17
Mar
11

happy 2nd anniversary to the blog!!!


Miss Kay Jay

Hey everybody,  yesterday was the second anniversary of Eavesdropping and I forgot to do a post and thank everyone who stops by here and has made this such a fun place to meet up and share stories and pictures of our favorite things. So many great friends I have met here and I can’t thank you all enough for sharing in the topics of the day and especially for all the support that has been given to my family through all the rough times!!! This year is leveling out so hopefully the blog can get back on track and more regularly too. In honor of the anniversary today’s topic will be phaser’s and red dresses! 10 years ago last month the early days of “Enterprise” were in the works and the show was just starting to be designed. Sets props, ships costumes, everything and the art department was assembled with the same group of notorious faces from DS9 and some new ones as well. Jim Martin had rejoined the show as the key prop designer and that man put out one intensive pile of drawings and designs!!! Always a pleasure to work with Jim and I’ve always been a fan. Next month there will be a special on the art of Martin and can’t wait to get it all put together. As the went our boss Herman Zimmerman would throw so many things out at once that in many occasions we would all cross the line from one aspect of the show to the other. one day we would be doing sets then we would both be doing props and on and on. The producers of the show loved variety an so Herman always tried to show as much art as possible during the meetings. Jim had drawn up some really wicked looking weapons and Before the meeting Herman had me draw up a few as well. What you see today are three of those rough ideas which were used as fodder to push forward Jim’s very polished illustrations that Herman and the prop department really liked. Lots of fun and always interesting to see how Herman would try to work and bend the crowd towards what he was thinking. The feel for the weapons is a bit heavier and gritter that what has been seen before and loving the assault Phaser from Trek V and VI, I kind of followed that idea in more of a militaristic fashion.

So enough about Phasers, Here is a newest member of the Red Dress series, Miss Kay Jay from Phoenix Arizona. I was back in my home state  through most of the month of February and while I was there I got to do a couple of shoots with some old friends, but I was ever so privileged to work with Kay Jay for the very first time.We did a long shoot at a couple of locations and we covered vintage military pin up with both an Air Force, and an Army theme (for her Fiance who is in the Army) out at Falcon Field in Mesa AZ, and wrapped out the day with a more elegant pin up theme and ended with the Red Dress series. Kay has a magic to be sure and she so artistically paints a beautiful canvas using herself as the medium!! She has a great talent and I love what she brought to the Star Trek theme. A mixture of action, grace, and sultry fashion, really elevated what we have seen here so far!!! So with all that said enjoy the art, pics and also visit Kay’s modeling page from the link below. So stay tuned for more entries this week and More of Miss Kay Jay in the near future!!

http://www.modelmayhem.com/1889569

phase 1

phase 2, the two part unit as originally invisioned in the TOS

phase 3 the blaster version

Kay

Kay 2


46 Responses to “happy 2nd anniversary to the blog!!!”


  1. 1 Wolvster
    March 17, 2011 at 10:30 am

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY JOHN !!!!
    Now point me to the cake ???? 🙂

  2. March 17, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Beautiful lady, wicked ass guns – what’s not to like! Happy anniversary dude!

  3. 6 Sotirios Moshonas
    March 17, 2011 at 10:47 am

    Happy Second Anniversary, Mr. Eaves!

    I must have to admit, Lt. Cmdr Kay Jay is hot, sexy and a beautiful woman. Her beau is lucky to have her. May she and her beau live long and prosper. Long life and happiness.

    Along with the cake, may I have some ice cream as well? LOL!

    Thank you for your time, Mr. Eaves. Have a great weekend.

  4. March 17, 2011 at 10:51 am

    Congrats on the anniversary, John. It’s been a great couple of years with some really interesting stories and great artwork and photography. I’m looking forward (as always) to seeing what else you have up your sleeve. 😀

    Lovely shots of Kay and the phaser concepts are cool. 🙂

  5. 9 MikeZ
    March 17, 2011 at 11:25 am

    Congratulations!

