26
Jun
10

pretty in pink, pin up update with Miss Andrea VanLandingham


Hi all and happy last weekend of JUNE!!!. Thanks for all the fun comments from “Jaws week”    That was a fun post and loved all the stories everyone shared!!!! Today is another fun post and it features pictures of my friend Andrea, she is new to the pin up updates here and even more exciting info about her is this is only her second photoshoot. From the pictures you can see she is a pro and has such confidence and an incredible gift for, and passion for pin up & vintage photography!!! It was a great shoot and we were lucky to be able to spend a few hours at the Traveltown in Burbank!!! It took a lot of conversations to get permission to shoot there and understandably so because that privilege could easily be abused. Since these were for fun and personal use they let us in and it was an incredible place to take pictures!!! The bright contrast of Andrea to the dark and black backgrounds made for some beautiful images!!! Andrea is so much fun to shoot with and quite fearless at climbing all over the train cars to get in the best positions!!!! She is a tall one and with her heels on she towered at about 6 feet tall!!! That awesome pink hair had a natural glow to it and cast a glow around a lot of the pics!!! No Photoshop need here!!! HAAA! After the shoot we took a quick backlot tour of Universal and Andrea knows her old movies like there is no tomorrow!!! At the Psycho house, there is now an actor who plays Norman Bates for the tour. As we got closer to the motel he hopped up and was incredible at capturing the essence of young Mr. Bates!! He never broke character as we talked and got a few phone pictures with him!!! Haaa! It was one cool afternoon, Thanks Andrea!!!!! and I think she would be a great candidate for a classic Trek Shoot???? Here are some of the pics from the shoot!!! Enjoy and have a great weekend!

Andrea 1

andrea 2

Andrea 3, we added smoke n lights to the train in the background!!!

Andrea 4

andrea 5

my personal favorite!

andrea 7

andrea 8, my other fav!!!

andrea 9


25 Responses to “pretty in pink, pin up update with Miss Andrea VanLandingham”


  1. 1 Richard Knapp
    June 26, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Beautiful pictures John – Andrea’s hair color adds a really dramatic contrast to the darker background of the trains. So now we’ve had pinup shots with planes and trains – what’s next? Some classic cars? Great work!

    Have a good weekend,
    Richard

  2. 2 johneaves
    June 26, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Thanks and yes cars are next!!!!

    • 3 Richard Knapp
      June 26, 2010 at 9:58 am

      Can’t wait! I just fixed some kind of adware glitch in my email, so if you got an email or two from me with goofy links in them please ignore them. Take care buddy!

      • 4 johneaves
        June 26, 2010 at 10:04 am

        OK!!!! I am having a lot of trouble with my gmail account thats attached to the blog here!!! I’m only getting sporadic emails,,, how bizarre!!!

  3. 5 Richard Knapp
    June 26, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Have you received anything I sent you? I sure hope I didn’t cause you any problems!

  4. 6 johneaves
    June 26, 2010 at 10:10 am

    I’ll look again but nothing I saw stood out!!!! I’ll be back on the mac this afternoon and have another look!

    • 7 Richard Knapp
      June 26, 2010 at 10:16 am

      Sounds good – let me know what you find. I can resend my original email to you from my work account. I know that one doesn’t have anything goofy going on with it. I’m sorry if I caused you any inconvenience! Thanks again!

  5. 8 the bluesman
    June 26, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Cool stuff. Give Andrea a starfleet uniform and a phaser and go for it.

  6. June 26, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    These are some really sweet pic’s and you say this is only Andrea photoshoot!!

    just looking at these you would think she was a pro.

  7. 12 Buckaroohawk
    June 27, 2010 at 12:33 am

    You weren’t kidding about the pink hair! She’ll certainly stand out in a crowd, that’s for sure. Normally I don’t go for obviously unnatural hair color, but the hairstyle really works with the color. The platinum streaks also add a nice contrast.

    Andrea’s a looker, no doubt about it. Your favorite shot of her is mine as well. The way her face is lit and the subtle color bounce from her hair really sell the photo. And her lips…just wow! Is this really only her second photoshoot? If so, she’s definitely a natural.

