18
Jan
11

Alexandra gunn, a pin up update


alex and the red dress #1

Happy new year Everyone, it’s finally 2011, and I’m so looking forward to the start of a new year and sharing more stuff from the world of Hollywood and Star Trek with you all.  This March will mark the second anniversary of the blog and there will be a whole lot of new Starship dedications to many of the readers here, as well as interviews with some of the cast & crew and a whole lot of art and photos from the Trek world.  So without any further delays, here we go….

For the first official post of the new year I want to introduce you to Alexandra Gunn.  Alex is fairly new to the modeling world with about 6 months of work to her credit, and without hesitation I would say she has all it takes to go very, very, far.  She is very passionate about the art, and she can really capture a fantastic array of styles and eras both elegantly and also in the true spirit of the vintage past.  Alex and I met for the first time a few weeks back at Mark Thompson’s aviation yard, and the ground was still covered in snow.  Despite the weather, Alex had her heart set on doing a good part of the shoot in a leopard print dress and ignored the elements to capture a series of very beautiful images.  Both her parents were there to lend a hand & be a part of the shoot, and they are a great inspiration for her.

Alex loves to sing and has just won an acting and modeling contract and is about to head off to Texas to follow her dream.  Inspired by the sirens of the silver screen, Rita Hayworth and Marilyn Monroe, Alex tries to follow in their style from a bygone era making everything she does a homage but also making her style very much her own.  Alex is 19 , lives in Palmdale CA, and at 5’3 she thought modeling might not be something she could do successfully with the commonly accepted thought that you have to be extremely tall to make it big.  Alex proves that theory wrong and has created some of my most favorite pictures.  For our last shoot, Alex took on the Star Trek Red Dress theme and so wonderfully conquered the look and feel of the 60’s adding her own style and mark with this fun running series.

Be sure to stay tuned for more of Alex as she is about to go Brunette, and hopefully before she makes it to the big time we can catch her for another shoot . OK then, enjoy the work of Alex and be sure to check out her Model Mayhem page by following the link below.

http://www.modelmayhem.com/1889244

red dress #2

Alexandra

Alex and the C-130

Alex and the Beachcraft

Alex and the Huey

Alex and the Huey 2

Alex and the Huey 3

Alex the amazon queen

Alex in the road

Alex


28 Responses to “Alexandra gunn, a pin up update”


  1. January 18, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Nice to see more of the same in 2011. Alex is a real beauty, I think it’s great that she’s challenging the archaic standard that you have to be six feet tall and rail thin to be a model. Fortunately, that standard is starting to die because women are beautiful in many shapes and sizes.

    As much of a Trekkie as I am and as great as she looks in that Trek dress, the Leopard print dress shots are my favorite, especially 2 and 3. Those are just awesome.

    It’s also great to see you back, John, I’m looking forward to seeing what you have to bring in 2011. 🙂

  2. 4 DeanneM
    January 18, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Nice shots, John and Alex!! The blue dress in the road shot..so 40’s, I felt like I was back there, and the others capture the era as well.

    And look, edited in a timely manner.🙂 I know there are MANY deserving soon to be Starship recipients and it’s COOL they will “get theirs” soon, but I still want orthos so I can get a gold plated model of my little beauty one day.😀 I proudly showed a friend a couple days ago, but one of these talented modelers on the blog making a live 3D model would really rock. ::nudge, nudge, cough “orthos” cough:: Heh, like you have nothing better to do…I know.🙂

    • 5 johneaves
      January 18, 2011 at 10:56 am

      Yeah Desert D is back and you have been greatly missed!!! I know school keeps ya busy but all your friends and buds here sure have been missing YOU!!!

      • 6 DeanneM
        January 18, 2011 at 12:28 pm

        Just glossing over the orthos request, are ya? heh

        I miss me blog buds❤

      • 7 johneaves
        January 18, 2011 at 4:24 pm

        what are you saying about the orthos???

