31
Dec
09

the last post of 2009


Howdy there, good friends.  Thanks for one awesome year of blogging, and I have really enjoyed sharing pics and art and especially getting to know a lot of you readers first hand…thanks for all the prayers for my daughter Carlene’s cancer, and thanks for all the love and support you sent her and our whole family throughout the year!!!  You’re all the best, and I’m looking forward to what lies ahead!!!  Have a fun and safe New Year and catch up with you all tomorrow!   (Ed. note:  Happy New Year!!)

here is the "E" to end 09


47 Responses to “the last post of 2009”


  1. 1 Jeff
    December 31, 2009 at 5:50 am

    John, best wishes to you and yours as well…back at ya!

  2. 2 Andy
    December 31, 2009 at 5:58 am

    All the very best to you and your family for 2010 …

  3. December 31, 2009 at 6:23 am

    A happy, prosperous new year to everyone here!🙂

  4. 4 doubleofive
    December 31, 2009 at 6:39 am

    Happy new year you guys! Isn’t everyone excited to go back to referring to the year as 2 two-digit numbers (20-10) instead of 1 four-digit number (2009)? The last nine years have been draining!

    • 5 DeanneM
      December 31, 2009 at 10:13 am

      It cracks me up every time I’ve heard someone say “Oh-ten” when giving me their credit card exp date…HA! It won’t take long for people to get over that, I’m sure. 🙂

  5. 6 Richard Knapp
    December 31, 2009 at 8:57 am

    Happy New Year John! It has been really great getting to know you over the last year. Thank you for creating a place that we can visit on a regular basis for beautiful art, great pinup pictures, and some neat stories.

    I wish you and your family all the bests in the New Year.

    Take care buddy,
    Richard

  6. 7 Matt Boardman
    December 31, 2009 at 10:14 am

    2009 was definitely full of its ups and downs, but one of the biggest ups was getting to know you, John! Happy New Year to you and your family!

  7. 8 deg
    December 31, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Rightbackatcha. bro, and all!🙂

    peace | deg

  8. 9 Buckaroohawk
    December 31, 2009 at 10:34 am

    John (and everyone),

    I wish you all the best as we enter the second decade of the 21st Century! May you find knowledge, peace, and strength on your journey.

    See you all in 2010. Live Long and Prosper!

    Buckaroohawk

  9. December 31, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Happy New Year John and everyone here! Thanks for taking the time to post all the updates and share so much wonderful material and good will with us, John!

  10. 11 DeanneM
    December 31, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Boy am I glad that Doug convinced you to start your blog and that you let me know when you actually got it started so I didn’t miss any of the fun!! 🙂 What a year you’ve had; and I know that at times this blog was a refuge for you…and look at the new friends it’s brought. Give that Doug Drexler an extra piece of meat for me next time you go to lunch!! 😀

    Happy New Year to everyone!! See ya next year!

  11. 12 BB43MAN
    December 31, 2009 at 11:34 am

    It’s been a good year for Eavesdropping with Johnny and I look forward to another fine year of posts and friendly bantering! 2009 was, after all, the year that I came to “know” John Eaves and his work and family. And speaking of family, my wife and I thank the heavens that your little girl came through her cancer scare!

    Keep sharing with us, John, your skill, talent and wit! I wish I could hoist some bubbly with you and yours while toasting the new year but, since I cant, I shall simply say (ala: Spock Prime) “Live long and prosper!”

  12. 13 Bender23
    December 31, 2009 at 11:48 am

    A very Happy New Year to you, John, your family and everyone who frequents this blog!

    Far be it from me to instigate anything but are we ending a decade or is that still a year away (my personal opinion is that the next decade begins January 1, 2011)? This debate was raging on various radio shows today.

    Anyway, this has been one of the best web finds for me in 2009! Thank you, John, for making this such a fun place.

  13. 14 Terry
    December 31, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Happy New Year to you and your John,

    Thanks for all the great pics, posts, and behind the scenes stories, I look forward to more of the same. I’m sure the next year will find your family in great health and you are kept busy designing and sharing with us.

    I also wish a Happy New Year to all my fellow Eavesdroppers and look forward to your comments and tidbits as well.

    Terry
    Go Packers beat the Cards😀

  14. December 31, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Thank you! Happy New Year!

  15. 18 the bluesman
    December 31, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    John

    Thanks so much for showing us your work this year, not only the Trek stuff, but other projects and of course the pin up photograpy. It was great to meet you at Wonderfest and talk a bit.
    I’m looking forward to what you are going to post next year…I don;t know when the studios will let you release art for posting, but I’d love to see the work you did for the Green Hornet and Ironman2 and of course more of those wonderful and classy pin up shots!

  16. December 31, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    have a good new year.

  17. December 31, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    This blog definitely ranks on my top list of cool spots for 2009. I was happy when I heard you were starting one, I’ve been admiring your work ever since I got your Generations & First Contact sketchbook and found out you were the guy behind so many great things in the Trek universe. So, thanks for the great year of posts and I’m looking forward to seeing what you bring in 2010 and beyond. 😀

    I’m loving that picture. The Enterprise-E is one sleek, sexy lady. I love all of the classic Trek nods that you included in your sketches and the model department(s) did a great job bringing your vision to life. I’m kinda bummed, though, that they didn’t keep the TOS-style registry setup for the lower saucer. That’s a cool nod to the ship that started it all. At least the triangles made it on. 🙂

  18. 21 Freak
    December 31, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Happy New Year John and everyone that comes here!

    A big Thanks you John for starting this blog and postting some really cool concept art, pin-up pic’s and stories form the film-land!!

