18
Sep
09

Jonny Quest turns 45


Happy 45th Anniversary to my all time favorite cartoon as a kid!!!! This one had it all, Scientists, evil villains of all kinds, awesome sci-fi gadgets and aircraft, Monsters, Dragons, Dinosaurs, and Mummy’s, OH MY!!! And a couple of kids with nothing better to do than go on a world wide adventure with their dad and a cool James Bond type body guard nammed Race Bannon!! What was rare for a main stream cartoon at the time was that the bad guys often got shot and killed or crushed by flying boats or massive boulders!!! I remember one episode where Jonny’s dad hollers; Jonny…Hadji, grab some guns and shoot anything that moves!!!  Hanna Barbera put this classic out on September 18th 1964 and the show aired on ABC and only lasted one season!!!  Truly a masterpiece and has place in history as one of the many classics created in the 1960’s!!

imagesJonny-quest-620x465


37 Responses to “Jonny Quest turns 45”


  1. 1 bender23
    September 18, 2009 at 8:14 am

    Johnny Quest was awesome! What a great show!

    It is huge part of the reason that The Venture Brothers on Adult Swim makes me howl out loud with laughter! A very twisted and demented show but very, very funny – especially if you are Johnny Quest fan!

  2. 3 Don
    September 18, 2009 at 8:59 am

    Only the coolest cartoon that a then-five-year-old could ever imagine! It’s still my favorite of all-time. I think it lead directly to my love of science fiction. It was WAAAAY ahead of its time. Doug Wiley’s character designs and style are timeless.

  3. 4 DeanneM
    September 18, 2009 at 9:01 am

    To be honest, I didn’t realize it was just on for one season. It was on so much in reruns as I was growing up because it was popular that I didn’t realize it was off the air before I was old enough to even notice the TV!!

    Great show…even had a cool dog named Bandit. I named a kitten after him because of rings around his eyes. HA! There was always some crazy adventure waiting for all of them with plenty of action. Happy Birthday, Johnny Quest!!

    • 5 johneaves
      September 18, 2009 at 9:20 am

      GI-JOE’S,, WHEN I WAS A KID WERE HUGE AND THEY HAD LIFE LIKE HAIR ON THEIR HEADS!! ME AND MY PALS WOULD USE THE BLOND AND THE BROWN HAIRED GI JOES TO BE RACE AND DR.QUEST AND WE WOULD USE MAJOR MAT MASON DOLLS TO BE JOHNNY AND HADJI,,,,, AFTER WE SAW THE EPISODE THAT HAD THE TWO KIMONO DRAGONS IN IT I TRIED EVERY WHICH WAY TO MAKE A DRAGON TO FIGHT MY CHARACTERS AND WOUND UP MAKING A PAPER CUT OUT THAT BASICALLY FAILED TO BE A GOOD ADDITION TO THE DAYLY ADVENTURES IN MY BLACK CANYON CITY BACK YARD

      • 6 DeanneM
        September 18, 2009 at 10:47 am

        Best backyard in the world for such adventures, eh? 🙂

      • 7 Richard Knapp
        September 18, 2009 at 10:55 am

        Major Mat Mason! Now that brings back lots of memories – those we definitely my favorites. I loved all the equipment and vehicles that went along with them – especially the Lunar Crawler that doubled as a crane for the Moonbase.

  4. 8 Matt Boardman
    September 18, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Johnny Quest ranks right up there with my all time favorite cartoons! I LOVE the theme song to the show! I never knew it only lasted 1 season! What a shame because it really was super awesome!

    Did anyone watch the remake they did a few years back? I thought that one was fun as well!

    Happy Birthday Johnny!

  5. September 18, 2009 at 9:51 am

    I loved this show as a kid of 6, and when I put on the DVD now it takes me back to summer evenings at my Grandma’s house watching it. I remember being scared at the Id-like invisible monster, and loved all the other creatures on the show. Seeing the show’s open and close really transport me in my mind back to those days!

  6. September 18, 2009 at 9:52 am

    And lest I forget…

    IIIIIIIIIYYYYEEEEEEE!!!!!!

  7. 14 Wolvster
    September 18, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Yes, a true and MUCH loved Classic… Ahh, the
    good ol’ days of tv as a young un’ !🙂

    Mind you, when I think of the show one thing that keeps
    popping into my mind that makes me snicker..

