of it when it came out.

  2. 4 Freak
    September 1, 2009 at 4:06 am

    Never heard of this one.

    But your desgin work is cool!

  3. 6 deg
    September 1, 2009 at 8:03 am

    Amazing, dude. Your scope of range always amazes me. Great stuff. I never saw this film, or even knew it was done. I’ll have to look for it, eh.

    LLP,
    deg

  4. 9 Richard Knapp
    September 1, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Some neat stuff – definitely looks like you were exercising some different artistic muscles with these. Thanks for taking the time to mix and mash with us. Have those first out in California been causing you any problems? I hope things are well.

  5. 10 Richard Knapp
    September 1, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Oops, typo, meant to say “fires” not “first”

  6. 11 JNG
    September 1, 2009 at 8:36 am

    This program was an Emmy nominee for, among other things, Outstanding Art Direction for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special

  7. 12 Greg
    September 1, 2009 at 9:45 am

    I like the complexity of the perfect child machine. Reminds me of a machine from Willy Wonka’s lab!

    And that sparrow is really cool. I can’t help but compare it to the bird built by the ants in “A Bug’s Life.”

    Nice stuff John!

  8. September 1, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Nice 1970s 8-track space-helmet player in the lab concept! Or is it Death Star MkIII?

  9. September 2, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Another one who hasn’t heard of this movie… but judging from your review I’m not missing much. Really good drawings, though. The child perfecting machine looks so intricate, I can just imagine all those bits and bobs whirring and moving about. Great job as usual.🙂

  10. 15 Matt Boardman
    September 8, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    Ha! Not seen this one, but as you’ve indicated, that’s perhaps not a bad thing! ;D

    Mr. Charles Wood sounds like a teacher I just had my last class. :: shudders :: So glad that class is over. He was tough and very critical, but it did ultimately push me to produce better 3D models.

    Great drawings as always!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