    A Trek shoot with her would be great; with her pink hair, though, she’d have to be made up as some alien species. Something exotic, but not so overpowering that her natural beauty is hidden. Got any friends in the FX makeup industry you can call?

    • 13 johneaves
      June 27, 2010 at 6:39 am

      Hey nice review!!!! Andrea will love it!!! Interesting idea with the exotic alien theme!!! Your right, not many can carry a wild hair color like that but it is her on and off camera and it defiantly suits and exemplifies who she is!!!

  8. June 27, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I agree with Buckaroohawk, normally I don’t go for obviously unnatural hair colors either but she makes it work. She’s a beauty, that’s for sure. (too bad she’s got the same name as my sister. ;))

    Those are definitely some great shots. They have a fun and playful quality to them yet you can tell by looking at them that she’s a professional. And she definitely loves the camera as much as it loves her, which is important for models. I definitely agree, she has a glow about her, but I’m about 95% certain that you added a Photoshop soft glow filter to the image that’s your favorite, no matter what you claim. I know of no natural lighting phenomenon (short of using a special filter on the camera) that will make a person glow that much.

    Anywho, great shots as always. I look forward to seeing her in some Trek. She’d definitely fit in with the ’60s style with that hair. (I’m thinking a blue uniform, but that’s up to you and her of course)

    Of this group, I can’t pick a favorite, but the front runners are 2, 3 and your favorite. 😀

    • 16 johneaves
      June 27, 2010 at 9:20 am

      Actually that is a natural glow, I set my camera for the night setting and in certain setups it produces it’s own semi glow and blow out with the exposure!!! I found this out by accident one day when I forgot to switch the night mode off. below is a link to the original untouched picture!!! it is pretty cool and if you mess with the exposure in Photoshop it either gets brighter or more subdued!!!

      • June 27, 2010 at 4:14 pm

        Wow, I didn’t know cameras could do that. (I stand corrected) Of course, I’ve only used digital cameras a few times, I don’t even own one, but I did allow for the possibility that it was a special filter on the camera. (that was where the 5% uncertainty came in😉 That’s a really cool effect, though, and it does look a lot like a Photoshop glow.

      • 18 johneaves
        June 27, 2010 at 4:30 pm

        Yeah give it a go, I shoot with a Sony Alfa Digital SLR,,,,, My old 35mm Minolta would catch a slight halo but not as well as the Digital does!!!

  9. June 27, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Hi John,

    Terrific photos!

    I’m watching the first photo on my new laptop with a fairly contrasted screen but I can see a square around the top of Andrea’s hair. I am guessing it is unintentional but I just wanted to mention it in case you are working on a monitor that is slightly off.

    Anyway, great photos and I love your stuff. Thanks for a great blog!🙂

    -Thomas

  10. 20 Amos
    June 27, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    These pictures blow me away!

  11. 21 Matt Boardman
    June 28, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Not many people can pull off pink hair, but Andrea does it with style! Great pictures! 😀

    • 22 johneaves
      June 28, 2010 at 7:00 pm

      And how!!! I love that color and it was so bright I could even see the pink with my color blind eyes!!!

      • 23 Buckaroohawk
        June 28, 2010 at 11:52 pm

        John, are you really colorblind? I find that amazing, especially since your profession often requires the liberal use of color. If I may ask, what is your specific type of colorblindness? Red/Green is the most common, but there are others. Complete colorblindness (when someone can only see the world in shades of grey, like a black-and-white movie) is very rare. Please forgive any intrusion on my part, but your revelation has me quite curious.

      • 24 johneaves
        June 29, 2010 at 4:29 am

        red n green it is and it is a major nightmare!!! thanks to photoshop I can sample and drag colors off of pictures when I need to color things in the forbidden spectra zone!!!!

  12. 25 outgoingblog
    July 13, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    Wow! Look at that hair! Looks like she had a productive day at the spa! It’s amazing how bright she was able to get the color! I have never seen hair quite that pink!


Leave a Reply

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

