16
Dec
09

shuttle concepts


Howdy all.  Here is a small collection of “USS IOWA”, later to be named the “USS KELVIN”, high wing shuttle concepts!!  These were a lot of fun, and it was nice to reconfigure the nacelles atop of the shuttles instead of below the main fuselage!!!  For the final film, you get a couple versions of these high engines as well as some traditional looking shuttle arrangements!!  These drawings led to what was chosen as the new shape for the film, and I’ll post the progression here in a day or so.   Enjoy and good luck with all your Christmas shopping.

high wings +4


29 Responses to “shuttle concepts”


  1. December 16, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Those are great. I was hoping you were going to post some of your shuttle concepts from the movies. I really like the ones that made it into the film. As for that group, I like them all but 3-H and 4-H are my favorites. They really have a classic Trek look to them, IMO. 🙂

    • 2 johneaves
      December 17, 2009 at 5:18 am

      Thanks EVIL!!! the ones in the film are pretty mean looking!! they were fun to watch as they came together over such a long time of design and construction!!

  2. 3 Don
    December 16, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    Veeeery interesting stuff, John. 2-H is my fave.

  3. 5 Matt Boardman
    December 16, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    I think we’re going to cover them all here because I really like 1-H a lot! Very cool shuttle concepts! Interesting to see the high-wing design!

  4. December 17, 2009 at 12:28 am

    It was great to see so many different shuttle and ship designs in just the one movie. Thanks for sharing these, John!

  5. 9 Freak
    December 17, 2009 at 1:21 am

    These are very cool 1-H & 2-H are very cool but has a later Trek feel to sort between TNG and VOY. but 3 & 4 – H as EG said has a real classic Trek.

    As for my Fav it got to be 1-H.

    I was flicking though Star Trek: The art of the Film yesturday and I notice that it said that the fleet desgins was inspired by your work. You must be very Proud of that.

    (I just hope Santa gets me it for Christmas.😉 )

  6. 12 DeanneM
    December 17, 2009 at 1:35 am

    2 and 3 have the curvy look with the lifted nacelles…I’m definitely leaning towards 2 as my fav. I always prefer curvy to cube-y any day!

    Nice work, pal!

  7. 16 Dave Horvath
    December 17, 2009 at 6:04 am

    The shuttle design was a nice tip of the hat to the original series. The AMT shop guys would be proud. I know the design on film made me smile. As a fan of TOS, it was an early indication in the film that things were going to be fine.

  8. December 17, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Well, I think I found my TOS.5.2 take on G7. Between 3-H and 4-H. Gonna have to hit you up for some more views of those if ya have any, bro. The other two are great as well, they just lean toward more of a TNG look, IMO.

    Thanks, bud!🙂

    peace | deg

  9. 19 Richard Knapp
    December 17, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Beautiful work – I have to go with 1-H and 2-H as my favorites. I really like the look of shuttles wth up sloping engines – a nice fit with the layout of engines on the big ships.

    Hope your enjoying the ramp up to Christmas.

    Best regards,
    Rich

  10. 20 JNG
    December 17, 2009 at 9:01 am

    These are some good shuttle designs. I like 3H and 4H, with a solid pre-TOS feel coming through even within the aesthetic for the new film. I especially like the forward window on 4H, which reminds me a little bit of the window on Andy Probert’s Type-7 shuttle from TNG.

  11. December 17, 2009 at 9:20 am

    These are all fantastic! They are all too cool for a favorite, but 4-H definitely is a shout out to TOS in my opinion.

  12. December 17, 2009 at 9:35 am

    Ooh, these are all really cool. I agree that the curvier ones look more TNG-ish, but since a lot of stuff in this movie looked more futuristic than in TOS, I don’t think that’s a huge problem. They still look great and are crying out to be turned into CG models. Might have a go at making 1-H when I’m done with my current project.🙂

  13. December 17, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Cool! great work, keep it coming. Did you by any chance do the concept of the Med+Evac shuttle on page 29 of “Star Trek: The art of the Film”? this shuttle is a nice blend of all eras of Trek I think. I wish ‘TPTB’ had stayed closer to your concepts, they’re better than what we endede up with IMHO!

  14. 24 Barrie Suddery
    December 17, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    My personal favourite is 4-H as it has the angular look of the Galileo from TOS whereas 1-H and 2-H remind me of the Chaffee from DS9’s Defiant.

    Great stuff as always, John. All the best to you and your family over this festive season.

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, everyone!

  15. 25 the bluesman
    December 17, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    John

    These are cool…my favorite thing behind cargo ships is shuttles. Looks like I need to stock up on foam and palstic and attempt to build these.

    Have a great Christmas!

  16. 26 Adam
    December 17, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Wow another great bunch of designs from John ! I also like 1-H and 2-H the most … I think I will model them since they look so cool. I think the shuttles were my favourites from the new movie. The Kelvin was ok but Enterprise didn’t appeal to me … one more off-topic line … I am nearly finished with modelling the Kobayashi Maru you designed John. It took me a week to get to the point where it is in the renders. I had no time to update it since sunday but hopefully I will get back to it today.
    Here are the images, hope you like it !


    • 27 CarlG
      December 19, 2009 at 10:36 pm

      Oh wow! Those are, as the Doctor would say, fan-TAS-tic!😉

      If you’re not posting these on scifi meshes, then you oughta be…🙂

  17. December 17, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    I love 4-H as it reminds me a lot of Galileo.

    I’m off for a heavy day of Chrimbo shopping.

  18. 29 Scott D
    December 18, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    1-H and 2-H definitely look like they could be reused for a TNG-era movie.

    I would like to see a third verison where you have the nacelles top-mounted, and bend downlward, paralleling the fuselage, and end mid-way.


Leave a Reply

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