    Many moons ago you and Doug started something that turned us into addicts. But I’m sure nobody has any regrets about that.

  6. March 17, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Happy Birthday, John!

    I can’t believe it’s been two years. But I can believe even less that it’s as much as ten years since Enterprise was in the works.

  7. 13 r0wl
    March 17, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Congrats!!!
    Wow, I really liked the first Phaser Version! (and the 3rd, but yes, ist´s more a Star Wars Blaster) I have to admit that I really didn´t like the final Design in the Show. It looked like too much like a plastic-toy (I mean, really, the Phaser from the 60s looks a LOT more realistic!)
    Love your Designs anyway…
    Happy new Year!!^^

  8. 15 the bluesman
    March 17, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    Girls and guns. You can never go wrong with that combo. I need to get some foam and carve up one of those phaser designs.

  9. March 17, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Happy birthday to the blog! Always enjoy your design sketches, and also admire your ability to seduce beautiful young women into following you into the desert, slipping into a Trek uniform, and posing radiantly with vintage aircraft. Have a happy St. Pat’s!

  10. March 17, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Happy Anniversary, John!

    I imagine that you’re pretty busy at the moment, what with light posting and I don’t see you on the Wonderfest guest list for this year. I hope you can make it again in the near future! Continued good wishes!

    Michael Griffith

    • 21 johneaves
      March 17, 2011 at 9:34 pm

      Hey I haven’t heard anything about this year,, I’ve been there the last three in a row and don’t have much new stuff to show,, I’ll have lots next year though, If I can I’ll definitely sneak out

  11. March 17, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    Happy anniversary to the blog, and here’s to many more!

    Very nice designs as always; it’s a shame one of these wasn’t used as the MACO pistol in season 3 instead of using a black painted EM-33, but either way your drawings are amazing on-screen or off–you’re an inspiration to me and my own art, so keep up the great work and stay awesome!😀

    -Jade

  12. March 18, 2011 at 1:44 am

    Has it really been two years? Man the time files when your having fun!
    Happy anniversary, John. no doubt you got a lot of fun stuff planned for this year.

    I have to say that you got a real tallent with these Pin-up Girls. Kay Jay is a real stunner and the guys in my office will get a kick out of seeing these pic’s. I hope we get to see more of her soon.

    I was never a fan of the Phaser on the show, it just seemed to bulky to me. Though I loved the fact it had power cartrages. I love the frist concept you have posterd thesre. It got a real world feel to it and could lead into Concept two and then on to TOS/TMP.

    • 26 johneaves
      March 18, 2011 at 7:39 am

      thanks and it is way hard to believe,,, Kay Jay did some very cool aviation stuff as well as a killer leopard theme dress, I’ll put those up soon,, I might make one day a week pin up day,,,like pin up Friday or something and feature all the shoots that way. I loved the cartridge idea too, Jim did a very nice job rendering his phaser inside and out

  13. 28 Richard Knapp
    March 18, 2011 at 4:48 am

    Hi John;
    Happy Anniversary! Has it really been two years? I just wanted to say what a pleasure its been visiting the blog: great art, beautiful pinups, and some great stories. Thank you!

    I hope all is well.

    Best regards,
    Richard

    • 29 johneaves
      March 18, 2011 at 7:40 am

      Always fun to hear from you Richard and as I was saying in the write up I love all the new friends I’ve met here, Thanks buddy!

  14. March 18, 2011 at 11:57 am

    Two years of sheer awesomeness already? Time sure does fly when you’re in the presence of greatness!

    Liked the phase 3 version of the phaser best and as for the Lieutenant….grrrrrrrrr!

