15
Oct
10

Kiowa, the loss of my Daughters horse


Well folks this has been one awful and tragic week. Last Sunday 10-10-10 we were having a big family day at home and My daughters Alicia and Olivia went out to let their horses run in the arena before a sunset trail ride. Alicia’s Horse Kiowa took off with a most beautiful prancy run and then into a full gallop and loving every minute as she ran around the yard. She came around a corner and into the sun and with a high spirited buck she got her leg caught in the fence and was thrown down to the ground. We were all watching and ran to her side as fast as we could. She was hurt bad and the girls had her in their laps and were trying so hard to comfort her as she laid there in pain. Being a Sunday it took over an hour and about 20 calls to finally find a vet that was on duty. My wife found one not to far from us and when he got there and checked her out the diagnosis was very bad and unfixable so she had to be put down. Kiowa was Alicia’s first horse of her own and she has had her since she was 10, and in a few short weeks she will be celebrating her 18th Birthday.. Kiowa was more than a horse, she was Alicia’s partner, best friend, buddy and together they were a perfect team. We have all been devastated this week and have found it hard to do anything without breaking down, but we all have each other and the lord has been watching over us so that has kept us strong.  Alicia and Olivia are some pretty strong cowgirls and they are writing poems and making movies in celebration of their fallen horse Kiowa. Despite this horrible loss they are so glad and thankful for having Kiowa in their lives and for all the memories and life lessons that this beautiful horse has taught them.  A lot of friends here on the blog know about my family and always send notes and comments in regards too and with that I thought I would post this here to share some pictures and video’s of one of our fallen family members. Thanks to everyone that visits here and I hope you enjoy some memories of Kiowa.

 

running home

rounding the barrels

Alicia and Kiowa getting ready to run at last summers weekly thursday afternoon barrel race

Olivia and Chubs on the left and Alicia and Kiowa on the right at the Filmore rodeo

crossing the finish line

weaving thru the poles

one of my faves Alicia, Olivia, and Kiowa, Best friends forever

 


54 Responses to “Kiowa, the loss of my Daughters horse”


  1. October 15, 2010 at 9:30 am

    John

    I am so sorry to Kiowa’s accident. I’ll be praying for you and your family. Your daugther did a great job on the tribute video.

  2. 4 Don
    October 15, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Incredibly tough thing for her to deal with, John. Very sorry to hear about this.

  3. 6 Richard Knapp
    October 15, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Very sorry for your loss. Please pass along my condolences to your daughters.

  4. 8 deg
    October 15, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    OMG, I am sOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO sorry to hear that.😦 Wahhhhhhhhhhhh! I cried before i even saw the wonderful tribute video and a balled all the way through it. Kiowa was lucky to have Alicia and vise-versa. OMG, the loss, Kiowa was like a big puppy a member of your guys’ family! I’m sO sorry for you guys and esp. Alicia. My heart breaks for you all. Such a beautiful spirit. I’m speechless… I have to go hug my puppies and cat, I’m sO sorry, Alicia.😦

    I’m glad you had the time you had together. Still, waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah…

    God bless you all and beautiful Kiowa. THanks for making that vid, Alicia, so I could know Kiowa just a little bit through your eyes. Waaaaaaaaaa..

    Sadly,
    deg

    • 9 johneaves
      October 15, 2010 at 3:52 pm

      DEG!!!! Thanks my buddy!!!! I was writing this up a couple of days ago and was getting pretty misty so I stopped by your page and had a few moments of escape!!! Thanks for the momentary distraction!!! loved looking at your work and dreaming away!!! Yeah it has made life different around here, we all feel different and had that realization of how fragile and unpredictable life is!!!!!! We sure are thankful for having Kiowa in our lives but boy do we miss her bad and wish we could go back in time for a bit!!!

      • October 15, 2010 at 6:26 pm

        …and had that realization of how fragile and unpredictable life is!!!!!!

