10
Jul
10

Mad Max beyond thunderdome, the 25th anniversary



11 Responses to “Mad Max beyond thunderdome, the 25th anniversary”


  1. 1 Jay
    July 10, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    Poor Mel. What a mess he’s become. To have risen so high and then to have fallen so far. I really liked him earlier this year in “Edge of Darkness” but wow what a number he has done to his career, to say nothing of his life.

    • 2 deg
      July 11, 2010 at 11:33 am

      Same with me, on all counts. My bro just told me he pulled another kook-out concerning his girlfriend along with more major racial slurs.

      It just amazes me, how a guy can be so brilliantly sensitive and compassionate to portraying the human condition, and yet, when it comes to his real life, all that goes right out the window. I feel so bad for the guy. He made a mountain of money in Jesus’ name, but seems to have completely missed the meaning of His teachings.

      peace & beyond-ness | deg

      PS. Oh, as to the film, finally a point where we differ, bro. I never was crazy about this film. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it, OK, but I do not consider it anywhere near the masterpieces of filmmaking the first two films were, each for their respective reasons and style.

  2. 3 Barrie Suddery
    July 11, 2010 at 1:38 am

    By far the weakest of the Mad Max movies thus far. The first movie showed Max’s descent into grief driven madness and the second showed the redemption of his humanity.

    Thunderdome was just the same story rewritten with children instead of the gasoline manufacturers seen in Road Warrior.

    I’ve heard that there’s going to be another one coming out soon. I hope it’ll show Max’s reintegration with society instead of him staying out in the cold as it were.

    Knowing modern Hollywood though, it’ll almost certainly be a “reimagining of an all-time classic for the modern era.”

  3. 4 ety3
    July 11, 2010 at 4:55 am

    Can’t we just get beyond Thunderdome?

    • 5 JNG
      July 12, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      AAAGGGGGHHHH you beat me to it!

      It’s an interesting film. The first one was my favorite, though; it had a lean, stripped-down quality about it, and yet still some of the best road photography of any film.

      Is there a society left into which Max could reintegrate?

  4. July 11, 2010 at 10:14 am

    I really don’t like this movie. It just felt toned down too much and those annoying kids just came off as Ewoks to me. As for the new movie, without Mel I have no interest in seeing it.

  5. 8 Jason Todd
    July 12, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    I don’t know what was worse, Tina Turner’s acting or those freaking kids.

  6. 9 Jim in NZ
    July 13, 2010 at 12:04 am

    Has there been any further development on the next one, Thunder Road?

    John, at WonderFest 2007 you showed me some of the drawings you’d done when there was talk of a new film (pre Thunder Road?). Have you had any involvement in this new one?

  7. July 13, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Twenty five, really? Jeez. Forgettable film IMHO, the first two pretty much make a story (as noted above – Barrie) and you empathize and with the character throughout. Thunderdome was just cashing in.

    I would not watch the next one simply because I stopped caring for the character. That, and Mel has gone gaw-gaw😀.

  8. July 17, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    I didnt like anything about this movie. Totally ruined the other two for me. The most unbearable part of the movie is the kids, hair looked so stupid and all their “far far away” and “long long ago” really pissed me off lol


Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

