12
May
11

psycho, the 50th anniversarry, update


Well this is a story that started in August and is still in the works, but like fine wine the wait will be worth it. I went on a major trek to find all of the original filming locations so the “then and now” gallery is really looking beyond awesome. I also met the body double actress for Janet Leigh and will be interviewing her shortly so stay tuned and hopefully this will be done before the 51st anniversary comes along. HAAA! In the meantime here is a street view shot of the building used as the hotel in the opening sequence of the film. and one of the then and now shots as well.

Enjoy and have a good one.

the hotel

Central and Adams


10 Responses to “psycho, the 50th anniversarry, update”


  1. May 12, 2011 at 8:50 am

    This is so cool. Such a brillant movie.
    I even enjoyed some of the other movies but they never captured the magic this one had.
    I can’t even talk about the remake.😦

    • 2 johneaves
      May 12, 2011 at 8:52 am

      I refused to go to the new one!!! The original will never be matched and it is one of my all time favs!!! I did like #2 and especially the Jerry Goldsmith’s score that carried it to a new level

      • May 12, 2011 at 9:25 pm

        I saw part of the remake by accident one night on cable. 2 is an underrated movie much like 2010 is. I saw 2 at the movies when I was young and still enjoyed it. I don’t even mind 3 that much and that’s all because of Anthony Perkins who has no equal. There is a documentary out there called the Psycho legacy. I’ve heard some good things about it and some bad things. If it’s as good as the Friday the 13th documentary I’ll have to check it out.

      • 4 johneaves
        May 13, 2011 at 6:03 am

        I want to see the remake for one scene and I heard they used one of Hitchcock’s actual locations and I wanted to see if it was true or not, and your right 3 wasn’t that bad either.. Universal did a strange Psycho film that shows Norman Bates as a kid and the interaction between him and his mother. It starred Henry Thomas (ET) and it was just way to disturbing and a far reach at marketing… A bad movie on all grounds!!!!

  2. May 13, 2011 at 12:56 am

    Such a classic film. This was the first Hitchcock film I saw, afterwards I had to see them all.

    Yeah I never bothered with the remake. If there was ever a case for Hollywood runing out of ideas, the remake is a prime example. Ever shoot done the same as the orignal, nothing in it to make it stand on it own. Becasue of this it falls flat

    • 6 johneaves
      May 13, 2011 at 6:05 am

      I wouldn’t go no matter what, and the casting set that decision in concrete. Yeah I love Hitch and all of his films are amazing,, I especially love that he remade some of his own films such as Saboteur, and the Man who Knew to much.

  3. May 13, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Oh wow, that is so cool, I work downtown so I’ll have to go see these sites. I have an old school arcade down on roosevelt and am always into finding new historic tid bits about Downtown Phoenix!

  4. 8 deg
    May 15, 2011 at 1:35 pm

    Seeing the house on the lot, it amazes me how different (large) and imposing it looks on film. Movie magic, eh.

  5. June 10, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    This’ll be really interesting to see when you’re done. Looking at “then and now” photos is always so fascinating, whether they’re of the place you grew up, movie locations or places you’ve never been.

    I think I prefer that coffee shop on the right before it became a boring looking Starbucks!


Leave a Reply

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