        That was my exact thought too, bud. Comes down to it, we’re all just hangin’ by a thread. Again, so sorry. Glad my site served as a short port in the sadness storm. I lost two pups within two weeks of each other years ago. They were both only 1.7 years old, and we were super close as I am with my animals. It destroyed me, but I got over it (sorta, still saddens me to tears me to this day if I think too hard on it). But time heals most of the pain. Again, my prayers are with you guys in this sad time.

        deg

  5. 11 Chris Walker
    October 15, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    John! I’m stunned. I am so sorry for the loss of Kiowa. How did you keep such a cheerful face picking up the equestrian plaque for your daughters?? Please pass my condolences and love to your family, from “the guy who made your plaque”.
    Chris

    • 12 johneaves
      October 15, 2010 at 3:47 pm

      Thanks Chris, I have to ride high on the other end of the spectrum or else I breakdown!!! Bizarre emotional state this loss has had!!!

  6. 13 Bender23
    October 15, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    John –

    I am very sorry to hear of your loss. My condolences to you and your family.

  7. 15 BB43MAN
    October 15, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    John, I’m so very sorry. We had horses when I was a child and I cried when we had to sell them (heck, I’m tearing up now just thinking of what you fine folks are going through!). Being a horseman myself this hits me hard. Thanks for those wonderful photos. Kiowa was a beautiful creature. My wife and I will be keeping you and the Eaves family in our thoughts.

    • 16 johneaves
      October 21, 2010 at 10:33 am

      Thank you so much and so sorry that you had to sell yours!!! Glad to hear from a fellow horseman and thanks for your kind words and thoughts.

  8. 17 JoeRalat
    October 15, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Hey John, I am very so sorry to hear that. I know how it feels to lose a pet. Sometimes people don’t understand that it’s like loosing family. Last year I lost one of my dog that I had for 12 years. I was the one who found her passed away. This year I had to put my other dog down, because he just gotten too old and sick. It’s hurts because you feel helpless to do anything, but you know they are in pain and thats even worst.

    It’s hard when you have to make that Choice to have them put down. That pain will always be with you, but I hope it lessens as time goes on.

    Again, I am so sorry to hear about this and wish you and your family all the best.

    • 18 johneaves
      October 21, 2010 at 10:36 am

      Thanks Joe. We have a pretty big place full of animals and lots of dogs and it is always sad times when they pass away or even worse when you have to put them down!!! hard times indeed and I thank you so for your note and best wishes.

  9. October 15, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    So sorry to hear about your loss. I lost my best buddy a little over a year ago and it still isn’t easy for me. I still tend to make room for him at the foot of the bed and I had to get rid of my comforter because they were the same color, sometimes I’d think I see movement out of the corner of my eye so it had to go. I keep his ashes by the computer.
    Again very sorry.

    • 20 johneaves
      October 21, 2010 at 10:38 am

      It is so true,, I see the same thing out of the corner of my eye when I look towards the pasture, wishful thinking I guess. I am so sorry about you loosing your buddy,,, so glad we can all share these hard times with each other. Thank you for writing about this.

  10. 21 Matt Boardman
    October 15, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Oh, John, I’m so sorry to hear about Kiowa! I suppose these moments teach us to value the times that we have with each other because you just never know when they will be over. May the Lord bless you and your family with peace and comfort and the knowledge that Alicia will have the chance to ride Kiowa again some day.

    Dang it. Now I’m getting misty eyed.

    “A horse is the projection of peoples’ dreams about themselves – strong, powerful, beautiful – and it has the capability of giving us escape from our mundane existence.” – Pam Brown

    • 22 johneaves
      October 21, 2010 at 10:40 am

      Thanks Matt for the prayers and the poem,,, very kind words said my friend, and Alicia has been reading all of these warm wishes and it sure has meant a lot to all of us.

