03
Jul
10

Back to the Future, turns 25, part 1


Wow this is one movie anniversary I have been waiting to do a post on but time is thin today so it’s going to be a two parter. July 3rd, 1985 “Back to the Future” opened in theaters across the nation and was an instant hit. today it has reached  a kind of cult Status with conventions, merchandise and a mass following by folks that just can’t get enough of Robert Zemeckis’s classic. Happy Anniversary “BTF” and stay tuned for an in depth & then and now special coming very soon!!!!


13 Responses to “Back to the Future, turns 25, part 1”


  1. July 3, 2010 at 7:48 am

    Wow, it’s 25 years already? I don’t remember the premiere (I was 6 years old) but I grew up watching this movie. It’s one of my favorite time travel movies of all time and, even though it’s a Sci-Fi Comedy, it uses a lot of solid time travel principles, like the ripple effect and the fact that a time machine usually travels through time, not space. (IE: you wind up in the same place in the past, not across the planet or something) Too many “serious” time travel movies ignore one or both of those principles. Plus, it’s funny to boot. I love the blend of Sci-Fi, action, comedy and romance that you get with this movie, it’s definitely a classic in my book. 😀

  2. July 3, 2010 at 9:27 am

    This is one of my favorite films of all time.
    Its got everything, comady, action, drama & Romancancs. It also got a great sounstrack, what more could you ask for.

    What a great choice for the DeLorean to be a time mechine. I don’t think the film would have worked if they had gone with the refrigerator!!

    I was 4 when it came out in the States but 5 five when it was realsied here in the UK. (4 December 1985, taken form IMdb) I forgotten we had to wait six months for a film to come out in the uk after it was realsied in the states.

  3. July 3, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Hehe, saw Conan O’Brien’s tweet about this and came here to see what you had to say.

    “Today’s the 25th anniversary of ‘Back to the Future’ – The movie that popularized DeLoreans, Flux Capacitors, & almost nailing your own mom.”

    I loved all three movies as a kid (and of course still do). Really thrilled and fired up the imagination as far as the story was concerned, but also helped get me interested in special effects. Great, great films that you really can’t get tired of.

  4. 4 Buckaroohawk
    July 3, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    “Back to the Future” was released just a few weeks after I graduated from high school. It was the last summer before I started college and my friends and I were determined to make the most of it. We threw ourselves headlong into our favorite activities, one of which was (naturally) going to the movies. We were blown away during our first viewing of “BTTF” on its opening night. The laughter and cheers from the audience were contagious, and for the first time I saw a movie receive a tremendous standing ovation as the end credits rolled. It was an incredible experience, one I’ll never forget.

    Oh, and we kept going back week after week. By summer’s end we’d seen it 10 times and each viewing was just as much fun as the one before it. It’s a darn near perfect movie and one of my all-time favorites. Happy Birthday, “Back to the Future!”

  5. 5 Barrie Suddery
    July 4, 2010 at 1:25 am

    One of my all time favourite movies. I’ll always remember it as it was released on my birthday!

    Still waiting for the flying cars though…

  6. 7 Matt Boardman
    July 4, 2010 at 6:46 am

    Jumpin’ gigawats and great scott! To say this movie is awsome on so many levels is an understatement. “Back to the Future” is one of those movies that if I catch it on TV when browsing channels (not that that happens that often these days) I have to stop and watch. Can’t even count the number of times I’ve seen the movie, but it never seems enough. ;D Alan Silvestri’s score for the movie is classic!

    Can’t wait to see part 2 of your post, John!! 😀

  7. July 4, 2010 at 8:31 am

    My son, Todd, is a total Back to the Future prop nut and he was only three when this movie came out. He has the hat, the shoes, and eventually I think he is even planning on building himself a hover board.

  8. July 4, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    Great Skott!

    Literally, one of the best movies ever made, awesome story, awesome car, awesome acting, awesome music, love it!

    Now make like a tree, and get outta here🙂

  9. 10 the bluesman
    July 4, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    Don’t forget awesome concepts designs and art by Andrew Probert!

  10. 11 FSL
    July 5, 2010 at 12:24 am

    Has it been that long since? Wow… Love the story, and the music, and its inclination to have fun at every turn. Love it.

  11. 12 Lee Staton
    July 5, 2010 at 8:22 am

    In JJ’s Trek movie I kept hoping they’d cut in a shot of the science lab, with Chris Lloyd agitatedly explaining, “THIS was the original 2285 timeline. Then Spock took the time machine back and created an ALTERNATE 2285!”

    I think Doc Brown is one of the greatest movie characters. Loved him in 1885 with his long coat and souped-up gun. Now THERE’S a garage kit I’d buy!

    Lee

  12. 13 JC
    July 5, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    25!!! Great Scott!!! I missed Back to the Future in theaters😦 But did catch it later that year on VHS and have loved it ever since. From Marty’s amplifier explosion to the DeLorean taking flight at the end…this movie was perfect. I remember having conversations for a couple of years with my friends on the ” TO BE CONTINUED ” at the end. Wondering if it would or if that was just a joke. Sure enough it did and I did get to see those on the big screen.

    And this movie had some really great lines in it. From ” If my calculations are correct, when this baby hits eighty-eight miles per hour… you’re gonna see some serious sh-t. ” to ” What happens to us in the future? Do we become a–holes or something? “. And alot of us to this day still find ourselves quoting them. I find myself quoting ” Do you realize what this means? It means that this damn thing doesn’t work at all ” alot when something is not working right. Usually Windows🙂

    Love this movie and always will. Hopefully it won’t fall victim to being rebooted. It’s great as is and shouldn’t be messed with…ever.


Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