  15. 32 Buckaroohawk
    March 18, 2011 at 11:58 am

    Happy 2nd Anniversary, John! I remember how blown away I was when I found your blog and Doug Drexler’s. Imagine being able to communicate directly with people whose work has inspired and sparked the imaginations of so many, myself included. Now, even though I’ve never met either of you personally, I consider you both friends and look forward to seeing your posts here. It’s always fun to see what you’ve been up to and interact with other visitors, some of whom have become friends as well. You and Doug did a wonderful thing when you started your blogs and I’m honored to be invited to these little online parties!

    I like all of the “Enterprise” weapon concepts, mostly for one simple reason: trigger guards! They are an important part of hand-held weapons, yet I can’t think of any Trek weapons that had them. The Bajoran Phaser had a guard but that one covered the entire hand, the trigger itself was still open. It would have been nice to see the weapons on “Enterprise” include the guards, if only just as a subtle reminder that the show was set closer to our own time than the other Trek series were.

    You’ve found another wonderful model with Ms. Kay Jay. That last photo of her with the phaser drawn is awesome! It’s not a pin-up picture, rather it looks like a still from an episode of Trek. I get the impression that she’s spinning around, surprised by a sound or a cry for help, and she’s ready to spring into action. It’s a great photo and the only thing that would make it more perfect is the addition of a phaser beam. In fact, I may have to give that a try. If I can get it to work I’ll send you a copy.

    Once again, happy anniversary (blogiversary?)! It’s been a real treat and I can’t wait to see what’s coming up in the future. Best to you, your family, and everyone here. Keep on Trekkin’!

    • 33 johneaves
      March 18, 2011 at 5:56 pm

      The first contact phaser rifle had a trigger guard, You just have to have one,, If phaser’s were real can you imagine the the work casualty/injury list from phasers going off accidentally.

      There are so many awesome shots of Miss Kay Jay, I’m gonna start a new thing and call it pin up Fridays and I’ll make her the first one.

  16. 34 JNG
    March 18, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    Two years! Many happy returns.

    Re: Kay Jay, I’m having one of those “she looks like somebody…who does she look like??” moments.

  17. March 18, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Happy 2nd John on your blog. I truly love it for a lot of reason 1 its the only blog i follow that has truly unique things that others don’t. I for one look forward to each update because you have fresh new info and designs that like me a true fan boy wants to see and to some degree your the only source for it ie Race to Witch Mountain etc… Your the greatest John may you have many more years ahead with this blog.

    All the best,
    Rob Catlin

  18. March 19, 2011 at 10:27 am

    Can’t wait for the Jim Martin blog post, I love his work and he seems like a really nice guy from what I’ve heard.

    Congrats on two years of blogging!🙂

  19. 41 Matt Boardman
    March 20, 2011 at 12:18 am

    Yay!! Happy 2nd Blog Anniversary, John! Thanks for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your life, memories, and family with us all! It’s been one heckuva good time!

    Yowzers Miss Kay Jay! Very, very nice!

    Cake and ice cream for everyone!

  20. 43 Scott D
    March 20, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Happy 2 years. Love the pictures. And those guns look like how they should be, classic yet futuristic.

    • 44 johneaves
      March 20, 2011 at 4:33 pm

      Thanks Scott!!!! I wish we could all sit around and draw guns all day for SCI FI Shows!! Wouldn’t it cool if on one of these sci fi shows you had a gun collector that travels far a wide in his collecting pursuits,,, What a fun wall of trophied pieces he or she could have!!!

  21. 45 R.J.Minnes
    March 22, 2011 at 2:19 am

    Happy Anniversary, John. And thank YOU for sharing all these delightful posts which so greatly helps to keep the flame alive also reminding us ho many stories there were, which otherwise would be comitted to the mists of oblivion…

  22. April 2, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Bit late, but wanted to say a big THANK YOU for running this blog. It led to me making my own blog for showcasing my work which gave me the self esteem to leave my job and sort out my education so I can get into the industry myself! So a huge thanks John, keep up the great work and keep the inpiration flowing😉


Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