    This has to been one if not the best new site of 09!!

    I look forward to what you have for in 2010

    All the best for the NEW year!!

  19. December 31, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    All the best for 2010, John. Hope you and your Family have a very happy and healthy new year.

  20. 23 Lain
    December 31, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Happy New Year!!! Would kinda like to see the “E’ again someday. There are always possibilities I guess.

  21. 24 Barrie Suddery
    December 31, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Happy New Year to all of the Eaves clan, as well as everyone here. It’s been an awesome year both here and on the Drex Files as well as the Okuda Log.

    All the best for 2010. Still no flying cars though….

    whappen?

  22. 25 JNG
    December 31, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    What can I say but thanks for a year of great content on your blog, and may 2010 be the best year yet for you and yours!

  23. 26 Pat Amaral
    December 31, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    John,

    Happy new year, big guy. Here’s to a best 2010 you and yours can possibly have. Hope to see you in May.

    Cheers,

  24. 27 Ben
    December 31, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Happy 2010 John! May God bless you and your family in the new year. By the way, thanks for ending 2009 with the E-E. Beautiful design… always one of my favorites.

  25. 28 Scott D
    January 1, 2010 at 12:00 am

    Thanks for the pictures of the E, John. Happy New Year!

  26. 29 Boris
    January 1, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Happy New Year and all the best to you and your family!

    A basic question on the Nemesis changes: if you had to draw the ship for the FC- or Insurrection-eras, would you draw it with or without the Nemesis modifications? In other words, are they supposed to represent a post-Insurrection in-universe “refit”, or are they a real-world retcon (“it always looked this way, even in FC and Insurrection”). Most of them can be explained as a post-Insurrection refit, but I’m not sure if that was the intent, since your size comparison charts state the same size (2250 feet), even though the nacelles were pulled back a few percent, so the ship should be shorter.

  27. 30 Thomas E. Johnson
    January 1, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Happy new year to you as well John. I hope your daughter recoveres from her cancer, and that 2010 is a blast for you.

    And Your Ent-E still blows away all other Trek ships even a decade and a half after you designed it!

  28. 31 Mark A-C
    January 1, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    A Happy New Year to you John, and to all here at John’s blog.
    Looking forward to this fun blog continuing into 2010 and beyond.
    Cheers
    Mark

  29. January 1, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    Happy New Year to everyone one. I hope it be a happy and healthy one.

    What ever happened to the Endeavour that was to be in First Contact? I remember reading about it in the Book on First Contact. Always wondered what that ship looked like.

    Peace and Long Life.

    Ryan

  30. 33 Si
    January 2, 2010 at 4:05 am

    And a very happy and prosperous New Year to you John and everyone else here! Many thanks for these awesome pics of ‘The-E’. I’m glad you posted this because I’ve been meaning to ask you for some time about your design of this ship and the changes that have been made to it for the new Star Trek Online game. I know that you were working on some new concept ideas for the game when it was being produced by Perpetual. What I wanted to ask is; now that Cryptic have taken over development, did they ask you to update Sovereign class design or did they get one of their own artists to make the changes? If it was the latter, what do you think of the update? I believe they now call the ship the NX-91001.

    Cheers,

    Si

  31. 35 R.J. Minnes
    January 3, 2010 at 1:08 am

    Thanks for all the goodies, making 2009 for us a great year. All the best, prosperity, good health and happiness for you and your family in 2010 !

  32. 36 Si
    January 3, 2010 at 3:07 am

    Both the Noble and Majestic are tweaks of the Sov are they? Fascinating… 3 ships for the design of one!

  33. January 4, 2010 at 3:26 am

    She is the “sexiest” spaceship ever created!!!

  34. 38 patrickivan
    January 4, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Outstanding! Can I be the only one here looking forward to more?😉

  35. January 4, 2010 at 8:43 am

    Well It’s starting out pretty good so far! Happy New Year!

  36. 41 Jamie Thomas
    January 4, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Wishing you all clear horizons and prosperity for 2010.
    Let’s make it the year we all try and do something small, to make a big difference.

  37. January 5, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    Greetings & Salutations, Mr. Eaves. I must say, I love your work on Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, Star Trek: Enterprise, and the later Star Trek movies. What did you contribute to the 2009 movie? I am writing my own science-fiction story which I plan to flesh out as a novel and eventually get published. Should that sell, I will rework it into a feature film screenplay and try to get it made into a movie. I’m curious… Would you be interested in bringing to life the central ship in my story? I have it captured in my imagination, but I can’t draw well, and I absolutely love your design asthetic. Thanks for your work on “Star Trek,” you made these ships look real.

  38. 44 IRML
    February 5, 2010 at 9:44 am

    I don’t suppose you have more photos like these? I’m making a model of this and reference is pretty scarce – even with the recent exhibition there were not many good photos of this model

    • 45 johneaves
      February 5, 2010 at 9:49 pm

      yes I have loads of photos,,, soon they will be posted!!

      • 46 IRML
        February 19, 2010 at 5:49 pm

        cool thanks, it amazes me that there were 100s of photos taken of all the other major models but only about 20 of the E, no good close-ups of anything really

        I’m really struggling for close-ups of the bussards and rear shuttlebay at the moment, but anything you post would be awesome

      • 47 madkoifish
        April 12, 2010 at 1:24 pm

        totally off topic but *THANK YOU* just saved me with that lower rear 3/4, I have messes of auction photos but no one deemed this ship’s tookus worthy of documenting. Im still hunting for a close up of the rear dodad, often labeled as “warp core ejection hatch/mechanism” Looks more like a tractor emitter to me.


Leave a Reply

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