      Thanks again

  11. 23 Buckaroohawk
    October 16, 2010 at 12:16 am

    The loss of a beloved family member, be it human or animal, is never easy to go through. I’ve lived my whole life in the company of cats and when any of them died it crushed me every single time. Anyone who has lived with an animal knows that they are so much more than just “pets;” they’re companions, confidants, comforters, and friends of the highest order. As I write this two of my best friends, Siobhan and Ella, sleep soundly by my side and I cannot bear to think of the day when they won’t be with me anymore.

    Alicia’s relationship with Kiowa was different, though. More than all the things I said above Alicia and Kiowa were partners, teammates in a sport that shows just how beautiful and graceful the combination of human and animal can be. That kind of connection doesn’t come easily and it’s loss, especially in such a tragic and surprising accident, must be hard for your family to accept.

    My heart goes out to you and your entire family, John; and especially to Alicia, who must bear the brunt of this terrible loss. The photos and video show a wonderful relationship between two obviously kindred spirits and it’s my wish that someday Alicia will be able to find that again. Please relate my sympathies to your family and know that I mourn with them. I hope that peace returns to all of you soon.

    • 24 johneaves
      October 26, 2010 at 7:44 am

      Thanks Buckaroo, sorry that you have been there too!!!! It was a pretty special relationship the two of them had!!! Alicia was always braiding her main or riding here somewhere. Sadly this was to be her last year in high school rodeo and she had plans to take Kiowa with her to college rodeo…. Just another reminder that plans can change in a heartbeat… Kiowas passing sure changed all of us,, we all seem to appreciate everything and each other a little more than before. Well my friend I can’t thank you enough for writing this note. It sure means a lot to us all!!!

  12. 25 Barrie Suddery
    October 16, 2010 at 5:47 am

    My sincerest condolences to Alicia and the rest of your family for your recent loss. Pets have a way of working their way into even the most cynical of hearts and provide companionship and joy throughout even the most difficult times.

    All the best and as we say here in Britain, “Keep a stiff upper lip!”

  13. 29 Terry
    October 16, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    I am sorry to hear of your family’s loss, I have friends who have had horses and they all say that the relationship with one is far more personal than any other animal that we let into our lives. Know that I will give my Newfies and extra hug for you and yours.

    Terry

    • 30 johneaves
      October 26, 2010 at 7:53 am

      Thanks Terry, Yes I believe that too. I’ve always had dogs growing up and it was hard when they passed on but nothing like when Kiowa had to be put down. Such a beautiful and elegant animal and it was not only a special companion to Alicia but from afar we could see how much Kiowa watched over Alicia. She always would be there and protected here like a guard dog. Your the best and thanks again terry for writing.

  14. October 16, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    That’s a sad loss, John. I hope this doesn’t sour your family on riding – I doubt it will). When my father lost his horse, he lost all interest, got rid of all his gear and tackle, didn’t ride for years. It’s only now my daughter is starting to learn (she’s five and has taken to it like a duck to water!) that he’s started again.

    • 32 johneaves
      October 26, 2010 at 7:56 am

      Your dad is riding again because of your Daughter???? What a wonderful story…. Yeah it hits everyone in different ways thats for sure. Alicia defiantly has the never give up attitude yet keeps a very sensitive heart to everything!!! You’ll have to send over some pics of your little rider.. I would love to see those.

  15. October 16, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    I’m sorry to hear that, John. As a fellow Horse lover I know how hard it must be now for you and your family. These great animals become members of our family. I always feel there is such a deep bond formed with Horses and Dogs as they are very sensitive creatures towards us and they sure do help get you through some tough days sometimes. You guys take care of yourselves.

    • 34 johneaves
      October 26, 2010 at 7:58 am

      Well said and so true, Dogs and horses do seem to have a very strong urge to bond and protect their families and we sure have a lot of both at our house. Thanks for the note and very nice to hear you too have horses as a part of your family.

  16. 35 Dan
    October 17, 2010 at 7:09 am

    I am sorry for your loss.

