20
Nov
10

The fundraiser and the bay stadium


horizontal

First I wanted to say thanks for all of you who are participating in the fundraiser auction for Alicia!!!  We had sold a lot of art and have made $1000.00 so far. Rob Holts asked me to make a combo pic of all of the images from Archers ready room and here are both versions of this combo. I also just added them to the list of auction items at

Ghosts of Mars, mining colony
daniza 3

Lots of great support and I can’t thank you all enough.

For todays post here are some designs from The episode called “Home” from ST Enterprise. For the welcoming of the crew of the NX-01 back to Earth after winning the battle against the Xindi, Archer and his crew land one of the shuttle pods in a massive stadium for an enthusiastic hero’s welcome. The shot was to take place in San Francisco and the city has been so well established in all the films and shows that to suddenly drom a huge stadium into the skyline just wouldn’t work in keeping with what has already been seen. So for the solution we came up with the idea of a stadium built in the bay and located somewhat around the old WWII ship yards so as to just keep it out of view from the bay views that are usually seen from the Sausalito side of the Golden Gate Bridge. It was an great place for the stadium and one fun piece of architecture to work on. The base is a ship and train port followed by a hotel-resort section in the middle with the stadium itself on top. in addition a handful of  little Zeppelin type ships got to be added to the final concept. I just started watched Enterprise for the first time since the original broadcasts and I forgot what a fun show this one was.  After seeing “Home” I went and dug these pics out of the files for todays story. OK  gang have a great weekend and catch up with everyone next week.

vertical format

the bay viewthe sky view

the sky view


45 Responses to “The fundraiser and the bay stadium”


  1. November 20, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Those are sweet. I love the pics from Archer’s ready room and it’s great seeing them all at once like that. I also think that stadium is really cool. It was a great setting for their big “welcome home,” even if the good feelings were short-lives, as far as some people on Earth were concerned. Have you got anything on the civilian ships from that episode and the ones that followed? There were some great designs in those episodes that weren’t on screen long enough, IMO.

  2. 3 L.M. Oliver
    November 20, 2010 at 11:17 am

    I believe that second view of the Bay Stadium is not actually of Archer & Co. but of the Rolling Stones’ 22nd Century Farewell Tour. It’s kind of infamous because they hired a Nausicaan biker gang to provide security and things got a little out of hand.

  3. 5 Richard Knapp
    November 20, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Beautiful work – I really like the futuristic airship hoveing over the stadium in the second picture.

    Glad to hear the fundraiser is going well – I’m standing by to make my contribution!

    Thanks for posting and have a great weekend,
    Richard

    • 6 johneaves
      November 20, 2010 at 6:38 pm

      Thanks Mr. Knapp!!!! and We spent the day working out all the weights and postage at the PO so I’ll be sending an email later.

      Have a good one.

      J

      • 7 the bluesman
        November 21, 2010 at 7:07 am

        John

        stamps.com is a great resource, you can print shipping labels with postage from home and not have to mess with trips to the post office

      • November 21, 2010 at 9:40 am

        I use stamps.com too, but unless you ship on a regular basis, at least a couple packages per week, then its not worth it. There’s a monthly fee in addition to the cost of postage, which is commercial base pricing so its slightly cheaper than going to the PO. Then you have the cost of labels for printing postage. Its a great service, but only if you ship enough to make it cost effective. There are also rules for which service used that the PO will explain, that you need to be aware of when shipping from home. One that is important is that rigid flat mailers are NOT large envelopes, they have to be paid for as packages, which are about 50 cents more. If this is the only time you’ll be shipping a lot of stuff, I dont recommend it, but if you’re going to the PO all the time, then yeah, get it, as it saves a lot of time.

    • 9 johneaves
      November 21, 2010 at 7:36 pm

      Thanks men!!! and I have researched the stamps site long ago and I never mailed enough to use….. Thanks for the fine recommendation, you guys are the best!

      • 10 the bluesman
        November 21, 2010 at 8:37 pm

        I dont ship alot either but the convience of not driving to the post ofice and waiting in line is well worth it to me.

  4. November 20, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    the stadium reminds me of some of joe johnstons artwork for bespin from empire strikes back. it’s a fantastic design nonetheless.

    • 12 johneaves
      November 20, 2010 at 6:44 pm

      H_O_L_Y___C_O_W!!!!!! I saw your note and raced to my bookshelf and dug out mt J. Johnston book and it is almost an exact rip…. I actually was inspired from a piece I saw from a fellow artist when we were working on a show called XO. He had designed a complex in line with the bay stadium and that was kind of where I started from,,, I havent looked at my Johnston books in at least a decade and I must have kept that image in my subconscious and was inspired through memories,, How funny. Thanks for the note and sorry it is so exact that now I’ll be known as a thief of Joe’s work, HAAAAA!

  5. 15 the bluesman
    November 20, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Glad to hear the fund raiser is going well.

    Hope it continues on this positive trend.

    • 16 johneaves
      November 20, 2010 at 6:46 pm

      Thanks Justin and so love your logo!!!!! It is so awesome. I sent it to Alice’s email and something fouled up so it is off again. great work as usual my friend,,, is that all Illustrator by the way????

      • 17 the bluesman
        November 20, 2010 at 9:12 pm

        John

        Thanks for the compliment, I hope Alicia enjoys it too.

        Yep, it was done in Illustrator after I did a half dozen hand drawn sketches to work out the concept.

        I like the stadium concept here, but I just cant help seeing giant phoosball handles on that thing.

      • 18 johneaves
        November 20, 2010 at 9:40 pm

        HAAAAA!!!!!! your right,,, not much of those in AZ when I was a kid,, It was always electric football of air hockey!!!

