02
Oct
09

Where’s Waldo!!! [UPDATED]


Here is a VFX rendering from Enterprise episode #56 “Enemy Advances” (later renamed “Rajiin”) in which the crew shuttles down to a town and trading port constructed from sea barges.  This one was loads of fun to draw, and once Deanne makes it clickable (ed. it’s ready!), you’ll find space craft and airplanes from a variety of my fav movies and shows parked all around the platforms.  Lots of fun to try to find all the stuff hidden away with your kids.  Keep an eye out for the Red Baron’s tri-plane, The C-82 Packet from Flight of the Phoenix, an Eagle from Space 1999, a War of the Worlds war machine, The X-15 and many more to make you sick and dizzy trying to locate them all!!  Enjoy and happy weekend…back Monday with more fun stuff!

the barge spaceport

the barge city spaceport

rajiin_seaport

Final version on the screen


36 Responses to “Where’s Waldo!!! [UPDATED]”


  1. 1 Richard Knapp
    October 2, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Thanks John – have a great weekend!

  2. 2 deg
    October 2, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    Ahahahah, there’s Waldo!!! He’s tryin’ to steal the Baron’s tri! Shoot ‘im down! Blast ‘im!

    X-Wing
    A-Wing
    Klaatu and Gort’s saucer ride
    P-61 Black (I think, as the fuse looks a tad long…)
    Yoda’s house
    My house
    Killer Klowns tents
    Starfury (B5)

    Reminds me of when I was on the floating man-made island-town of the Uros on Lake Titicaca in Peru.

    http://www.andrys.com/peru8.html

    Way cool, john, thanks!🙂

    LLP,
    deg

    • 3 johneaves
      October 2, 2009 at 1:54 pm

      WOOO you saw the Killer Klown tent!!! Well done!! Only Nelson would have got that one so I would have to say your geekism has been upped to the top level!!! You have just reached the level to have a starship drawn in your honor!!!

      • 4 deg
        October 2, 2009 at 3:29 pm

        AHAHA, me, you, and Nelson, simpatico! I like that guy, eh. Tell ‘im I said hi and give him a nuggie for me next time ya sees ‘im, eh.😉

        MikeZ:

        – original Millennium Falcon concept

        Good one Mike, I was trying with all my geekism-might to remember what that ship was.😉

        Good call on the Burt Rutan ships too, eh.😉

        LLP,
        deg

  3. 5 MikeZ
    October 2, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Definitely a lot of fun. I think I managed to identify a few.

    Platform on the right:
    – The Day The Earth Stood Still saucer
    – Naboo Fighter
    – original Millennium Falcon concept
    – B5 Starfury

    Platform on the left:
    – Space Ship One
    – White Knight
    – some sort of elongated X-38

  4. October 2, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Great stuff as always.

    I’m wondering if anyone else is having a problem clicking through to the big image(s) in Firefox? Click-thru works fine on IE, but is spotty or not working in FF.

  5. 10 DeanneM
    October 2, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    It’s clickable now…I got caught up checking it out when I previewed my changes! 🙂

    I see the tent, the bi-plane, War of the Worlds and Eagle on the right, the C-82 on the left. You guys already caught everything else I saw so far.

    BTW, Find Waldo? Really John, I fixed that to Where’s Waldo. I don’t think the little guy really wants to be found, but he doesn’t seem to mind giving folks endless hours of enjoyment spotting him for a moment! 😀

  6. 16 the bluesman
    October 2, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    I found most of the hidden vehicles, do I see a deathlglider from stagate in there. I’m also looking for an Icarus in the water from Planet of the Apes…

  7. October 2, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    Can’t click for some reason.

  8. October 3, 2009 at 12:43 am

    Apart from stuff people have mentioned, I think I see an AT-AT Walker and a Droid Starfighter from Star Wars, but that might be wishful thinking. 😉 Of course, any one of those wedge-shaped things could be an ISD, if you use your imagination.

    Great image, John. That’s some quality work. I’ll have to take a look at the episode to remember what the finished product looks like (like I need an excuse to watch it. ;))

  9. October 3, 2009 at 5:28 am

    Great, now that I’ve strained my eyes I see that everyone has already found all the ones I can see, and more! Any chance of an annotated version for those of us not as gifted with geekism as deg?🙂

  10. October 3, 2009 at 5:34 am

    This ep was changed to “Rajiin”, apparently. I remember that title, but I don’t really recall the crew visiting this port. Weird, because it’s a really distinctive thing to see in Trek. I really like the way you’ve done the sunshine glistening down the image and all these ‘easter eggs’ are a lot of fun.🙂

  11. 22 admnaismith
    October 3, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    I don’t see the Eagle anywhere.

    I think the Eagle is my favorite ship after the TMP Enterprise. It just seemed so damned plausible, and still pretty in a post-Apollo kind of way.

  12. October 3, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    I think the only things you are missing are the ships from Starman, The Thing and Spaced Invaders.🙂

  13. 26 the bluesman
    October 3, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    The eagle is on the main pad with Klatauus saucer on the upper left. Look for the Fooker dr1 and it is jsut above that.

  14. October 4, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    Hello Mr. Eaves!
    Nice to meet you.🙂 First, let me say this is a MAGNIFICENT blog. I saved all the sketches you made available, just for reference and future inspiration (maybe a mesh, when I have better skills).😀
    I´m writing these lines to make you a question. Early in the 90´s a brazilian magazine published a sketch, supposed to be the Ent-F: http://www.flickr.com/photos/8461153@N03/3980482689/ Do you know that sketch, or is it just a fake? I also asked Mr. Drexler about this.😉 In advance, a big thank you!.

  15. 28 Freak
    October 5, 2009 at 1:35 am

    Wow some very cool stuff in this pic. I love it.
    I’ll have to go back and look at the shoot from the episode to see if any of them made it.🙂

  16. 29 Starship freak
    October 5, 2009 at 1:52 am

    So, did any of this make it into the actual episode?

  17. 30 Matt Wright
    October 5, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Lots of cool easter eggs!

    I just added an image of the final rendered version. Most of John’s hidden stuff seems to have made it🙂

    P.S. This is another good reason to want Enterprise on Blu-ray… all the great details the art department put into the show.

  18. October 6, 2009 at 7:24 am

    Nobody’s seemed to see the the Flying Wing from Raiders of the Lost Ark. This is a very fun picture!

    • October 6, 2009 at 10:17 am

      I thought that was a B5 Starfury (if we are looking at the same thing). But if so, yeah, I could see it being that.

      Nice screen-cap. They really did do a very nice job translating your artwork. Water could perhapsuse a scale tweak IMO, but whatever. That’s an opinion-based nit-pik of a great shot. EdenFX rocks, no two ways about it.

      LLP,
      deg

      • 33 MikeZ
        October 6, 2009 at 10:28 am

        It´s the same as with the one to the left of it.
        That one can be seen as a Naboo Starfighter and an X-Wing at the same time.
        Although I´m now favoring the latter idea because a little bit further up there´s something resembling a Y-Wing.

        On a different note: Should be a lot of fun to build one´s own version of that.

  19. 34 Matt Boardman
    October 6, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Wow! Late to the party again and it seems like everyone’s found the goodies. Good work everyone! Awesome drawing John! The Easter Bunny has nothing on you when it comes to Easter Eggs! 😀

  20. 35 CarlG
    October 7, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    I know it’s kind of missing the point of the thing🙂, but I really like the way you drew the shuttlecraft. It looks a lot sleeker and less stubby than the prop/model on the actual show.

  21. December 2, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Am I the only one having trouble accessing the November archives?


Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