  17. 37 Space Jockey
    October 17, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Sorry to hear of your family’s loss John. Horses are such beautiful animals.
    Best,
    -SJ/GJL

  18. October 17, 2010 at 9:59 am

    So sorry to hear about the loss.😦

    My girl-friend is riding too, and her horse (that she shares with other riders) is much like a family member (and one that I occasionally feel like competing with).

    I hope Alicia finds a new four-legged friend, and that doesn’t lose the fun of riding.

    R.I.P. Kiowa

    • 40 johneaves
      October 26, 2010 at 8:01 am

      Thanks Bernd and I am sure your competing for effection, haaa, I guess thats why men are always called dogs cause they just want to be petted too, HAAA! Thanks for the kind note my friend.

  19. 41 Steve Kazmeroff
    October 17, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    John and family,

    Wow! I’m very, very sorry to hear about your loss. I’m more of a lurker here and this is my first post. The video is incredible and tugs on the heart. Your daughter did a great job with that video. The biggest thing that stands out to me, through the video and photos, is that Kiowa was happy and truly loved and bonded with your daughter🙂 It’s a two way street. Kiowa was lucky to have you guys as well.

    Steve

    • 42 johneaves
      October 26, 2010 at 8:03 am

      WOW Thanks Steve for stopping by and writing such a kind note. Yes they were both very blessed to have each other and it was a treat for my wife and I to watch them grow up together. It was very nice of you to take the time to write and it really means a lot to all of us. Thanks

  20. 43 Jay
    October 17, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    My sympathies are late but nonetheless sincere – so very sorry for the loss to your family, sir. And it really is a loss to the family. The animals we take to heart really do become a part of our lives.

  21. 45 Dave Horvath
    October 18, 2010 at 9:24 am

    John and family,
    It’s a horrible thing to loose a pet. Having gone though it, I wouldn’t wish it on anyone. Loosing a beautiful animal that you worked and lived with day in and day out for years has to be beyond anything I can imagine. My thoughts and prayers go out to you and your daughters.

    • 46 johneaves
      October 26, 2010 at 8:10 am

      Thank you so much Dave and it is always hard to loose a beloved animal. We live on a ranch with a lot of animals so sadly accidents and short life spanse have always made untimely passings of the girls animals a common thing from early on, so as hard as it is the lessons of how fragile life is, is not a stranger to them.. It does make it slightly easier having that as a background but it doesn’t do anything about how much it hurts the heart. Thanks for your prayers for my family and that always means a lot.

  22. 47 mikephys
    October 18, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I’m so sorry this happened to your family. May God bless you and keep you!
    Mike

    • 48 johneaves
      October 26, 2010 at 8:11 am

      Thanks for the beautiful note Mike, God is always watching over our home and we are oh so grateful. Thanks for the prayers my friend

  23. October 20, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    What a wonderful thing to have had so Beautiful a Horse. Very sorry for your loss.

    • 50 johneaves
      October 26, 2010 at 8:12 am

      Thanks Chris, She was a beautiful horse and she brought so many years of joy and happiness to Alicia and the whole family!!! We were very blessed to have her.

      Thanks

  24. 51 Patrick Rogers
    October 20, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Just a lurker here but I wanted to say I am so, so sorry for your family’s loss.

    • 52 johneaves
      October 26, 2010 at 8:14 am

      Hey Patrick, I am glad you lurk here and Thank you so much for taking a moment to write a quick note to Alicia… Your very kind and Alicia reads all of these comments quite often.

  25. November 1, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Do keep my family and spicaly my daughter who living USA she having the hard time with her husband having the evil way to treating. and for my other three children and my friend a daughter and for my perment job to be blessed. May God bless you all.

    In christ
    Abraham Rajan
    Mobile +966 544234320

  26. 54 Bob Slade
    November 21, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Hello, I wanted to say hello and extend my condolences to your family on this horrible loss. I meant to contact you prior to the eBay auction closing but loss track of time. I was wondering if you did any commission work and if your relationship with the Star Trek franchise would allow you to? If so drop me a note at prim88@comcast.net. Thanks Bob


Leave a Reply

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