  6. 19 JoeRalat
    November 20, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Hey John happy to hard about the money that was raise. Its nice to see the readyroom photos. Not sire if you will have this photo for the fundraiser, but its a photo of a early NX sketch that looked more like TOS Enterprise.

    A hope its cool to throw out a few other ideas to raise money.It may be good for the fundraiser or something down the road.

    Idea 1.) “A Bonus Feature DVD” One of the cool things about the movie dvd are the Bonus feature on the dvd. I alway wish that the studio would do dvd sets just of Bonus stuff talking about the sketches or the graphic in the movies or shows.

    What about making a dvd like that, talking about the sketches maybe have a section on the dvd with a tutorial on how to sketch a starship.

    Idea 2.) An Ipad app. I am working on a free tech manual of the Star Ship Voyager. I was thinking why not do a magazine with your sketches with videos and audio. You could also do a app thats all about the Enterprise-E and do sketches of different sections of the ship not seen in the movies.

    If this is something you want to consider, just shoot me a email at JoeRalat@gmail.com

    Wish you all the best with the Fundraiser

    • 20 johneaves
      November 21, 2010 at 7:42 pm

      Thanks Joe and I will write you!!! I’m putting together a new list of stuff for the fundraiser compiled of all the request for special things coming in, so yes I’ll put up those early NX ship ideas for you

  7. November 21, 2010 at 1:47 am

    Love the ready room pic.

    • November 21, 2010 at 9:43 am

      When I asked for it I thought it’d be a long shot, but getting all 5 images separate was beyond the budget, and there just isn’t the space for them at my apt. I’m really appreciative that John was willing to accommodate my request. I was also hoping other people would want the same thing so it would help him even more.

      • 23 johneaves
        November 21, 2010 at 7:38 pm

        Thanks Rob, it was a great idea you had to put them all together as one piece… Thanks buddy and I love how it turned out!!!

    • 24 johneaves
      November 21, 2010 at 7:39 pm

      Thanks FREAK!!!!

  8. 25 r0wl
    November 21, 2010 at 7:46 am

    Hey!
    Love your Pic of the Enterprise B. I ever wondered what a 24- century-class variant of the Excelsior would look like! Would be a nice Idea for a new show, eh? Big, well-known ship with an “E”, but not AGAIN an Enterprise! What do you think?

    • 26 johneaves
      November 21, 2010 at 7:37 pm

      I’d love to see another show!!!!

      • November 21, 2010 at 8:19 pm

        If they did another ST series I’d want it to be a little mix of TNG with BSG. I want to really get to know the cast, but I wouldn’t want it to be ‘everyone has a huge problem’ like SGU, not that I dont like SGU. I just think the typical Trek format has run its course.

  9. 28 r0wl
    November 21, 2010 at 7:50 am

    The last comment was about the fundraiser. Hope everyone noticed. (There´s actually no way to edit a post?) Would really like to know how you would approach a newer Version of the Excelsior!

  10. November 22, 2010 at 4:16 am

    The composite of the ready room drawings would make a great print too! But I’m content with the ones I picked.

    Love the Bay Stadium!

  11. 31 doubleofive
    November 22, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Hey John, remember when I won a “prize” for guessing that you were going to do a tribute to Psycho? Is that still valid? Can I choose a print for my very own?

    I understand that its a fund raiser, I don’t want to take money from you, just curious.

  12. 34 the bluesman
    November 22, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    The ready room art is very cool. When I saw the art in the show, it reminded me of the photos and art we had up in the offices and my CO’s office when I was in the Kansas Air Guard.

    • 35 johneaves
      November 23, 2010 at 7:52 am

      coool, I always loved the art n photos on the walls in the old I Dream of Jeannie show, and when I go to the base it’s the same,, it is fun to see that also in Star Trek

      • 36 the bluesman
        November 23, 2010 at 9:22 am

        Huh…I was always looking at Barbara eden and you’re looking at Tony’s art and aircraft photos!

        ha ha

      • 37 johneaves
        November 23, 2010 at 11:35 am

        HAAAA! NOOOOO! Barbara Eden was always first but when she blinked out of the scen there was cool art to take her place, HAAA!

  13. November 22, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Yo Johnny! Have you seen the show Hollywood Treasures on Wed nights on SyFy Channel?

    http://www.syfy.com/hollywoodtreasure/

    OMG, the paydays this original movie stuff goes for on auctions is insane. If I were you, I would contact Joe Maddalena (the guy that owns “Profiles in History” his auction biz) and see if he is interested in any of your original Trek or other movie art. Can’t hurt to call, and I have seen concept art up on his auction blocks.

    peace & bananas & auction paydays | deg

    • November 22, 2010 at 2:50 pm

      They auctioned off the new KITT Knight Rider car? Didn’t you design that ride? And I’ve seen G.I. Joe stuff as well.

      • 40 the bluesman
        November 22, 2010 at 3:25 pm

        Deg I only watched the one with Erin Grey with her melted Starfighter model, and only watched becaue well..it’s Erin Grey. She’s jsut as cool in person as she was to the guys on the show.

    • 41 johneaves
      November 23, 2010 at 7:58 am

      Thanks DEG, I haven’t seen the show yet but Brian and Joe are buds, there an awesome team and just heard of the show from Nelson last week. How are you doing by the way???? Miss seeing you around my friend

  14. November 22, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    Oh wow……I think I need to add that image of all 5 ships to my order! Very awesome!

  15. 45 Matt Boardman
    November 25, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    Ohhh…very nice! I always loved those pictures that you drew up for Archer’s ready room! They look brilliant together!

    Love the staduim! Wonder what other events they hold in there. I’d buy tickets to go see San Fran take on anyone! 😉


Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