    IT’S A WALKING EYE, with Laser eyes and MONKEY PROOF welding
    perfect for Stealth Reconnaissance…

    LOL…..

    • 15 johneaves
      September 18, 2009 at 1:21 pm

      YEAH!!! all that cool stuff!!! Watch 1941 and listen to young Tim Matheson when he gets excited!!! you can really here Johnny Q’s voice thru his being an adult actor!

  8. 17 JNG
    September 18, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    “I remember one episode where Johnny’s dad hollers; Johnny…Hadji, grab some guns and shoot anything that moves!!!”

    Dr. Venture’s response: “My father made me kill a man…KILL A MAN…with a house key! I was ten!”

  9. 19 Freak
    September 18, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    I saw the oringal show on Cartoon Network when it first started here in the UK in the 90’s.
    Love every episode. Then it just stopped for no reason. Now I know why as it only had one season.

    I did catch the Cartoon Network remake of the show form 96. They really brought it up todate with the times, but it was not quite the same as the oringal but still enjoyable. Shame that lasted only two season.

    here is a link to the IMdb page.

    http://uk.imdb.com/title/tt0115226/

  10. September 18, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    My favorite part was the opening credits where the motorboat jumps and lands on the bad guys… obviously killing them.

    Ah… the days before censorship.

    Oh, and HI, btw, John.

    Rob

  11. 21 Masao
    September 18, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    I remember watching it during its initial run. Since I was very young, that walking eyeball scared the crap out of me.

    I had heard once that some reruns had edited out a lot of the violence, i.e., you’d see guns being fired no dead bodies falling. Can any one fill me in on this?

  12. September 20, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Well I only have experience of the new version, which was on tv when I was growing up. It had the best theme tune EVER. And the episodes were pretty good as far as I remember. They had proper interesting plots, backed up by lots of action and explosions.🙂

  13. 23 woof359
    September 20, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    the old show was great, good story lines and the orignal art work was new. also they jazz music they choose worked. I know theres a few kits out there but I try and stay away from high dollar garage kits. I still cant see the actor from Animal House doing the voice of johnny no matter how hard i listen

  14. 24 Razor
    September 20, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    Sim sim sala bin!!

  15. 25 Paul
    September 21, 2009 at 1:40 am

    Hey John could yoou please please please finish showing us the final renders of the Valdore warbird

  16. September 21, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Oh yeah, the HB hey-day, eh. JQ, The Herculoids, Space Ghost, Space Stars, etc. Good times Sat mornings eh, no ’bout a doubt it.🙂

    LLP,
    deg

  17. September 21, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    No “h” in Jonny, though. Geek nit-pik!

    LLP,
    deg

  18. September 21, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    ??? Why am I still waiting to be approved? I’ve posted before.

    Does John hate me now?
    😦

  19. 32 Patron Zero
    September 21, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    If one old school Saturday morning cartoon deserves a live action big screen makeover it’s JQ !

  20. September 22, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Been a while since I’ve been on.. but if anything can bring me out it’s Jonny Quest!

    Yes… that JAZZ THEME still gets me pumped. One of the first sound files I found online and downloaded years ago.

    And no one’s mentioned Jade! When even RACE is in trouble … the jungle vines part and someone purrs “….. Having trouble, boys?” or “Hellllloh, Race!”

    I never liked superheroes or goofy stuff like Herculoids …but THIS was the stuff of boyhood in the pre-“tone down the violence” 60s.

  21. September 23, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    Happy birthday, Jonny Quest!

    Because without you, there would be no Venture Brothers😀

  22. September 23, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    Heh…yeah, we used to call the Robot Spy, the “8-Ball From Hell!” Great stuff! I remember sometime back in the 70s or 80s they recut Jonny Quest (either for more ad space or objectionable content) when the Quest team was investigating a pillbox in a swamp…Race was on the roof with his rifle when two frogmen come out…Race raises his rifle butt and then…*thud*…the frogmen drop! I always wondered if Race’s deodorant failed or something…

    As far as “The New Adventures of Jonny Quest” goes…this fan thinks the less said about it, the better.

  23. 36 woof359
    September 24, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    I wonder what kids today well remember form TV 20 years from now> are there any kid shows worth remmembering? a spong Bob Convention in 2030?

  24. October 1, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    brings me back every time i hear that canned “pteradatyl” screech.!

    YEAAWW!

    c3


Leave a Reply

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

