12
Jun
11

Raiders of the lost ark, the 30th anniversary


June the 12th, 1981, Raiders of the Lost Ark hits the big screen, and Indiana Jones becomes one of the biggest heroes of cinema, ever.  This movie was instantly an all time favorite, and I was there on opening day at the Mann Christown Theater in Phoenix to see it.  I was completely blown away on all levels. The action,  the horror, the romance, the way cool props, Steven Spielberg’s awesome direction & George Lucas’s incredible story penned by Lawernce Kasdan, and of coarse that incredible John Williams score.  I wish I could write more but we are leaving town so I’ll try and add more through out the next couple of days so in the mean time, dig out your copies of this one and have a Happy 30th screening.

original poster by Amsel

the idol

Indie, and marion

the incredible map room set

behind the scenes with the set up for the remote control glass eyes of the idol,, only a few frames of this made it to the final film


16 Responses to “Raiders of the lost ark, the 30th anniversary”


  1. 1 DeanneM
    June 12, 2011 at 9:03 am

    LOVE this one!!! Those amazing folks you already mentioned each added their particular talents to make a true instant classic.

    Harrison Ford as well, of course, WAS Indie…truly inspired performance. The artist of the famous one-sheet poster shown caught him incredibly well; the expression in his eyes is every ounce Indiana Jones. I want one of those!

    Have a nice trip, btw.🙂

  2. 2 Matt Boardman
    June 12, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Oh man, oh man! LOVE this movie! deg and I were just talking about this at work on Wednesday! My first exposure to Indiana Jones came right around the time Return of the Jedi hit theaters. My dad had taken me to see ROTJ and of course, I really liked it. Being a kid, I didn’t understand the time it would take a movie to get video back then and so one night, I asked my parents for the movie with the snakes in it. As fortune would have it, they brought back Raiders from the video store and it was an instant hit! I mean, the movie just grabs ya from the opening scene and takes you on a wild and exciting adventure!

    I think it’s interesting that Lucas originally didn’t want to cast Harrision Ford as Indy because he had already used him on previous films. Tom Selleck had landed the role but CBS wouldn’t let him because he was doing Magnum P.I. I just can’t imagine Tom Selleck as Indiana Jones!

    • 3 Jay
      June 12, 2011 at 9:15 pm

      Hey Matt, follow the link to see a brief snippet of Tom Selleck and Sean Young (!) testing as Indiana Jones and Marion Ravenwood – http://youtu.be/qSyHSgEbNng

    • 4 DeanneM
      June 12, 2011 at 10:45 pm

      Wow, hadn’t hard that about Tom Selleck….ummm, no. xD

      We need to catch up!

    • 5 DeanneM
      June 12, 2011 at 10:48 pm

      OK, maybe just no is a bit harsh for Selleck, he does a good job with action/comedy and does have charm, but it’s just so impossible to not see Ford when talking about Indiana Jones now.

    • June 13, 2011 at 9:23 am

      That’s interesting. I hadn’t heard that about Tom landing the role eitehr. I’m a big Tom Selleck fan but I’ve gotta agree with Deanne, I can’t see anybody but Harrison as Indie. I just don’t think it would have been as big a hit if it hadn’t been for Harrison. Of course, we can say that now but, if he had gotten the role, we might not be able to see anybody but Tom as Indie. 😉

  3. June 12, 2011 at 9:24 am

    As a child this was probably my single greatest movie going experience. Nothing has come close to it and I doubt enything ever will. Even after all these years the movie still gets me going.

  4. June 12, 2011 at 9:48 am

    Yes! One of the best movies of all time. Just thinking about it has that great John Williams music playing in my head. 😀

    Unfortunately, I’ve never seen this on the big screen, I was all of 2 years old when it was released, but I’ve made up for it by watching it on VHS and DVD a lot. I love all of the movies in the series (even Crystal Skull) but this is the best, IMO. George’s pen, Steven’s awesome vision, John Williams’ powerful music and Harrison Ford’s great acting make this just an awesome roller coaster ride. It’s exciting from start to finish. Plus, there are some great humorous moments in there to break up the tension a bit. Superb. I will definitely be whipping out my copies of all 4 movies and be watching them to celebrate the anniversary. 😀

    BTW, I’m glad that you let us know about these important anniversaries, John. I’m sure most of us share a love of movies and these are great announcements, so that we can celebrate that love. Thanks for the great anniversary announcements you’ve done so far and those still to come. 😀

    And, one final thing: “Why did it have to be snakes?” 😀😀

  5. June 12, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    The Esquire Theater ran ROTLA 24 hrs a day opening weekend and I wasn’t able to get in until the 2:30 AM showing as the lines were around the block and waaaaay down the street. I think it was the longest line I have ever been in for a film premiere. And man, was it worth the wait!!!🙂

    peace & bananas (and no snakes) | deg

  6. 11 Tallguy
    June 12, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    FINALLY a movie that we saw at the same theater on the same day!

    It’s funny, but Clash of the Titans (same day) while still awesome seems like a movie from a “long time ago”. Raiders still seems totally up to the moment.

  7. 12 Jay
    June 12, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    My stepdad-to-be took us to see this the summer of ’81 and I went along reluctantly as at the time my head was in the stars, still swimming from The Empire Strikes Back and waiting anxiously for Return of the Jedi to find out what happened to Han Solo and to see whether or not Darth Vader was being straight with Luke about the whole “I am your father” thing. So this movie set in the ’30s was of low priority to me, whether it had Han Solo in it or not. Needless to say, once I got my tiny butt in a theater seat, it blew my fragile little mind. What an amazing piece of film, perfect from start to finish, with MANY talented and creative people at the height of their powers and firing on all cylinders. One of my all-time favorites and I still watch it very regularly.

  8. June 12, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    This is one of my all time Fav films. It has everything, action,comdy, horror, and for the girls a bit of rommance.
    They got everything right with this one. Its as if they where hinting at what was to come. As this film can beheld up next to or above some of the greatest films that would be realsied in “the year of the film” 1982.

    I do wonder how this would have turned out if Tom Selleck did get to start?
    Would it have been as sucessfull?
    It hard to see anyone else than Ford play Indy now. But I think Selleck would have done a great job with the role.

  9. June 13, 2011 at 6:26 am

    The Indiana Jones movies brought a long-lost sense of fun to movies of the early eighties. These were flicks you coud turn up to knowing you’d have a cracking good time seeing.

    It’s a pity adventure movies are usually so dark and serious these days.

    C’mon Hollywood, let’s have some fun!

  10. 15 R.J.Minnes
    June 13, 2011 at 8:44 am

    This was certainly one of the most fun movies I ever saw; A no-holds-barred flic, not pretending to be be anymore than what it actually was, pure fun and joy…Great stuff…

  11. 16 BB43MAN
    June 14, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    I worked at a movie theatre at the time Raiders came out and I was dating the sister of one of the ushers that worked there. The first time I made out with a girl was with her during the movie! I’ll never forget it! I must have seen Raiders 20 times that summer, what from going on my nights off to seeing it when my shift was done. An awesome summer! Thanks for posting this, John! 😀


Leave a Reply

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

