07
Dec
09

politically incorrect, a comic recollection of December the 7th, 1941


Way back in 1986, I discovered the awesome card store AHHH’s!!  They had cards for everything and almost every obscure occasion.  The store was one incredible place and left me inspired, so I decided to start my own card line for my pals on an even more obscure scale!!!  This was my first card and, being from Arizona, I had to make lite of the attack on Pearl Harbor and create a humorous 50th anniversary card!!!  If you’re politically correct or sensitive to this type of humor, it’s either time to move on to another site or toughen up a bit to enjoy the joke without being offended!  Today marks the 68th Anniversary of the start of WWII for the United States so remember those that perished on both sides with honor and reverence.

a humorous account of the sinking of the USS Arizona, December 7th, 1941


15 Responses to “politically incorrect, a comic recollection of December the 7th, 1941”


  1. 1 Iwata
    December 7, 2009 at 10:16 am

    As a Non-US I find it really funny. come on, it´s just Monty Python Style.

    Greetings from Old Germany, Johnny😀

  2. December 7, 2009 at 11:13 am

    I’m from the US and I’ve even served in the Army and fought in the current war and I don’t find it offensive. You’re certainly not the first person to do a humorous representation of war, especially WWII. I like the caricature of the Japanese pilot, he’s funny looking, so is his plane.

  3. 3 deg
    December 7, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Hell, nothing offends me, ya sick dark-humored bastiach! The darker the better, IMO!

    Oh some of the twisted “thats just wrong” stuff me and bro come up with!

    great stuff, and LOVE the art as usual!🙂

    Piss off!,
    deg

  4. 4 DeanneM
    December 7, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    I grew up, well as a small child, thinking that it was all about the Arizona!! I mean, in first grade I saw the memorabilia from the ship at the memorial wall in the state capital for the first time…cool stuff!

    I love that plane!!! Is it a Val (Aichi) or a Kate (Nakajima)? Wait, they’re both two seaters…. 😀 Great artwork! I’m not one to be bothered by non-PC stuff, as deg said, “twisted ‘that’s just wrong’ stuff” is fun, and there’s already enough of the bad to go around.

    BTW – that’s a very non-PC spelling on the bomb, John…funny!!

  5. 7 Syd Hughes
    December 7, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    Pah, as caricatures go, it’s positively enlightened compared to what the gov’t was putting out at the time!

    TOKIO KID!

  6. 8 JNG
    December 7, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    “SO SOLLY”

    I loled

  7. 9 the bluesman
    December 7, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    John

    I didn’t see anything wrong with the card. it’s bit edgy, but it’s also respectful of the tragedy.

    Besides I think we are on a dangerous road in America when we start telling people “You can’t say that.”

  8. 10 Max
    December 7, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    I’m the odd guy out, I don’t see the humor in it.
    If anything it’s in poor taste.
    How can 1177 dead Americans be funny?

  9. 11 Matt Boardman
    December 7, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Ok, I know, I know the event is a very serious one in American history, but this card just about made me spit my water all over my monitor.

    So funny!!

  10. December 7, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    I don’t think much of political correctness. Sure, showing respect to others is a good thing, but, to me, political correctness takes this so far it becomes disrespectful and an excuse to cause trouble instead of solve it.

    On topic, I don’t find this remotely offensive or even edgy. I think it’s a clever way to remind people of the attack on Pearl Harbor and what it meant to Americans.

  11. 13 AZRhino
    December 11, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    PC issues aside, what is “Pear Harbor”? Look very closely at the card…

    • 14 DeanneM
      December 12, 2009 at 11:56 pm

      I zoomed in and looked and looked…a fully 60 seconds later, I went, “OH!!” and had a good laugh! 😀 I even glossed over your post and didn’t catch it…our minds do a lot of the “thinking” for us, don’t they? 😉

  12. 15 Mirren Audax
    December 12, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Funny you should publish this after the ‘Kobayashi Maru’ post. I’ve seen the ‘Arizona’, by the way, the oil breaking the surface after all that time – a hell of a thing to see when you’re ten, a great battleship just beneath the surface.


Leave a Reply

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