      • 8 DeanneM
        January 18, 2011 at 8:08 pm

        It was in reply to you saying others are gonna get great new ships of their own, but I am a selfish brat and want orthos of mine so someone can make a model or render it for meh.🙂

        I have shown friends my ship, but orthos would be nice…one day when you have time. Mhmm 😀

  3. 9 Terry
    January 18, 2011 at 11:47 am

    I like the pic of Alex on the road, I can so see two hot rods zooming by her any second now.

    Terry

  4. 11 the bluesman
    January 18, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Very nice, John. Of course I am lovin the shot with the Beech 18/C45, but all the shots are great. we’ll have to talk about the calendar thing again.

  5. January 18, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Once again you’ve proven yourself the Jim Kirk of the design world, John. You really do have a girl in every port don’t you?

    Alexandra looks stunning in all the shots and the leopard skin prints definitely stand out.

    I wish her all the best in her future career.

    P.S. Please feel free to head over to my new blog to check out my thoughts on the Green Hornet movie as well as some other things. I’d appreciate your feedback.

    • 14 johneaves
      January 18, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      Oh yeah!!! I missed the cast and crew screening last week and havent see the Hornet yet. Lots of fun to work on but I am not sure if was going to be good or not!!!. Alexandra is awesome and were going to be doing more soon!!!! looking forward to seeing her brunette look!!!

  6. 15 Richard Knapp
    January 18, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    Just beautiful – you gotta love a red head! Happy New Year to you and yours John!

    Thanks for posting,
    Richard

  7. 17 Buckaroohawk
    January 19, 2011 at 12:08 am

    Uhhh…Wow! Alex has the look that fictional detective Phillip Marlowe would describe as “dangerous in all the right places.” And her smile, well, I’m sure it went a long way toward warming up that chilly day at the airfield! Alex is a lovely young lady and I hope she finds the success she’s working so hard for.

    Glad to see the pin-ups back in 2011, John. I didn’t know you worked on “The Green Hornet.” I’d love to see a blog entry about your designs for the film.

    • 18 johneaves
      January 19, 2011 at 5:03 pm

      She does have the look that Detective Marlowe would comment on!!! Alex is great fun to work with and glad you like the pics!!! Yeah the Green Hornet was a long time ago,, we worked on that in the Summer of 09, I almost forgot about it!!!!

  8. January 19, 2011 at 1:41 am

    Happy New year to you John, Glad to see you back.

    Got to say I love these pic’s, you out done yourself this time. I am really loving the Trek Shots as well as the Leopard print dress shots. But my Fav is the one of Alex in the middle of the road.

    Alex is a stunner with that girl next door look.
    I am sure Alex will look great as Brunette, but I have always got a soft spot for a red head.😉

  9. January 19, 2011 at 7:50 am

    Just looked at Alex modelmayhem page. She looks stunning as a Brunette.
    She also got a few more of John’s shots up in her gallery, so you guys should check it out.

  10. January 19, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Some really nice shots there. My favorites by far are the ‘Alex and the Huey (1)’ and ‘Alex in the road’. I think the later really catches the era perfectly🙂

  11. 25 Matt Boardman
    January 19, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    Oh yeah! Nice way to start off the year with another beautiful lady and some stunning photos! Been watching “The Pacific” the past couple of days and can’t help but think there would have been some Marines who would have been glad to glimpse on Ms. Gunn before heading off to defend the country!

  12. January 24, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    NIce shots. Alex has got some smokin’ curves! I love the red hair too. All she needs is some stockingw with the line down the back. I was thinking those “Classic” pinups would be great in black and white, but we’d lose the sweet red hair. My wife loves the leopard print!

    Good work, keep it up!

    • 28 johneaves
      January 24, 2011 at 10:05 pm

      Thanks I forgot to draw the line on the stockings!!!! true with the B&W, the ones we did are equally stunning but that red hairs needs to glow so the color pics win. HAAAA Thanks for the comment.


Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

